We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sabich sandwich!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher and Bee

Butcher and Bee
654 King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
+1 843-619-0202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 709 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Sabich sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I had the Sabich Sandwich, but because I'm vegan I ask for no egg. I can tell you this is one of the best Sabich sandwiches I ever had! And coming from an Israeli that means a lot. You can expect a super fresh pita (real Israeli style!), tahini, fried eggplant, spicy Harissa, chopped salad, and pickles. Amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    38
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lunch with Shelly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Fantastic French toast loaded with flavor.
Cold watermelon soup with mint,refreshing.
Grilled cheese like I have never had before.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This restaurant is more than just sandwiches. They served delicious vegetable side dishes and each ordinary ingredient somehow appears on your plate as an awesome configuration of something you had never imagined.

The portions are large and could easily be shared by two...don't miss this jewel of a place on your next visit to Charleston.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“The coolest little lunch place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This Hungry Detective and family stopped by for lunch on a Monday afternoon. What a cool place...The menu changes daily and its posted on a chalk board where you place your order before finding a table/seat. Speaking of seats...there is wide variety of seats(tractor seats, pieces of wood and utility stands) totally hip and outside the box.

The H20 is cold and fresh as you can pour your own refills at the counter. Now to the food: I ordered the Pastrami with an order fries and hollandaise sauce for dipping. My wife ordered the Lamb Pita and my daughter had hummus and kale with some sides of cantaloupe drizzled with honey and mint. The Pastrami was incredible and melted in my mouth...The roll was exceptional!!! Everything is prepared fresh....No frozen or prepped foods here its all cut as ordered.

VERDICT: A must stop when in Charleston...Hit the Butcher and Bee before you go downtown you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had the best sandwich I ever had at the Butcher and Bee. When I talk about my trip to Charleston I mention the charm of the city and the great sandwich I had at Butcher and Bee. The food is pricey,and the location is off the beaten path but well well worth the trip. I love the industrial deco, the communal seating and of course the sandwich (Carolina Trout).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher and Bee also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Butcher and Bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher and Bee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.