We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Splendor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Meeting Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Meeting Street Inn
Save
You added Two Meeting Street Inn to your Saves list
2 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Ellington, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Southern Splendor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

After reviewing the many lodging options in Charleston, we selected Two Meeting Street Inn based on Trip Advisor feedback as well as several other factors such as location and ease of access to points of interest within the city. We were not disappointed with our choice and found much to enjoy about this venerable B&B. Dating back to the 1890s, the property is immaculately maintained inside and out. The grounds are highlighted by several majestic live oak trees, and the house has an enormous porch on the lower level for all to enjoy, while our room (#3) had direct access to a smaller shared (but still spacious) porch on the upper level. Once greeted at the front door upon check-in, we stepped into what impressed us as another version of the historic Mark Twain House in Hartford, Connecticut: Beautiful woodworking and paneling, period furniture, several Tiffany windows, and all the accoutrements one would expect to see in a home of Victorian era opulence. Modern conveniences such as wifi access, in-room safes, flat screen TVs, and a large refrigerator on the second floor (for guests' beverages and/or leftovers) enhance the comfort of the rooms. Breakfast each morning consists of a hot entree such as creme brulee French toast, quiche, or (our favorite) sausage casserole, served with an array of fresh fruit. The portion was not overwhelming, which works to better advantage because one doesn't feel weighed down by a huge meal and leaves a little room for lunch while out and about the town. Those who choose to revel in the afternoon tea are also in for a treat, with selections such as shrimp spread or olive cheese accompanied by an assortment of crackers, to say nothing of sweet offerings like "hay stacks" (pretzel sticks and cranberries clustered with white chocolate), lime pound cake, cookies "du jour", etc. All of this can be washed down with iced tea or lemonade, ably poured in fine fashion by the friendly staff of innkeepers who are most accommodating to attending to your requests for dinner reservations, calls for cabs, and recommendations for items you may wish to place on your itinerary. With this trip being our first ever to South Carolina, we did very well in selecting an inn where we always felt at home.

Room Tip: Rooms #2 and #3 share the huge upper-level porch, but not to worry about privacy as there's enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    8
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
99
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at 4 historic inns on our visit and this inn is far superior in its setting, food and service! The attention to detail is what makes Two Meeting Street really shine! Sitting on the front veranda and enjoying the beautiful gardens and park across the street is pure pleasure. The afternoon tea was superb and the lemon bars are to die for! Staying here was on my "Bucket List" and it certainly lived up to all my expectations! If you can only stay in one inn during your Charleston visit, choose this one. You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The Canton room on the third floor has its own stained glass window. The room is small but very love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper2meetst, Guest Relations Manager at Two Meeting Street Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will keep us in mind on your next "Bucket List" Adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife booked this for four nights for a combination birthday/weekend getaway. First night was spent in the Queen Ann Room which was amazing for all of the historical touches including the claw foot tub. The second night was spent in the Granite Room which was a more intimate affair but still very nice. During the night in the granite room the roof developed a leak, due to the tremendous downpour, and the wonderful staff offered to "upgrade" us to a different room while they repaired the damage. We then spent the night in the Carr Room which has access to the second floor balcony as well as plenty of room. The final room, and our favorite, was the Music Room on the first floor. As it's directly adjacent to the front door it may not be for everyone but it combined beautiful furnishings with a modern bathroom and I enjoyed the high water pressure and hot temperatures of the shower in the morning.

The breakfasts were tremendous and were certainly filling enough that we were able to break down to two meals daily combined with a mid-afternoon snack. Bags were moved for us from room to room and the staff called cabs/made reservations for us with no issue. My wife was even "scolded" for moving her own bags; that made us both chuckle and appreciate the level of service.

Location was south of Broad but was easy walking distance to restaurants or to get on the local free trolley. We parked our car on Sunday and didn't need it until Wednesday when we went to Patriots Point.

Thanks for the great experience and I would happily recommend 2 Meeting Street to anyone looking for a great B&B in Charleston.

