We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Awesome value. Has a shuttle stop across the street, in an area being gentrified. The bar/restaurant has an excellent happy hour, and the staff is very knowledgeable and courteous. Not exactly downtown, but close to some restaurants on king st.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay, and many thanks for taking the time to post a review.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    84
    30
    7
    9
See reviews for
67
135
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I picked this hotel because of Trip Advisor stamp of excellence. The hotel is clean and looks nice. The staff is friendly but helpless. We went to have breakfast to their restaurant two mornings in a row and every time had to fight flies that were all over our food and the buffet. When complained to the front desk, all they said was sorry about that. Also, they advertised that breakfast was included in the price ( which was already too expensive for a holiday inn) but then it turned out that only $20 for two is covered so we had to pay the difference for having the buffet. And food overall isn't good at the restaurant.
In addition, the hotel is close to Kings St. but in bad neighborhood so if you are used to nice hotels don't stay here!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered in the restaurant.
I would like to assure you that the matter has been addressed.
I sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future trip to Charleston.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. It is a short drive to the heart of downtown, but that made it easier to get out and explore the rest of the Charleston area.
First impressions: Property is modern and fairly new, it looks great. The valet / bell team are superb - it is nearly impossible to open your own door or touch your own luggage! Without being pushy or obtrusive, they are very helpful and professional.
The front desk clerks are great as well. They double as the concierge: they got us into one of the city's finest restaurants on a Saturday night with very little notice. We also several recommendations from them for other restaurants we tried.
Because the property is so new, there is lots of light and a nice modern decor throughout.
The hotel bar and restaurant is a nice surprise (for a Holiday Inn). It is a tapas (small plate) focus, with very creative and tasty options. Although, service was a bit slow late one night, overall we would dine there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Many thanks for your kind words.
I personally feel we have a wonderful team who sincerely care from the moment you arrive until departure.
I have shared your comments with the valet dept, front desk and restaurant.
Again, my thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel was nice, a little further from downtown than I would have liked. Too far to walk, but just couple minutes by car. We had two suites and they were clean and comfortable. The only issue we encounted was the Valet service they provided. The cost was not the issue, (16 dollars per day) the issue was the actual people doing the valet service. It was a 5 out of 10 during the day. (the valet people also acted as bell hops so you had to wait for valet while the loaded and unloaded cars and took people inside) But at night the whole valet concept when south. They were either untrained or just incompetent. The parking spaces were always full and had to use parking meter just to leave car for valet. The one handicap space was always filled with a car waiting for valet. The management listened to my complaint and agreed it was unacceptable, but they were unable to resolve. Really felt like the owners son was the valet and everyone was scared to tell them to do their job. Or maybe that was the expectation. The stay was nice, the bar was good, they have a restaurant onsite that was handy.

Room Tip: Get a balcony or suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear FREQUENTFLYER12345,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. Moreover, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice, updated clean place. Swimming area, outside and small but nice. Rooms clean, updated decor. safe, fridge and I think a microwave all in the room. Liked the 2nd floor as it was close to the pool. Bartender gave better information on where to go in the historic district than the front desk.

Room Tip: Liked the 2nd floor as it was close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm surprised the front desk was not more helpful. They are often mentioned extremely positively on their recommendations.
I certainly appreciate your input.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT. Very friendly and courteous staff; great room with comfortable bed; hotel is about one year old and shows no signs of wear. The area around the hotel looks a bit dicey and cabs may be the best option to get further South on Meeting Street.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to acknowledge the staff. They all appreciate it.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived we discovered that we had to pay for valet parking every day. No one told us that. We check in and go to room the door wouldn't open and had to get another key. Open the door and there is someone in that room! Go back down to find another room only to discover it only had a shower. So we had to go to another room with a bathtub. We had to use the bellman every time so that meant we were tipping them every time. The room did not include breakfast like they usually do. None of these things were told to us when we made the reservation. We have stayed in many Holiday Inn Express and not one of them was like this. We shortened our stay there because of all these things.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Karen D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the policies of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.