We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trail ride near Middleton Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Middleton Stables

Middleton Stables
4280 Ashley River Road, Charleston, SC 29414
843-556-8137
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Middleton Equestrian Center is a full Service facility offering trail rides, boarding, lessons, pony rides, and pony parties. Our guided trail rides leave daily at 10:00am, 11:30am, 1:00pm, and 3:00pm. Ride through this National Historic landmark aboard one of our trusted horses for a wonderful historical and nature tour. You will discover all of the natural wonders of the Lowcountry from this unbeatable view. You will travel through the woodlands, marshes, swamps, rice fields, and waterways of Middleton Place while encountering all types of wildlife, include white-tail deer, numerous birds, foxes, and get up close and personal with the American alligator.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trail ride near Middleton Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was able to book and pay for our ride on my phone for myself, my sister and two nieces. Dave, our tour guide matched us up with great horses. I'm sure all of them were great. Beautiful ride near Middleton Place with spanish moss covered trees. Pretty pastures with dozing horses. Breath taking views of old rice fields. A gator jumped in the water near us and our horses didn't even flinch. Dave was attentive during our ride and apoke about sites as we rode. I highly recommend this experience while in Charleston!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    2
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I went expecting a great time. I got way more than that. It has a very friendly guide. You go through the forest and around a swamp. If you are in the Charleston area you must visit this attraction.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy Trails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We completely agree with GipsieGirl's rating of Best Hour Long Trail Ride Ever as well!! Middleton Stables is an easy location to find, just a short drive from Charleston, which is very convenient! The property is beautiful with very well kept stables & horses, and huge Live Oak trees draped with Spanish Moss. The ride includes lovely shaded paths through the woods balanced with sunny paths around ponds & wetlands. We saw lots of flora and fauna, including blue colored butterflies, a white egret, and alligators. Our guide Andy matched the 3 of us perfectly with our mounts; we had Eddie the Paint, Duchess the part Clydesdale, and Bobby the thoroughbred. They were all beautiful, photogenic, and pleasures to ride. Andy is fun to listen to while you ride, he is informative, professional, entertaining, and truly makes you feel welcome. Middleton Stables is the whole package, excellent location, beautiful trail, great horses, and an outstanding guide. We can't wait to come back to Charleston AND Middleton Stables. Thank you Middleton Stables for providing lovely Southern charm and hospitality through your trail ride service, it's truly memorable.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We'd toured the Middleton Plantation before but the trail ride allowed us to explore the more natural and "wild" parts of the property. We didn't ride directly through the formal gardens or up to the house or anything. The trails are in a different area than the plantation formal gardens. We were a group of seven adults and everyone enjoyed themselves. The trails are very well shaded so even on a warm day (and it was hot at by 10AM) we were comfortable. We got to see a lot of wildlife and the horses were lovely and well-behaved, though "Suzie" the horse did have a penchant for stopping to nibble some foliage along the way. David was a great guide and I'm sure the sight of 7 non-experienced riders provided him with hours of entertainment afterward.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Best Hour-Long Trail Ride Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I highly recommend Middleton Stables for the beautiful scenery of historic Middleton Place, rightfully listed by National Geographic among the top 50 outdoor destinations in the U.S. Not too shabby. :) The horses are great, and our guide picked a sweet, gentle paint for my mom, who wasn't very experienced and a bit nervous around horses. She absolutely loved the ride and fell in love with the horse. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the site, and gave a tour that was informative as well as covered a variety of landscapes. What a wonderful experience!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiddletonStables, Owner at Middleton Stables, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Would love to know who your guide was for your ride. I have two, Andy or David. If you can't remember the names if you could tell me what day of the week you rode I can figure it out. Glad you had a great time. Thank you for the review and riding with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Stables also viewed

Seabrook Island, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Middleton Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Middleton Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.