We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morris Island Lighthouse

Morris Island Lighthouse
Morris Island, Charleston, SC
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 219 things to do in Charleston
Attraction details
Eastern NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I visited Morris Island Lighthouse on our recent visit to Charleston. It was a little further out (driving time) than I realized and then there was about a 1/4 mile walk to actually see the lighthouse. However, once you make the trek and top that sandy hill ~ there it is. It was my first visit to a lighthouse and I was not disappointed. We met a nice couple who took pictures of us and we returned the favor. The beach looked nice and there were people fishing but we were under time constraints and didn't have time to walk around. If you have no mobility issues and can handle a little walking I would recommend visiting here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the walk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

IF you are a beach lover like myself, this is a good attraction to see. The beach was deserted when my wife and I went, and we took some cool pictures while there. The walk was not bad at all, especially if you drag a chair and a few drinks out there and stay a little while.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“nice view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It was a tad bit of hike to get to this but well worth it. Too bad we couldnt get closer to the light house. Great place to relax with the sound of the waves. Just watch out for all the branches laying around.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Staying on Folly? Go.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Morris Island Lighthouse can be viewed after parking and walking about 1/4 of a mile. The walk is easy, and the view is nice. We grabbed Subway sandwiches and sat on some rocks while we ate. It's a pretty place for pictures, but I don't know that I'd go there if I wasn't staying on Folly. It's not really worth an extra drive since you're not close to the lighthouse once you've gotten to the beach. I've visited several lighthouses in Florida and Michigan that you can actually go in and enjoy, but it's still a nice side trip if you have the time.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't expect to see land”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It is a fabulous landmark just off Folly Beach with much history. The thing that surprised me is that there is no land around it. It's base is in desperate need of repair due to damage done by an earthquake.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morris Island Lighthouse also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Morris Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morris Island Lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.