We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean, great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Charleston South to your Saves list
Motel 6 Charleston South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2058 Savannah Highway, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Simple, clean, great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Stayed 3 days here. Didn't have too many expectations but didn't intend to spend too much time in the room anyhow.Just expected it to be clean and reasonable.
This hotel was beyond my expectations.
Had a nice welcome by a very nice and helpful staff.
My room was a standard Motel 6 room, very clean, quiet, free wifi.Had everything I needed.
One thing - maybe it's about time to change the old mattresses. Sleep quality can gain a lot here.
Over all, this is a good option in a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    18
    17
    25
See reviews for
20
21
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were staying in Charleston for a large event. Needless to say there were few hotels available in Charleston and all of them were being billed at a premium. I would never pay as much as I did typically for a Motel 6. However, relatively speaking to other properties it was the cheapest. I was greatly surprised. The front desk staff was very nice and welcoming. The rooms were clean and in great condition. The beds may not have been the most comfortable, but it was better then I expected. The location is great. There are many food options available and you are just over the river from the historic city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel was wonderful i stayed a week with my 2 dogs the only issue we had was the power went off twice but they fixed it right away and apologized a million times and even put us in another room for the night while the power was out. The house keepers came by everyday to see if we needed anything the front desk called a few times to make sure we was enjoying our stay. The MGR was amazing she knew what she was doing unlike the guy at North Charleston. Id recommend it to anybody thats looking for a cheap room

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Full of roaches. The WIFI does not work. The people in the lobby hang up the phone to guests if they try to complain about any problem with the room. The police arrived during our stay to arrest people here. After I complained to the Motel 6 guest relations they sent a letter to the general manager Darlene Lawrence probably expecting for her to appologize about our problems here, however she did nothing.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The Red Roof Inn in Hilton Head is closer to the beach and is the same price. Better hotel!

Room Tip: Customer service at this hotel is the worst. They absolutely do not care about the guests and they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It's only $43.99 a night plus tax which comes out to around $52. They charge a few dollars extra for 24 hour access to the wireless internet connection.

I was here two nights, and the traffic noise of I-526/Highway 17 directly across from the motel didn't even bother me half as much as the constant noise the other people staying here made. Only saying that to say this: people staying here have absolutely no respect for other people at all. The front desk staff was apologetic and said they were "probably construction workers." I doubt it. Just people with nothing better to do than get drunk and keep everyone else up all night.

The single room I was in was very basic. A bed, dresser, TV, bedside table, desk and chair. No mini refrigerator which I expected there to be, but I got over it. I liked the design of their shower, kind of a rounded shape to it. The mattress on the bed was average quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Charleston South, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear tiw0000000092
Thank you for posting your review. We apologize for the unpleasant stay you experienced as a result of the noisy conditions you encountered. The issues you experienced are not consistent with Motel 6 standards for quality, and we encourage you to contact our guest relations department so they can have a record of your experience to help us provide you and other guests with better service in the future: 1-800-577-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Basic is quite acceptable but unclean is not acceptable. Couldn't stand barefoot on carpet. Under beds not been hoovered for some time. Dirty fridge surround, beds not properly made and no tea and coffee making facilities. Reception staff very friendly and shower nice and powerful but the musty smell in room made for uneasy sleeping. Stayed last fortnight in superb motels but will not be staying in another Motel 6 in the future. Wi if was extra!

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more and stay somewhere with facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This seemed like a nice motel and location and price were good. However, this was the smallest room I have ever seen for a double. For both beds, you could only get out on 1 side! We had to ask for towels and wash cloths, soap, and glasses every day, Not sure they did anything except make the bed. Don't expect a lot at Motel 6, but basic cleaning and restocking should be normal. We stayed 2 nites and moved on. Was ok, but not great. Think service could use a boost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charleston South

Address: 2058 Savannah Highway, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charleston South 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Motel Six Charleston
Charleston Motel Six
Charleston Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Charleston South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.