We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting & Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Meeting Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Two Meeting Street Inn
Save Saved
You added Two Meeting Street Inn to your Saves list
2 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401 (Charlestowne)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Charleston B&B and Inns
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Enchanting & Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here over the New Year's holiday. To say we enjoyed it is an understatement. From the minute we walked in, everything was perfect. The house was decorated for Christmas and holy cow, it was magnificent. Not overdone, perfectly elegant. We stayed in the Carrington Room and wished we could stay forever. You would think that because the rooms are near each other, it would be noisy, but no. We never heard anything. The staff was wonderful, I can't remember all the names, but Kay was like my BF. She was great. Everyone was helpful and accommodating. I needed something around 10 pm and they were happy to help me. Breakfast was a dream. Doesn't everyone want to be served in a beautiful 18th century DR w/beautiful silver, Tiffany windows etc. And, of course the breakfasts were always delicious. I especially like the fruit displayed as flowers. And, the porch was an amazing wrap around w/beautiful gardens to look at. A perfect place for wine in the evening. There is also a beautiful park right across the street. It is also near most everything and walking distance. We hope to go back someday.

Room Tip: There is no tip for a good room, they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    6
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
85
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in The Roberts Room as a solo traveler in October. October is a lovely time to visit Charleston, and Two Meeting Street Inn is one of the loveliest places to stay, which is no small feat considering the variety of accommodations available. Right across the street from White Point Gardens, it was so nice to be able to find a free overnight parking spot, as I am used to paying $20+/night for valet or garages when I have stayed elsewhere in town. The Roberts Room was very cozy with a lovely little window seat. The door to the bathroom is right next to the door to the bedroom, but when the two doors are open they can be latched together. The bathroom was absolutely adorable, situated under the eaves. I could have spent my entire stay luxuriating in the beautiful clawfoot tub. There is a handheld attachment, but if you need a full shower, you are better off booking a different room. Remember that this is a beautiful old home and does not have an elevator, so if you have an issue with stairs, book a room on a lower floor. The staff will deliver your bags to your room, of course.

The service was amazing. I was greeted warmly and given a tour and information about the home. The afternoon tea was delicious, and the sherry available in the dining room was a nice touch. Sitting at one of the garden tables with some sherry and a book, or enjoying breakfast on the porch with a view of the battery, is something that every visitor to Charleston should experience.

Room Tip: The Roberts Room is perfect for a solo traveler. Book a lower floor if you have trouble with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Inn in the beginning of December. We traveled from Arizona and could not have stayed at a better Inn for our engagement weekend. The Inn was decorated very elegantly for the Christmas Holiday. We stayed in the Spell Room, which had a large porch that looked out at Battery Park. The staff was wonderful. Every morning they served us a delicious breakfast on our porch. The treats served during tea time were also prepared by the staff and were excellent. We loved the Two Meeting Inn and would return any time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I first stayed at Two Meeting Street Inn on our honeymoon in 2001 and we've been back at least once a year (sometimes more often) ever since. Everything about this inn is perfect! We've stayed in all of the rooms except one and they are all beautiful and very comfortable. Breakfast and afternoon tea on the beautiful porch or in the elegant dining room is an experience not too be missed. The staff is very welcoming and go out of their way to make your experience both comfortable and memorable. Every staff member I have ever met there is polite and professional. Staying at Two Meeting Street is like staying at an old friend's house. I honestly can't imagine staying any place else in Charleston! If I could rate this inn higher than excellent, I would! John & Nancy, Wilmington NC

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff went way out of their way to make our trip great. From the history tour of the house to arranging dinner reservations. Can't say anything but thank you. We were very lucky to get in because we were on a road trip and didn't have reservations at the inn. The location was perfect, able to walk to restaurants and the tour we took picked us up at the front door of the inn. It was a belated honeymoon and the room with a fireplace was a great touch. The small deck was a nice place to have a late night drink or our morning coffee. The breakfast was not the usual B&B food but above and beyond.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

It was our dream to stay at Two Meeting Street Inn! After staying for our 9th anniversary, we have continued to return each year. We just returned home from our 15th stay! As beautiful as this Victorian home is on the outside, its beauty really reveals itself on the inside. Every room is appointed with the idea to appeal not only to the romance of the home but also to welcome their guest. The staff go over and beyond to make your stay at the inn and time visiting the city fabulous. Their recommendations for restaurants is a must as Charleston has many outstanding places to eat. Breakfast and tea time are filled with delicious culinary treats. I always return home with a new recipe to wow my family and friends. Charleston has just been given the title of the top city in the world by Conde Nast. There is no doubt that makes Two Meeting Street Inn the top bed and beakfast in the world. If you are planning a trip to Charleston, this is the place to stay, you will not be disappointed!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pensacola
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 day trip to Charleston and Two Meeting Street Inn. The inn is perfectly located to walks of the battery and the historic district. The house may be elegant but is very warm and welcoming. One of the highlights is breakfast or afternoon tea on the verandas overlooking the gorgeous grounds and the battery. The food is homemade and gourmet served with pure Southern hospitality. I could have rocked in those rockers on the veranda all day except then I would have missed seeing the charming historical neighborhood or visiting the Calhoun Mansion several doors down. Don't miss that tour.
We ended up staying in 2 different rooms because we were late in booking. However it gave us the chance to try 2 different rooms, and they were kind enough to move us while we were out touring. We stayed in the Canton room on the third floor and it was perfectly comfortable as long as climbing stairs is not a problem. The second night we were on the ground floor in the elegant Music room which was a little bigger, more formal in decor, and more expensive. Both were very charming. I would have no problem returning to stay in either room, as long as it is in the most romantic inn in Charleston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Two Meeting Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Meeting Street Inn

Address: 2 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Charlestowne
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1890. In the center of the historic district overlooking prestigious South Battery, this turreted Queen Anne was built as a wedding gift from a father to his daughter. It is one of the area's oldest bed & breakfast inns, offering Southern hospitality and a romantic heritage. Tiffany stained-glass windows, crystal chandeliers and English oak woodwork are accented by fresh flowers, Oriental rugs and family heirlooms. Traditional antiques furnish the elegant guest bedrooms. Enjoy a deluxe continental breakfast in the courtyard or oval dining room. The famous arched piazza features rockers that invite relaxation while gazing beyond the century-old live oaks to the harbor. Low country afternoon tea is served with sherry and regional delicacies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2 Meeting Street Inn
Two Meeting Street Hotel Charleston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Meeting Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.