We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to turn the lights off....PERMANENTLY!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Charleston South

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Charleston South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Charleston South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2058 Savannah Highway, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Ninety Six, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Needs to turn the lights off....PERMANENTLY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Traveled with my husband, our 8 month old daughter and my sister. Her significant other already had a room here, so we figured it would be easier for us to meet up at the end of the weekend if we got a room as well. My sister says that they had no issues with their room, with the exception of no microwave or mini-fridge. My husband, daughter and I, however, had a complete HORROR experience.

Our FIRST room was non-smoking. Although our neighbors a few doors down were smoking - outside...my husband still smelled smoke INSIDE the room. So he went to the front desk and requested a room change. We got our new room and it took us about 5 minutes to convince the door to open. That should have been a sign that our stay was going to be horrible....and it was. We were greeted by a roach on the desk, just "chilling". Only 2 bars of soap and two towels. The bathroom was somewhat decent, but the shower had another roach that apparently felt the need to be clean. The a/c either pumped out cold air or hardly any air, depending on what we set the temp on. The beds had fleas, the room had gnats and we discovered, to our horror, that the microwave that we used to warm up our breakfast in and ate housed at LEAST one roach, which crawled from between the glass and the plastic door on one side to the other and crawled back into the microwave housing. Needless to say, we checked out and luckily got a refund for our second night that we had paid for in advance and found a much nicer - AND CLEANER hotel downtown.

The only positive to this place is the front desk staff that was very friendly, both checking in and checking out....and Domino's pizza's fast delivery.

DO NOT STAY IN THIS MOTEL! ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING! CHEAP PRICING DEFINITELY DETERMINES THE QUALITY FOR THIS PLACE. WE ARE NOT STAYING AT THIS - OR ANY MOTEL 6 AGAIN! OH...AND THEIR SLOGAN "WE'LL THE LIGHT ON FOR YOU" IS A LIE. WE DEFINITELY HAD TO TURN ON IN BOTH OF OUR ROOMS.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    18
    14
    23
See reviews for
17
20
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boone NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My significant other and I booked one night at this motel as it was decently priced and close to the port where I needed to pick up my daughter from her cruise. The front desk staff was nice enough. The room was small but I can handle that for one night. You can forget the travel size hair dryer. There was barely enough towels for two people to shower.. The shower had NO water pressure. I was told that there was one queen bed in the room. I KNOW that was a full size bed. The front desk lady assured me that no, it was a queen. It was very loud outside .. we were kept up half the night by shady characters looming around outside drinking and partying all night.. DO NOT stay here. It was cheap, but we got what we paid for. Miserable night! There was no microwave or efficiency refrigerator. WHO in this day and time CHARGES for internet? Oh. That would be Motel 6.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I wasn't expecting much. But as soon as we pulled up, it looked shady. There was very little lighting in the parking lot, and by just turning off of Savannah Highway, it felt like we entered a different part of the city. We walked in to get our room and we had to talk through a plate of glass to a very rude and bored desk attendant. She barely spoke to or looked at us. When she did, she gave us the cards then turned her back to us. Didn't even bother to tell us where our room was.

We had to look, in the dark with very little light, at the room numbers as we drove to the back of the building. The stairs leading up were crooked and some were broken. The door to our room had dents in them as if someone had been punching it.

Still, pretty much what I had expected.

We enter to see a small room. Okay, can handle that. The a/c unit was fine, until we walked further in. Every now and then the a/c unit would rattle so loudly it sounded as if one of the parts might come bursting out of the unit. It was extremely loud.

We immediately see 3 bugs above the door, which we killed. Then we look in the microwave to find another bug crawling out and old, molded cheese. So then we look in the fridge...and find 3 month old donuts (expired in April, we went in July). We saw two more bugs in the room. The comforters had holes in them. Beneath the sink in the bathroom had a huge splotch of black, green, and white mold that was about the size of a dessert plate! The shower looked dirty, and the bathroom smelled gross. The door to the bathroom had a huge dent in it just like the room door.

We checked out about 20 minutes later and I received an e-mail a few days later from the General Manager. I reply telling him our experience and asking for a refund for that night since we didn't even stay an hour!

It has been over a week and have not heard anything back. Would absolutely NEVER recommend this place to anyone, no matter how much money you need to save. If you are expecting nothing at all and don't mind living in filth, this is fine.

I would definitely not recommend bringing kids here. It just did not feel safe. Oh, and the extra lock on the door (bar across the door that catches before it opens all the way) was loose and could easily have been broken into with a good enough push.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My extended family and I stayed here as a last resort when we needed to rest for the night on our way to Savannah. It was late (after 11:00 pm) and we could not find a hotel that had any vacancy. We had to wait for an hour to get into our rooms during which time a woman, who was obviously bloodied from a domestic dispute was wandering the grounds crying. My son was 10 years old at the time and completely unsettled and frightened. Needless to say this event, coupled with the absolutely abysmal condition of the room would teach me to never stay at a Motel 6 under any circumstance. The condition of the room was so bad that my sister left her room to sleep in the car after she found several unidentifiable stains on her sheets! and the smell - Ugh! The worse experience of my traveling experiences and that is saying a lot!

Room Tip: Stay Away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here because all hotels were booked because of the Cooper River Run and it was pet friendly. It looked fairly clean but the air was awful inside our room. If the air was off it was unbearably muggy but when it was on it felt like it was going to give you the flu with a deep chest cough. In my opinion, pay more for a nicer hotel. You only live once, you will feel better and wake up feeling clean! I will always recommend shelling out more for a better travel experience.

Room Tip: Pay more for your hotel stay. Your family will thank you for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california,md
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on the side near the road and it was loud. Rooms were ok. Tv was old. Front desk was nice. If the room didn't jump up in price. It went to 90 a night this would be a fine place for a budget travel. Rooms are worth 50 a night

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Staying here for one night is OK if saving money is a concern, but I would not want to stay any longer. We stay at lots of Motel 6s and understand you get only the basics when you go cheap. However, the smoke detector needed a new battery, one key card did not work, the door was difficult to open and close, the sink faucet was hard to turn on, the shower curtain in the "non-smoking" room smelled like stale smoke, the coffee was hard to pump, and there were a few let's say "suspicious" goings-on outside. But other than that, it was okay!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Charleston South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Charleston South

Address: 2058 Savannah Highway, I-526 at US 17, Charleston, SC 29407
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Charleston South 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Charleston South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Charleston South Hotel Charleston
Motel Six Charleston
Charleston Motel Six
Charleston Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Charleston South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.