We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with "Heart"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heart Woodfire Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Heart Woodfire Kitchen
1622 Highland Avenue, Charleston, SC 29412 (James Island)
(843) 718-1539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #154 of 758 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: James Island
Scotia, New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food with "Heart"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Sitting outside on a sunny day enjoying the flavors of the south; that's how lunch should be. The menu at Heart Kitchen is just large enough to provide a good variety of choices, yet not so large the kitchen can't ensure a satisfying experience. Two of us enjoyed the rotisserie chicken with sides like creamy mustard greens and cannellini beans. Our dining companions thought the catfish sandwich and chicken sandwich were quite delicious and found the grits and potatoes with those dishes equally as flavorful. The service was friendly and prompt; we'll go back to Heart Kitchen again, maybe we'll even try it on a cloudy day.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice Addition to JI Restaurant Scene”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Heart Wood Fire Kitchen was an unexpected surprise on James Island. After reviewing the menu online we decided to go for dinner. We both chose the Pork Chili Verde as a savory starter and it did not disappoint. The dish was a nice change to typical American chili dishes. For dinner I had the mahi special of the evening and my partner chose the beef tenderloin. Both dishes were cooked perfectly and the portions were a good size. The waitress was friendly, efficient and knowledgeable in wine pairing suggestions. The house made coffee liquor is so delicious it tastes almost creamy. One downside of the evening was the noise level in the dining area. Because of the open ceiling design, there is nothing to absorb the sounds of conversations and kitchen work. After the crown thinned, we could communicate much better. If members of your party have hearing impairments, suggest dining before or after peak hours. Diners should also understand that the menu changes based on the local catch and what the farmers have to offer so do not expect the online menu to match exactly. We will definitely return to this establishment and recommend it to others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really great comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Great service and the food is wonderful. The food is very different from the norm, but in a great way. The only downside is its a little noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Comfort Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Started traveling to Charleston a couple of years ago and now come down 2-3 times a year. Was on our way to Folly Beach and saw this place kind of tucked away. Great little surprise. My wife and I had the Chicken Salad and the Mushroom Flatbread. Both were really good. The atmosphere was cute for lunch. Service was a little laid back and the food took a little bit but overall would certainly return next time we are down here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals on James Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After visiting Folly Beach in Feb., we've been fortunate to sample lots of wonderful local cuisine. Although seafood is so delicious in many restaurants on Folly Beach & James Island, once in a while a change in cuisine is welcomed.

Many reviews have mentioned delicious variations using meat products. I, however, was looking for something meatless. Talia, my wonderful server, suggested the pasta casserole.
It was scrumptious!

I don't usually order pasta dishes in restaurants unless it's a house specialty of pesto, piccata, etc.

This dish was an amazing exception. It had probably the best blend of sauce and cheeses I've ever enjoyed. It was both traditional yet unique because of its combination of yummy cheeses!

Please do yourself a favor and visit Heartfire Wood when you're on either James Island or Folly Beach. Don't think you'll be disappointed :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart Woodfire Kitchen also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Heart Woodfire Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart Woodfire Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.