We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal with a few rough spots” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miyabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar

Miyabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar
688 Citidel Haven Drive, Charleston, SC
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #273 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
West Columbia, SC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good meal with a few rough spots”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Came in late last Friday night after picking up our daughter in Folly Beach. We were staying next door at the Hampton Inn & Suites, nice one minute walk from the hotel. Seated within 10 minutes and the waiter came by less than two minutes later to take our drink order. After delivering our drinks, we made our selections and the chef arrived about ten minutes later.

With the exception of the chef just about burning the shrimp and rice, everything else was cooked perfect. I don't really care about the "show", but this guy may have had a little too much saki that evening. He missed every trick he tried and even threw the shrimp tails and bowl to the next tables chef. The chef did cook our filet rare as asked and the scallops were done very nice. My daughters teriyaki chicken was good, but a little over done. He almost burned the rice, but there was so much, only a small portion was ". We had a good time, enjoyed our food and everyone at Miyabi had a smile and took good care of us all evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    14
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hibachi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great show with big portions. Food was above average and the décor is also nice. Its a little off the main highway but its worth the drive. Staff was very friendly and the drinks were pretty good also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hi-flying food!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

It was pretty entertaining with better than average food. Things were flying all over the place!!! Average prices and nice-sized portions, especially the rice. Talented and skilled chefs. We will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great place with friends or alone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I travel to Charleston frequently and prefer to stay at the Hampton next door. Miyabi is always one of my favorite places to dine in the evening and the only complaint I have experienced is that I can never finish all of the food they provide and have to bring it back to my room! The staff is very friendly, restaurant is always clean to include restrooms and if you're having a special celebration such as a birthday it can be a lot of fun!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Abundant Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Food was delicious and abundant. If you leave here hungry, it's your own fault. Enjoyed our meal very much.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Miyabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyabi Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.