We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, but good for your budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Charleston South to your Saves list
Motel 6 Charleston South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2058 Savannah Highway, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small rooms, but good for your budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2005

We spent two nights at this Motel 6. Because one night was a weekend night, this motel was the most affordable compared to others. The room was clean, including the bathroom, although the carpet and linoleum in the bathroom were a bit worn. The room was on the small side, with a strong smell of air freshener. Based on the reviews listed here, we requested a room that was not facing the highway and had no problems with noise. They have a coin washer and dryer (we didn't get to use them but would've if we knew ahead of time), and free coffee in the mornings. We didn't get to use the pool, but the leaves in the pool blown in by the strong winds were cleaned up by the next day. If I had a bigger budget, I would stay elsewhere, but for this price I'd consider staying again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    19
    17
    25
See reviews for
20
22
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2005

Stayed here as I couldn't afford to stay in downtown Charleston. Was a good location, taxi into town for a night out wasn't too expensive. When we were knackered there were places to eat (not very exciting plkaces but they did the trick) and a piggly wiggly within walking distance. Room was clean and on arrival lady was nice and gave us lots of maps and stuff. Good location to drive to downtown and Magnolia Plantation from here.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Ga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

My Husband and I traveled to Charleston, SC for a pleasure trip (Golf and Shopping). We stayed at the Motel 6 on Savannah Hwy 17 for it's location.
This was the Second time we have stayed at this location. The first time we stay we were assigned to a room directly in front of I 526 emerging traffic.
The second time was just recently and we were assigned that same area of rooms, after I deliberately asked not to be put in that area again. For the most part the rooms were clean and accessible to pretty much everything including noise.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2004

I don't know who wrote the other reviews for this hotel, but do not listen to them. My husband and I decided to save a buck or two by staying here...not a good decision. Within 5 minutes of being in the room, we decided to leave and go elsewhere. The bright blue carpet in our room had been cleaned (2 days prior is what we were told) and was still wet and bleeding. I now have two pairs of socks that are stained blue on the bottom. The room was not clean and there wasn't an iron and ironing board in the room. There was a large gap around the outside of the door, letting in all kinds of sunlight and the wind whistled through it. The only thing good that I can say about this hotel is that the staff was wonderful about understanding our dissatisfaction and refunding our money. Trust me - spend the $100-$120 a night to stay somewhere else. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2004

Nice pool, very nice staff. Price was down right cheap. You cannot go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2004

My husband and I went to Charleston for the first time recently, and needed a cheap place to stay. We decided to stay at the Motel 6 and booked the room for $45/night. I was glad to see that the motel was not in a scary neighborhood, although it is right next to the highway. There are lots of restaurants nearby and it is fairly convenient to downtown Charleston (approx 10 minute drive). My relatives stayed 5 minutes up the road at a Holiday Inn and paid over $150/night for a basic room. Be sure to request a room away from the highway-we switched rooms aftert he first night and it made a huge difference. The rooms are very basic, but if you are looking for simple safe accomodations -this could be your place. We were able to spend the money we saved on fun stuff like carriage rides and dinners out!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charleston South

Address: 2058 Savannah Highway, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charleston South 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Motel Six Charleston
Charleston Motel Six
Charleston Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Charleston South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.