We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique take on bar food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tattooed Moose

Tattooed Moose
1137 Morrison Drive, Charleston, SC
843-277-2990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique take on bar food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Outdoor seating with umbrellas. Unique atmosphere. Delicious menu: clearly bar food, but very well thought out and excellently prepared. Really good flavors. Craft Beer Tuesdays gets you a dollar off local brews.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    147
    23
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Young & Hip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Fun restaurant - order the duck sandwich and the turkey sandwich. Delish!!!! Great beers! Live music on certain days.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The place to go for Duck Confeit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Recently stumbled by tattooed moose with some friends and have been hooked since! Atmosphere isn't the greatest but the food makes up for it. Duck Confeit club sandwich is a high recommendation, plus they had Holy City on tap. Love restaurants that supports local breweries!
Check it out if you can find it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beyond delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Oh my! Where to begin?!? We happen to catch the episode of Diners, Drive Ins, and Dives that featured this place as we were packing for our trip- I casually mentioned to my husband that we should go while in Charleston. After visiting Fort Sumter, we decided to give the Tattooed Moose a try and we're so glad we did! It's a bit beyond the bustling "downtown area" and parking can be tricky- but do not let these 2 factors sway you from eating here! We were lucky to get a parking spot on the road right out front and walked right in- no lines, no waiting- we went after the lunch crowd- around 2:00 p.m. It's a small, old, funky joint- lots of animal heads on the walls, writing on the tables and walls- but we felt that added to the charming quirkiness of the place. I had the "leftovers sandwich"- all the fixings of a Thanksgiving dinner piled high on a sandwich, my husband had the burger- both sandwiches were outstanding! We shared a basket of duck fat fries- oh my goodness- they are amazing!!! Seriously, some of the most tasty things I have ever eaten. We both had sweet tea to drink- also very good. Gwen was our server and ah could not have been any more friendly and attentive- she is fantastic! We had been in vacation for 12 days when we stopped in to this place- we had eaten at all sorts of restaurants in GA and SC by this point and my husband declared his meal at the Tattooed Moose the BESt meal of our entire vacation! A must try when in Charleston for sure!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic Food & Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a great restaurant that is a little off of the beaten path in Charleston, SC. My husband had the duck club - which we were a little hesitant to pay almost $14 for a sandwich but it is completely worth it!! And I had the Cuban - which was fantastic also. The garlic and bleu cheese fries are a must try for an appetizer. I would definitely recommend The Tattooed Moose to anyone looking for a casual atmosphere and great food!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tattooed Moose also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Tattooed Moose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tattooed Moose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.