We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar, good bar food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boone's Bar

Boone's Bar
345 King Street, Charleston, SC 29401
8435776665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 735 restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good bar, good bar food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is a typical bar. Good food, decent prices. I had the pulled pork, which was very good, and my boyfriend had the chicken cesar salad, which was just decent. A good beer menu and quick service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    17
    14
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Adam the manager :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

My experince at this bar was horrible. The manager/ bartender that served me [adam] pored me a shot and took the rest for him and a employe to take later! I will be calling to get my money back and I didnt return to the bar because I don't trust someone who takes advangte of me in front of my face! I am a army soldier and i don't understand how a owner and a GM can allow this happen! I also talked to a bounser who confirmed that this isn't the first time this has happend! I am very unhappy and would not recommend this bar to anyone and hope they fix a huge problem!!!! [adam]

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Upstairs patio apparently becomes alive at night with live music (hasn't yet because its only happy hour). In saying that, $2.75 for house liquor is pretty sweet right now. Bartender happy to help out a questioning tourist wanting a good time. Had a simple snack off the menu and came within 5 and eaten even sooner. Look forward to coming back later.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Boone's is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I visit Boone's quite often and have found the service to always be friendly, outgoing and willing to work hard for the customer. The food is contemporary upscale pub food, but the quality is outstanding. Last meal I had the lemon pepper chicken salad. The greens were local/organic, chicken was on point and the house made dressing was good. They feature rotating craft beers that seem to always surprise and impress me, cool local murals on the walls and live music most nights. It gets busy/hectic sometimes with the students of cofc, the downstairs bar is a good way to avoid the masses upstairs. Side note, they have one of the best selections of bourbon/whiskey I've seen downtown, which is a treat if your in to that sort of thing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“I'd go again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Bartenders were friendly, and the food was good. They make a great Caiprinha (Brazilian cocktail), but other mixed drinks weren't as good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone's Bar also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boone's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boone's Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.