We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best kept secret in Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church Street Inn, by Festiva Resorts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Church Street Inn, by Festiva Resorts to your Saves list
Church Street Inn, by Festiva Resorts
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   177 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best kept secret in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed during Easter week. It is right in the middle of things. We did not need to move our car. With a full kitchen, we were able to eat 2 meals in everyday and bring our leftovers back to the room. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The housekeepers even gave me hugs when I left wishing me a blessed Easter.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    57
    17
    12
    9
See reviews for
51
96
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro nc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Absolutely wonderful experience. The staff and management were top notch. The location was to die for (next to market, near Battery, restaurants and museums; didn't need car my entire stay) and the room clean and comfortable. There was a full kitchen, but wasn't necessary for us to use as we walked less than 2 blocks to any restaurant we wanted to eat at. Thank you so much to the Friday 4-11-14 afternoon management (Gamecock baseball fan) and young lady (soon to be C of C grad) at the check-in desk for making my 40th birthday the best ever!!! I have stayed many times in Charleston and The Church Street Inn was by far the best experience. Location, location, location!! Staff is GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!!!!

Room Tip: Some rooms face the market with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a great place to stay right in the heart of Charleston with the added convenience of a kitchen, two bathrooms and sleeping for 4. The staff was really friendly and we enjoyed the concierge service.

Room Tip: We liked the Lee Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Very pleased with this property. Location is the stand-out bonus. Walk out the door, and the market is 50 feet away. Some of our favorites, Dixie's Bakery Supply (best breakfast) and SNOB (Slightly North of Broad - excellent Shrimp and Grits) just a short walk. The beautiful homes of Charleston and the amazing architecture abound. The property itself is not a hotel so some of the daily amenities are omitted but compensated by the full kitchen and layout. Master bedroom upstairs with full bath, second bedroom with half bath and sofa pull out downstairs. Happy to have paid one-half to one-third of the price for the best location in Charleston. Would definitely book this stay again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the courtyard. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We were really impressed at the beauty and quality of this place. But, were disappointed that the check-in day for a week stay is Sunday.... Puts a cramp in our vacation planning. We ended up reserving for three days and four days separately then having to check out to check in again to a different room. Just a pain in the butt.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We stayed in the Church Street Inn in March 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were happy to learn that except for the first evening when we were new in town, we could walk to everything we wanted to see, all the restaurants we wanted to visit and a nice grocery store. We loved Charleston and felt that the CSI put us right in the center of it all. The room was lovely and had all of the amenities we thought were necessary. The one little complaint I had was that one couldn't turn on the upstairs bathroom light without the fan coming on and this was disruptive in the middle of the night. Other than that everything was perfect. Hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, NC, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived to a clean room and friendly faces. Housekeeping was very nice and kept us stocked. All of the workers always greeted us and asked if we need help. Its in a great location and within walking distance to shopping and eats. I recommend for your stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Church Street Inn, by Festiva Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Inn, by Festiva Resorts

Address: 177 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Inn, by Festiva Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of Church and Market Streets where Charleston's famed market area hums with activity, Church Street Inn and its plush one- and two-bedroom townhomes are elegantly designed in a style reminiscent of a time gone by. Charleston holds a magical place in history and the city's diverse character stems from three centuries of American-European-Caribbean traditions.Church Street Inn is within easy walking distance of magnificent homes, art museums, exquisite restaurants and chic boutiques. Ghost tours and historic walking tours are a "must do" while in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Church Street Inn, by Festiva Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Inn, By Festiva Hotel Charleston
Church Street Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Street Inn, by Festiva Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.