We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher and Bee

Butcher and Bee
652B King Street, Charleston, SC 29403
843-619-0202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stopped here right after getting into town on last visit. Have been meaning to get here for quite some time, as their menu always sounds fascinating. Decided to go with the Pulled Squash sandwich, and was not disappointed. So unique and one of the best overall sandwiches I've ever had. Follow them on Facebook or Twitter for daily menu updates. Go with friends, try a few sandwiches, soups and sides, and leave extremely satisfied. They also do a late night menu on Fridays and Saturdays, and who wouldn't love plowing through one of their offerings after a night out on the town? That's right. No one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    31
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great unconventional brunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Don't let the location and appearance fool you. This is an innovative place. We loved the Chinese Pork Belly sandwich. The pork was juicy and tender. The deviled eggs, hummus and beet salad are all delicious. We like the community tables and airiness.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great sandwiches and sides. Especially loved the Kale Slaw with Benne Sides. Fried egg on sandwich was great idea too. Excellent fries.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sandwiches Made With Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family of three tried Butcher and Bee shortly after they opened for lunch at 11 am. It's a good thing we got there early, otherwise we may have chosen to go elsewhere based on the crowd. We quickly found out why it's a hot spot on the Charleston food scene. Mostly communal tables with a hodgepodge of metal stools and chairs occupy the industrial dining space. The menu is simple and posted on a chalkboard by an old-fashioned cash register. Order and pay first. There are several unique sandwich options and a few sides. We had the pulled squash sandwich with smoked slaw, Cuban, and butternut squash bisque. Our sandwiches weren't just slapped together. They were crafted from fresh ingredients by people who seem to really care about quality. There was something so unusual and refreshing about the experience as each dish was carried out to the tables by the same person who made it. While $9-$12 per sandwich is more than we would usually pay, I felt like we got our money's worth for a fresh and delicious lunch made with love.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lunch at Butcher and Bee was a different experience. It was very busy and we had to wait to get a table. Menu varies from day to day. I had a turkey club sandwich which had lots of turkey. Others in my group had pork belly sandwich and a Cuban sandwich. Everyone liked their food. Service was a little slow probably due to how busy they were.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher and Bee also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Butcher and Bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher and Bee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.