We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“PLEASANT STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

As long as you don't mind being just on the outskirts of Historic Charleston, this is a great spot to stay. The Market and central downtown is less than 2 miles away and the free trolley stops across the street. The property is new, valet parking is easy to navigate (car arrives very quickly), employees are very pleasant. Public spaces and rooms are bright and clean.

What which would have been appreciated?:

a) information about trolley which I only learned about because I happened to pick up a map; it's what really made the loacation "do-able"
b) knowing about the 2nd floor lounge would have been nice for the first morning when I woke early and wanted to let my kids sleep. I would have been much more comfortable in that nice, warm space than in the lobby.
c) being informed that pool was out of service. All week?! A real disappointment since this was one of the reasons I chose this property.
d) free coffee service. $2.73 for a take out cup from the restaurant seemed steep....and slow.

Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit.
I apologise you were not made aware of the Library upon check in. I would also like to apologise that the pool was closed during your visit.
As you are aware we are a new hotel and discovered that the pool was leaking into our parking garage. To remedy the problem we had to treat the water with a particular chemical which forced us to close the pool.
On a happier note. I am delighted to say the pool is now fully opperational.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future visit to the area at which time I hope we can redeem our reputation.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    91
    31
    7
    9
See reviews for
70
142
7
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hotel is new and rooms were clean and very nice. Restaurant was very understaffed. Majority of staff and busboy were extremely nice. On our first day there, one waiter was serving everyone. Busboy was running around trying to also help out. Waiter did immediately warn us of the time factor at the beginning, so it did help some. Very simple breakfast orders took over an hour to come out of kitchen. Over easy eggs always came out extremely well done. Would have mentioned it but who has another hour to waste? Some days we were charged for coffee and others we were not. Guest check from restaurant usually came out wrong ( in hotel's favor) and had to be redone.
Do not have hotel arrange your transportation back. Call for your own transportation and verify price on phone and also when getting into taxi/shuttle. We were given one price at time of call ($12- each =$24- for two) and charged $35- at drop off. Driver claimed he told front desk attendant it would be $35-.Odd because we only paid $24- on the way in. Ride to airport from hotel took less than 10 minutes. Driver also arrived at 3 p.m. instead of 3:30 as he obviously had another transport waiting at airport for pickup. Another party we were traveling with took the bus and although, it was longer, the driver and passengers on bus were extremely informative and friendly and it only costs $1.85 each. If you have an extra 50 minutes to spare, that may be the way to go.
Cannot understand why the other two Holiday Inns and other hotels downtown provide a shuttle to and from airport but not this one.
Location of hotel was not great. Free trolley through downtown is very helpful and a great idea, but doesn't run according to schedule, was often full and passed by stops beeping to let us know it wasn't picking up.. Wait between trolleys is also long especially after 5 p.m.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the service you experienced in the restaurant. Your comments regarding the shuttle are concerning as clearly the shuttle company overcharged you on your return trip.
I will ensure we no longer use that company as there are many options in Charleston.
On closing, thank you for bringing these matters to my attention and we will ensure we strive to offer better service in our restaurant.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a brand new facility with a very friendly and helpful staff and a good location. We asked a policeman about walking around in the area and he recommended walking downtown via King Street (one block over) at night, staying away from Meeting Street. There is valet parking only and while some Holiday Inns provide free parking for Priority Club members, this one does not. We had breakfast in the restaurant, which was very good and reasonably priced, but I wouldn't recommend it if you're in a hurry. Again, the server was very friendly and apologetic that it took a while to get our food. Fortunately we were not in a hurry. There is a step down that is hard to see when you exit the door from the lobby. Hopefully that will be painted soon so it's easier to see. Rooms were very clean, beds comfortable. We would definitely stay here again. It's a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, but disapointed to read your comments regarding breakfast. I have discussed the matter with the hotel's Food and Beverage Manager and he will continue to focus on the service levels offered in the restaurant.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on any future visit to Charleston.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

At first look the location might make you clutch your purse or turn away from the person peeing in the street. BUT if you just walk around the block you are on King Street which seems to be the main street. The hotel is right on the edge of town and residential areas with a lot of construction and some buildings that need some help. I assume once the construction is done the area will look great. We walked every morning and night all through the town and we felt totally safe- even coming back to the hotel. The room was great and the staff very friendly. I would totally stay here again. Keep in mind it is at the edge and although you can walk all the way to the Battery area it is a hike. There are free trolleys which we didnt use but they go all over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay.
I am delighted you enjoyed your visit. As you mentioned we are in the heart of the redevelopement of this downtown area and we are all enjoying the transformation.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overall very happy with our stay. Teresa in housekeeping went out of her way to help with a coffee stain incurred on our trip to the hotel. Talked to her in the hallway and 1hr later my jeans were returned folded (without coffee stain) on my bed. She was more than helpful and was the epitome of customer service.

Rooms were brand new and clean and were within reasonable walking distance from Market St and Battery. Valet staff very friendly and fast, although would have liked a more competent "check-in" front desk attendant (don't recall her name but seemed annoyed with inquiries- not sure if she was new).

Make sure to see Dan at hotel bar, super nice and had great recommendations of places to visit - plus he mixed some great cocktails.

Be prepared for heavy construction around the site, but a non-issue for those wanting to see the local touristy spots (Market and King st)

We will be back for service like Dan and Teresa - great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the hotel following your recent visit. I am delighted Dan and Theresa provided you with great guest service. I will ensure they are acknowledged for their good work.
I am however, dissapointed we failed to deliver at the front desk.
If you would be kind enough to drop me an email with the approximate time and date you checked in I will be able to address the matter with the appropriate team member.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on any future visit to Charleston.
Thanks
david@hihistoric.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful visit to my favorite city Charleston,and have stayed at many of the best hotels in the downtown area but wow...we had the best service I think I have ever had at this Holiday Inn..From the minute we arrived we were treated so nice and the hotel is new to this area of Charleston and beautifully decorated and clean..the valet young men were so nice and friendly and very helpful..our room was great very boutique style hotel would recommend this to anyone traveling to this area ...It was alittle further down Meeting Street than we have ever stayed but they are building all around this area and the street behind the hotel is Kings Street which is some of the best shopping and dining in the city ...we will be back hopefully very soon...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving such a pleasant review following your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel, service provided and our location.
We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the location, being so close to everything. The Hotel was well maitained and all the staff were very friendly and our rooms were always clean when we got back from the day out. My wife and I really loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Ed D,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at the hotel.
I am delighted both you and your wife enjoyed your visit.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.