We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Evening - Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eli's Table

Eli's Table
129 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401
843.405.5115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Eli's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 736 restaurants in Charleston
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Queen Street
Description: Eli's Table features a new menu offering bold, worldly flavors while using fresh and local ingredients. Named after the owner of Charleston Hospitality Group's son Eli, the restaurant is sentimental for many reasons. Guests are treated with a new way to savor their favorite classics. Tantalize your taste buds and join us at Eli's Table tonight.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delightful Evening - Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome at this lovely restaurant. The Shrimp and Grit appetizer was simply outstanding--we plan to order two servings the next time we visit. It was truly one of the best variations of the Lowcountry favorite that I've ever tasted. While I think Eli's Table has only been open for a little over a year, it has risen to the top of our local favorites. Can't wait to give breakfast a try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    362
    151
    58
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
columbia sc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for restaurant week. Not our usual type of place. My husband likes more casual places, but we throughly enjoyed our dinner here. The restaurant is small but has a courtyard dining area in the back. The menu selection is small. They offer a few full dinners but most are ala carte.

We chose a special for restaurant week that was not on their regular menu. The dinner was exceptional. Our only disappointment was the dessert which seemed to be store bought. However even that did not take away from the rest of the meal.

They do breakfast and lunch. We are planning to go back and try.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quaint local eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This little restaurant/diner is well positioned in town and directly across from the Circular Church with "The Sounds of Charleston" concert (see TA for additional information). We ate 2 meals here - one lunch and one dinner. Lunch was good but dinner was better. Little quieter and more subdued that the hustle of lunch hour. For any meal to be had I would recommend ANY of the the chef's daily specials. Reasonably priced and nice local. Did not have breakfast which comes recommended. Also they participate in Open Table Reservations.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Culinary highlight of our honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We ate at Eli's one evening during our honeymoon. We were made to feel very welcome by David the manager, and Rick our server was fantastic throughout. The complimentary bread to start was delicious, we then ate the following which we highly recommend:

Grilled Shrimp & Grit Cake
Portabella Mushroom

Chimmichurri Pork Tenderloin
Spiced Pecan Salmon

Crème Brûlée
Eli's Cheesecake

We stayed in Charleston for 10 days and ate at many restaurants rated higher than Eli's on this site, but we both agreed this was the best meal we had during our stay. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast in Charleston!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Visited Eli's Table for Brunch around 10:00 am on a Monday. Our family of 4 was seated right away. The food was great. My daughter had the biscuits and gravy. It was a nice large serving. I am a fan of the southern breakfast and really enjoyed the flavorful biscuits and gravy. It was great. My son had the sugar powdered pancakes with chocolate chips. He enjoyed the pancakes. The coffee was very good and had a nice full flavor. My daughter had hot chocolate that was frothed and provided in a large latte cup. I had a spinach and mushroom omlette and was able to substitue egg beaters and add additional items to the omlette on the menu. My husband enjoyed his eggs benedict on a muffin which came with potatoes. It was so nice to walk just a little past Toast, which had a large group waiting out side and has mediocre reviews to Eli's Table and be seated immediately and have an excellent breakfast at a reasonable price.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eli's Table also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Eli's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eli's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.