We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of luxury and calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Break-Away Dates
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane. Qld Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An oasis of luxury and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at the French Quarter Inn for three nights as part of our month long East Coast USA and Canada trip. We chose the FQI based on reviews and because the offered separate suite accommodation with a sofa bed for our children. The hotel is beautiful and felt like an oasis of calm to return to each day after lots of sightseeing and walking! The room was just lovely - very large bedroom beautifully decorated, comfortable bathroom and separate living area with sofa bed. The complimentary breakfast was well presented and delicious. The only negative was that the sofa bed had a plastic mattress cover on it that made sleeping a bit difficult for our children. Would recommend the French Quarter Inn and hope to return to Charleston one day to see it in the Springtime.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your trip to Charleston. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your time in our beautiful city. Our apologies about the sofa bed, the plastic should have been removed, we will do so immediately. Springtime in Charleston is simply beautiful; we look forward to welcoming you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,799
    171
    31
    9
    4
See reviews for
380
1,093
32
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My wife and I came to Charleston, SC, during Easter weekend 2010. Our last night there, we stayed at the French Quarter Inn. We would have liked to have stayed there all 3 nights, but it is quite pricey. However, upon checking in, we were treated like royalty. Valet parking was included; the valet asked if we needed the car again later that night, and I informed him that we did because we were going out to dinner. The car was ready promptly when we needed it. Champagne and ladyfingers were served at check in, afternoon tea was nice, and there was a help-yourself coffee bar available the whole time. The room was clean, inviting, and our bed was comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance to the main attractions in Charleston. It was nice to go out touring, and then have a place close enough where we could take a break, which we found ourselves doing a few times. There's a private terrace where you can sit and enjoy the fresh air without dealing with all the traffic and noise. That's actually where we enjoyed our afternoon tea!

Tristan, the hotel's restaurant, had high reviews from various sources, but we did not get a chance to dine there. They were serving Easter brunch the day we checked out, but we had reservations somewhere else. Maybe next time, as we would enjoy staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to complete such a wonderful review. Your compliments of our hotel, staff, and amenities are greatly appreciated. Upon your next trip to Charleston we would be delighted to have you stay with us and we would be happy to make your reservations at Tristan. Chef Whiting at Tristan has created an incredible menu and the service is excellent. We know you would enjoy it. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

I use Tripadvisor all the time and in the past they have always been right on. This time was not the case. The hotel is alright. The greeting was OK. The room was a bit disappointing. The bed was not comfortable, the bathroom was dangerous and the blow dryer on the wall was something from a cheap motel! The cocktail hour was nothing you would not get at the chain hotels and the breakfast a big let down. I will pay to have a nice breakfast it does not have to come complimentary. I was very disappointed and should have booked the hotel of my choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
We are very disappointed in ourselves for not living up to your expectations. But what disappoints us the most is that we weren’t made aware of your feelings before your departure so that we could have the opportunity to make up for our shortcomings. Our sincerest apologies that the French Quarter Inn was not the stay you envisioned when visiting Charleston. We do hope for your next trip to Charleston you choose to stay with us so that we have the chance to wow you. Again our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, AR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Loved our stay at the French Quarter Hotel. Centrally located, we could walk in every direction and find shops, galleries, restaurants, etc. The staff was attentive and efficient. Would recommend this wholeheartedly!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Thank you for your compliments. Our location is a great asset and makes visiting Charleston so easy for our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I recently completed a 6 night stay at the FQI in celebration of our 40th wedding anniversary. We chose this hotel based on the rave reviews on TA and were not disappointed. No King rooms were available when I made the reservation, so I left a special request. When we checked in we were shown to a spacious King room and a bottle of champagne awaited us....a nice touch. We enjoyed all the amenities: candy, cold drinks, and coffee during the day, wine and cheese in the evening, nightly cookies and milk, and chocolates on the bed. Our room, and the hotel, was always spotlessly clean which is something of great importance to me personally, The location is great, you can walk to any attraction or restaurant in the HD. We always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The only suggestion I would make, is to expand the continental breakfast a bit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Congratulations on such as special anniversary and thank you for choosing to celebrate it with us. We are glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities that we offer. Our goal is to provide excellent service and little extras to ensure an excellent experience. It’s always nice to know our guests enjoy them. Our continental breakfast expansion is currently in the works and we look forward to offering a few more items. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had the pleasure of staying at the French Quarter Inn for three nights in late September. The property is lovely; the location is perfect; and the staff was helpful and accomodating. The beds are extremely comfortable and the little extras (breakfast, turn down service with chocolates, wine and cheese, and most especially the cookies and milk) make a good experience even better. Charleston is a wonderful and walkable city and the French Quarter Inn is the perfect home base for your adventures! We're already talking about a return trip and we'd most definitely stay at FQI again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
It was our pleasure to have your join us for your stay in Charleston. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a wonderful review. Your compliments are greatly appreciated. We are ready and waiting for your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

The French Quarter Inn is quite frankly, spectacular. A location that is within walking distance of all restaruants, activities and places of interest, the Inn combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the amenities of a large hotel. Wine and cheese at 5:00pm each afternoon was an excellent beginning to each of our evenings. Tristan's restaurant presented a tasting dinner that was second to none! Breakfast brought to our room each morning (included in the rate) and coffee on our private balcony only enhanced our experience - I would not hesitate to recommend this property when visiting Charleston.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. Your compliments of the Inn are greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed our great location and amenities. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.