We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overall very happy with our stay. Teresa in housekeeping went out of her way to help with a coffee stain incurred on our trip to the hotel. Talked to her in the hallway and 1hr later my jeans were returned folded (without coffee stain) on my bed. She was more than helpful and was the epitome of customer service.

Rooms were brand new and clean and were within reasonable walking distance from Market St and Battery. Valet staff very friendly and fast, although would have liked a more competent "check-in" front desk attendant (don't recall her name but seemed annoyed with inquiries- not sure if she was new).

Make sure to see Dan at hotel bar, super nice and had great recommendations of places to visit - plus he mixed some great cocktails.

Be prepared for heavy construction around the site, but a non-issue for those wanting to see the local touristy spots (Market and King st)

We will be back for service like Dan and Teresa - great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the hotel following your recent visit. I am delighted Dan and Theresa provided you with great guest service. I will ensure they are acknowledged for their good work.
I am however, dissapointed we failed to deliver at the front desk.
If you would be kind enough to drop me an email with the approximate time and date you checked in I will be able to address the matter with the appropriate team member.
I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on any future visit to Charleston.
Thanks
david@hihistoric.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    110
    33
    10
    10
See reviews for
86
159
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful visit to my favorite city Charleston,and have stayed at many of the best hotels in the downtown area but wow...we had the best service I think I have ever had at this Holiday Inn..From the minute we arrived we were treated so nice and the hotel is new to this area of Charleston and beautifully decorated and clean..the valet young men were so nice and friendly and very helpful..our room was great very boutique style hotel would recommend this to anyone traveling to this area ...It was alittle further down Meeting Street than we have ever stayed but they are building all around this area and the street behind the hotel is Kings Street which is some of the best shopping and dining in the city ...we will be back hopefully very soon...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving such a pleasant review following your recent stay. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel, service provided and our location.
We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the location, being so close to everything. The Hotel was well maitained and all the staff were very friendly and our rooms were always clean when we got back from the day out. My wife and I really loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Ed D,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your stay at the hotel.
I am delighted both you and your wife enjoyed your visit.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great location, great staff and the hotel is very well maintained. We just loved the convenience of the location, right in the middle of Charleston, next to the park. It was a great stay and I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay.
I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and our location.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel on your next visit to Charleston.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I were in Charlston a few weeks ago and stayed at the Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown. We had a wonderful stay. The staff was wonderful and exceeded all of our needs. All staff acknowledged us in all public areas. Our room was beyond clean! We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Nancy and Mark,
Thank you for leaving such a complimentary review following you stay.
We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay and I am happy you received great guest service.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELKIN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We booked a room last minute so we could meet up with family for the weekend and what a pleasant surprise this hotel turned out to be. Although it is located several blocks from the market the walk was easy and pleasant. The hotel staff was VERY FRIENDLY AND ACCOMODATING!!
Yes you have to pay for parking but it is very reasonable given where you are and it's valet!!!
The hotel is rather new - decor is beautiful and it's one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in. Would LOVE to go back and hope to make it a longer visit next time!!

Room Tip: might want to ask for a room facing the area toward the market - the historic skyline view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Kim P,
Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay.
I am glad to read you enjoyed your visit.
While we are located a few blocks North of the market area I am glad you enjoyed the walk. I am also pleased to say that there is a complimentary shuttle available directly across the street from the hotel.
I will share your kind words about the cleanliness of the hotel and the service you received with my staff.
My thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel right off Meeting st. Few minutes drive to many attraction and food locations. The room was very clean. The staff was great. The front desk was easy, even with late check in. Valet had the car quick every time. I would stay here next time I'm in Charleston.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jeff B,
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit and I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown

Address: 425 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its rich history, well-preserved architecture, a celebrated restaurant community and mannerly people; Charleston has been named Top U.S. City by Conde Nast Traveler Readers Choice Awards for the third year. This coastal destination remains one of the top destination cities in the world. Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown is proud to be a part of Historic Charleston blending contemporary luxury with traditional southern hospitality. Situated on Meeting and Woolfe Street; we are just one block from the Charleston Visitor's Center, minutes from attractions, boutique shops and restaurants located throughout downtown Charleston. Our location is within close proximity to other Charleston's historic sites, attractions, museums, sport venues, beaches and more; providing easy access to I-26 and US Highway 17. The Meeting Room Restaurant & Tapas Bar offers farm-to-table dining with a twist on tradition with American inspired entrees prepared with local ingredients offering something to suit every palette. Unwind in an atmosphere of relaxed elegance that allows friends and family to meet and enjoy great food, signature cocktails, wine and beer. After a long day workout in our fitness center, take a dip in our heated outdoor pool or bask in the warm Charleston sun. Stay cool and relax around our outdoor covered patio with overhead fans and living room style seating. Visit our business center and stay connected to electronic devices with free WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Charleston Historic Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.