Room Tip: Our favorite was the Music Room but the most "grand" was the appropriately named Queen Ann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here over the New Year's holiday. To say we enjoyed it is an understatement. From the minute we walked in, everything was perfect. The house was decorated for Christmas and holy cow, it was magnificent. Not overdone, perfectly elegant. We stayed in the Carrington Room and wished we could stay forever. You would think that because the rooms are near each other, it would be noisy, but no. We never heard anything. The staff was wonderful, I can't remember all the names, but Kay was like my BF. She was great. Everyone was helpful and accommodating. I needed something around 10 pm and they were happy to help me. Breakfast was a dream. Doesn't everyone want to be served in a beautiful 18th century DR w/beautiful silver, Tiffany windows etc. And, of course the breakfasts were always delicious. I especially like the fruit displayed as flowers. And, the porch was an amazing wrap around w/beautiful gardens to look at. A perfect place for wine in the evening. There is also a beautiful park right across the street. It is also near most everything and walking distance. We hope to go back someday.

Room Tip: There is no tip for a good room, they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in The Roberts Room as a solo traveler in October. October is a lovely time to visit Charleston, and Two Meeting Street Inn is one of the loveliest places to stay, which is no small feat considering the variety of accommodations available. Right across the street from White Point Gardens, it was so nice to be able to find a free overnight parking spot, as I am used to paying $20+/night for valet or garages when I have stayed elsewhere in town. The Roberts Room was very cozy with a lovely little window seat. The door to the bathroom is right next to the door to the bedroom, but when the two doors are open they can be latched together. The bathroom was absolutely adorable, situated under the eaves. I could have spent my entire stay luxuriating in the beautiful clawfoot tub. There is a handheld attachment, but if you need a full shower, you are better off booking a different room. Remember that this is a beautiful old home and does not have an elevator, so if you have an issue with stairs, book a room on a lower floor. The staff will deliver your bags to your room, of course.

The service was amazing. I was greeted warmly and given a tour and information about the home. The afternoon tea was delicious, and the sherry available in the dining room was a nice touch. Sitting at one of the garden tables with some sherry and a book, or enjoying breakfast on the porch with a view of the battery, is something that every visitor to Charleston should experience.

Room Tip: The Roberts Room is perfect for a solo traveler. Book a lower floor if you have trouble with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn in the beginning of December. We traveled from Arizona and could not have stayed at a better Inn for our engagement weekend. The Inn was decorated very elegantly for the Christmas Holiday. We stayed in the Spell Room, which had a large porch that looked out at Battery Park. The staff was wonderful. Every morning they served us a delicious breakfast on our porch. The treats served during tea time were also prepared by the staff and were excellent. We loved the Two Meeting Inn and would return any time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at Two Meeting Street Inn on our honeymoon in 2001 and we've been back at least once a year (sometimes more often) ever since. Everything about this inn is perfect! We've stayed in all of the rooms except one and they are all beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast and afternoon tea on the beautiful porch or in the elegant dining room is an experience not too be missed. The staff is very welcoming and go out of their way to make your experience both comfortable and memorable. Every staff member I have ever met there is polite and professional. Staying at Two Meeting Street is like staying at an old friend's house. I honestly can't imagine staying any place else in Charleston! If I could rate this inn higher than excellent, I would! John & Nancy, Wilmington NC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Two Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Meeting Street Inn

Address: 2 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1890. In the center of the historic district overlooking prestigious South Battery, this turreted Queen Anne was built as a wedding gift from a father to his daughter. It is one of the area's oldest bed & breakfast inns, offering Southern hospitality and a romantic heritage. Tiffany stained-glass windows, crystal chandeliers and English oak woodwork are accented by fresh flowers, Oriental rugs and family heirlooms. Traditional antiques furnish the elegant guest bedrooms. Enjoy a deluxe continental breakfast in the courtyard or oval dining room. The famous arched piazza features rockers that invite relaxation while gazing beyond the century-old live oaks to the harbor. Low country afternoon tea is served with sherry and regional delicacies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2 Meeting Street Inn
Two Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Meeting Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.