We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sound of Charleston

Sound of Charleston
150 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC (French Quarter)
(843) 270-4903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 194 Activities in Charleston
Type: Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the sounds that define Charleston's musical history...from gospel to Gershwin. Each weekly live concert features music of the Civil War; light classics of the venerable St. Cecelia Society; the music of George Gershwin, who wrote "Porgy & Bess" during a summer in Charleston; gospel spirituals sung by slaves as they passed through the port of Charleston; and "Amazing Grace", the words of which were inspired in the composer, John Newton, while he worshipped in our host venue, Circular Congregational Church. Visit our website or call the box office for concert dates and ticket information.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The event is held in a beautiful historical church that is constructed in a circle. So there were no bad seats. I expected this event to be a musical program with choirs from different local churches and maybe the colleges in the area, but we really got the history of the music throughout the civil war era. The aritistic director captivated you with his theatrical explanations of the periods of music we heard. All of the performers were top notch! A must see when you're in town.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    57
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milledgeville, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A Musical History of the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went with friends for an evening of entertainment not knowing what to expect. The audience is seated in the pews of this circular church creating a more intimate environment than is common for most venues. Our host for the evening and co-artistic director of the production company was William Schlitt. Beginning with the Colonial era St. Cecilia Society of Charleston, we were walked through music that has been characteristic of Charleston. Soprano Margaret Kelly Cook gave a superb performance of songs from the period followed by her rendition of songs from Jenny Lind. Ms. Cook brought the house down as would have Ms. Lind! We were then led through Civil War folk songs featuring the instrumentalist Bart Saylor. Ms. Ann Caldwell went on to offer spirituals that touched our hearts and got us all joining in song. Selections from George Gershwin's Porgy and Bess followed because of its tie to the city. The program closed with the company coming together for Amazing Grace. It was an enlightening and educational experience well worthwhile!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sound of Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole program. The performers were fabulous and so enthusiastic. The audience had such a great time.

We have a home in Isle of Palm and now we know where to take all of our guests when they come to visit.

P

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Wonderful trip through Charleston's Musical History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

After several trips to Charleston, we were finally able to schedule a Friday night to experience the Sound of Charleston. The concert is held in the beautiful Circular Church. The semi circular pew placement allows the audience to be very close to performers, enhancing the experience.

All of the performers were first rate. Margaret Kelly Cook was simply amazing. I would enjoy a full concert with her as the headliner.

Bart Saylor and William Schlitt took us on a journey through the music of the Civil War. Mr. Schlitt shared interesting facts. Mr. Saylor was very entertaining.

The concert ended with a gospel performance that was second to none.

For us, this is a DO NOT MISS experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Musical Experience in Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The concert is both an entertaining activity and a learning experience. It has great talent, historic venue, and reasonable ticket prices. The musicians' enthusiasm, knowledge, and dedication are impressive. Highly recommend this activity.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sound of Charleston also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sound of Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sound of Charleston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.