We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Break-Away Dates
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location, great amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We stayed for four nights on the advice of friends and were glad. We did. The location was central to all that we wanted to see. The market was across the street, horse drawn carriage rides passes by constantly, two blocks from King Street, a few more to the waterfront and plenty of good restaurants nerby. Valet parking was easy and $17 a night. The daily perks included a good continental breakfast, all day coffee, tea, M&M's and jelly beans. Wine and cheese each evening and cookies and milk at bedtime were welcome, too. There's a nice sitting area with sofas, tables and fireplace as well as outdoor terrace. Helpful staff. A great choice.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your recent trip to Charleston. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,878
    174
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
407
1,137
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Actually I live in Charleston, but my husband surprised me with a stay at the French Quarter Inn for Valentine's Day, and it was lovely. The rooms are very spacious, clean, comfortable, and ours had a nice little balcony that overlooked the street. We were greeted with a glass of Champagne, a nice touch, and the 5:00 p.m. wine and cheese reception was nicely done as well. Too, they do not mind accomodating special requests, such as having something special sent to your room, like chocolate covered strawberries or whatever you desire. The restaurant Tristan is on site, and we decided to try it. Loved everything about it, except I wasn't so crazy about the main course. I think everything was so good leading up to it, that by the time it came....to me,it was just so-so. One of the best things about the French Quarter Inn, is it's location. We were within walking distance of all of our favorite downtown places. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
We are delighted that you we were part of your surprise celebration for Valentine’s Day, in your own city. “Staycations” are a great way for locals to see the city from a different view point. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for this special occasion. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities. We will pass your comments about Tristan to their team. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

I travel to Charlesrton on business and this is my preferred hotel...close to everything and wonderful accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
We love being the home away from home for our many business clients. Thank you for allowing us to take care of you. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The French Quarter Inn will not disappoint. We had one of the one-bedroom apartments and it was excellent in size and quality. Having stayed around the world in a number of apartments at various hotels - this is up there with the best that I have been in. Not the least of the reasons is the location literally beside the 'Market' and in easy access to all that matters, including great restaurants and general sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review and great compliments. We desire to create a wonderful stay for each guest and we are delighted that we succeeded. The One-Bedroom Suites/Apartments are a great size for extended stays or for those that like to really stretch out. Again thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

My daugther and I stayed overnight in this very nice and comfortable hotel.
Great location in the historic center, near the Market.The staff was extremely cooperative and friendly. The most delicious pralines were waiting for us in the room and you can buy them in a nearby store!The accomodations were comfortable. Plenty of bath towels in the bathroom. The breakfast area very nicely appointed and they also serve afternoon tea and cookies. They offer valet park which is very useful downtown Charleston and they readily moved our luggage to our car after we checked out, until we were ready to leave. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your trip to Charleston. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope you are able to return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

My wife and I have been to Charleston several times and were just wrapping up a trip to nearby Kiawah Island. All packed, we headed home and not 15 miles from our origin, were involved in a nasty car accident which rendered our vehicle out of commission. After all the details were taken care of, we needed a place to stay and had called the Harborview Inn (this hotel's "sister property") and were sad to hear they were full. They transferred me to the FQI, and BOY am I glad they did. From the welcoming glass of Champagne (yes we both really needed that) to the super nice and clean suite we were given, to the friendliness of the staff at every turn, it was like being welcomed by old friends after a hard day. My hat is off to this group who turned a pretty downer day into a super nice and unexpected respite. Thanks to all of them and you can be sure the next time we are in Charleston, we will be back to stay with you all again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear BigLuke,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here for his 30th birthday. We were in a traditional king with an awesome balcony. The French Quarter Inn is truly magnificent. The service was top-notch (Donna at the front desk was great!) and the hotel itself is so pretty. I loved our bed...so comfy! And of course all the extra amenities were great (breakfast, wine, pillow menu). I would recommend the French Quarter Inn to anyone visiting Charleston. The location is perfect as well...easy access to everything in the city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2011
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your celebration. We are delighted to be a part of it. Your compliments of the staff, amenities, and hotel are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#10 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,192 reviews
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue
The Vendue
#13 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
The Restoration on King
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.