We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the edge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hurley, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“On the edge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Hotel was brand new, but the surrounding area in one direction left alot to be desired. There is a small grocery store next to the hotel that sold mostly alcohol had a few drunks standing around. It is close to King street which is great with very new shops. they first put me and my husband in a room that someone was already in, they had no record of anyone being there.Maybe they still have to work out some kinks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay.
While hard to investigate the issue you raised in your review I think it happened while our reservation system was down and the wires got crossed at the front desk.
Without any excuses I sincerely apologise.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we all hope to see you back at the Holiday Inn Downtown Historic District.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    166
    65
    29
    5
    8
See reviews for
62
116
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Cannot stress how wonderful this hotel is!! We had to elongate our stay due to medical reasons and the staff was excellent and extremely accommodating. The front desk continuously went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible so thank you so much for that. Location is great as well! Lengthy but nice walk to the heart of downtown

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay.
I hope everyone is feeling better and we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more relaxing visit on your next trip to Charleston.
Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have been visiting the Charleston Area at least once a year for about 30 years. This is the best hotel we have stayed at in the downtown area. I realize it just opened this year, but the service is impeccable. The staff "aims to please" in every area. You really feel that they are glad you chose this hotel and they definitely want you to make this your hotel of choice. We usually get four rooms - for our whole family and, the consensus is, that everyone wants to return to this hotel. It is on the outskirts of the historic district (the area is up and coming) but easily within pleasant walking distance of all the venues. The hotel itself is very clean and modern and has a wondereful, relaxing pool area. The restaurant and lounge is great with wonderful staff, as well.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Being a Charleston regular it is a huge accolade to nominate us as your hotel of choice, given the great selection of hotels that are available in Charleston.
While we are new, my team and I are dedicated to provide the highest level of guest service and I am delighted we delivered.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a great hotel about .5 half from the market and you are surrounded by tons of bars and restaurants on King St.

The hotel itself is beautiful and pretty close to brand new. We had a double bed room with a great patio (huge patio in fact) right beside the pool. It was an awesome weekend and we will definitely be back to this hotel.

In summary, the room itself was spacious, beds were soft, staff was great, and again the patio was great with nice solid iron patio furniture (not cheap plastic stuff).

Brendan at the front desk was a great help and provided us with lots of good recommendations and directions to local place. The valet staff was also very well trained and were super nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio by the pool! The patios are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your great review following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown.
Our patio rooms certainly offer a lot of space to enjoy the outdoors, and I'm pleased you took advantage.
Apart from offering excellent accommodations, it is our goal to ensure every guest receives the highest standard of guest service. In your case it would appear Brendan and the valet staff delivered.
Many thanks for sharing your thoughts and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Charleston.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Very nice new holiday inn

A couple blocks from the main part of town. I wouldn't walk in this area after dark but it was fine during the day.

Friendly and efficient check in. Clean room with comfortable beds. Good a/c.

Great tv, and workout room.

A very nice stay

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Many thanks for leaving a review following your recent visit.
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and would just add that as many others have pointed out the area is completely safe in the evening.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Charleston.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just stayed three nights at the Holiday Inn. Fantastic hotel, from the lobby - greeted by a very friendly staff to the room including soft & firm pillows and a clean fresh room this is a perfect hotel.
It's non-smoking and new. Pool is perfect after a hot day shopping and walking around Charleston. We didn't even get a car!
There is a FREE trolley shuttle that picks you up across the street to take you to the historic district with over 15 stops along the way or if you prefer the aquarium area you just choose another Free trolley! This city has done it right.
We walked to shopping - yes it's about 8 blocks but the area is wonderful to walk around. We never felt unsafe. The building across the street is being torn down however every other building around is new and this is going to be in the center of the new "hot" area. Two gourmet restaurants the Grocery and The Ordinary are a block away. Yoga studios, Glaze gourmet donut shop and Basil's Thai all within 4 blocks walking. How can you go wrong.
If you prefer old and historic then you should stay downtown - we worried about the rooms, air conditioning and smell of those old hotels not to mention smell. I think this hotel is perfectly located for the price! Big room, comfortable beds, large bathroom, new, quiet, good air conditioning (key in Charleston!).
The staff is extremely helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. As women we felt safe walking even at 11pm at night after a wonderful dinner at Husk!

Room Tip: We had a room on the pool level and did not hear noise from road or other rooms. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a comprehensive review following your recent stay.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I agree, we are located in a great area of town.
Over the next couple of years the complete landscape is going to change and I am pleased we got in at the beginning.
Upper King Street boasts some of the areas hottest bars and restaurants and has become entertainment central in Charleston.
I am pleased you and the ladies had a great visit and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to town.
Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cubs_Fan_In_Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Can't beat a new hotel that already has the kinks worked out. Our safe didn't work when we checked in. The hotel staff had us in a new room in less than five minutes. Nice, comfortable rooms. The building across the street (the eyesore in other reviews) was being torn down and we didn't hear a thing. One block from upper King Street. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay.
I'm sorry you had an issue with the safe in your room but pleased we resolved the problem in a timely matter.
I am also grateful you pointed out that there is no noise from the restoration work being done on the building next door. We can't wait till its completed and welcome a new neighbor.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Charleston.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.