We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to feel like a Southern Belle?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristow, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Want to feel like a Southern Belle?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2005

Armed with the wonderful reviews for this Inn, my husband and I booked a two day stay for our anniversary. We were treated like visiting royalty from the moment we arrived. As advertised, the Inn is a short, peasant walk to the Battery, and to restaurants and shopping. Although we did not have a balcony (but a great view of the harbor), each floor has an accessible balcony where you can enjoy the sunrise or sunset with free milk & cookies or morning coffee. We did take advantage of the in room breakfast service but noted that there were two coffee carts at either end of the hall for those who rise early. The staff does a very good job of providing personal touches. For example, after the Bellman made a reservation at a nearby restaurant for us, our dessert arrived with "Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the plate. A very nice touch. ( FYI- try Hank's it is absolutely fabulous, one of the best meals we have ever had.)The turn down service is amazing. Along with locally made pecan prailines, the maid not only delivered a card with the next days weather forcast but had filled the ice bucket! There were a lot of other touches that make this Inn special such as sweet grass fans that you can use while sitting in the lobby or patio drinking peach tea. If you want to experience the Old South, while having modern ammenities - go quickly to the French Quarter Inn.

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,613
    155
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
330
977
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CORAOPOLIS
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2005

My family and I stayed at the FQI on a recent trip down through the southern states. The hardest part was FINDING the hotel. It's address is Church Street, but one really has to go down this little side street to get to the parking drop off area. We circled around 2 or 3 times getting lost in the one way streets before we found out where we had to go. Then when we got there--paradise! Champagne at check-in(definately welcome after driving for hours in the rain), wine and cheese at 5pm(the young lady keeps going around filling your glass over and over),cookies and milk at 9pm,breakfast in your room, free lemonade or iced tea all day long(great after walking around for hours.) It seems you can't go 5 minutes without them GIVING you something else! Rooms were great in every way. Beds were some of the best we were every in,pillow menu(7 to choose from),bathroom and bedrooms are very large. The service was great and always with a smile---very helpfull front dest clerks. The hotel is right in the middle of everything. Easy to walk through the historic district, 1 1/2 blocks to the Market Area, 2 blocks to great horse drawn buggy tours, restaurants and bars right arcoss the street. All in all, possibly the best hotel we ever stayed at anywhere. Definately worth your money and time to stay here on a visit to Charleston. I told everyone who would listen to me to stay here and no where else when visiting this great southern city!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

My daughter graduated from law school in May of 2004 and we took a
trip to Charleston for her graduation vacation. We stayed at the FQI,
and it was just wonderful. This has to be my all time favorite place to
stay. Everything is so neat, clean, and feels like home. Extras include
the great wine and cheese in the evening, cookies and milk at night.
I am going to Charleston again this year and of course, guess where I
am staying. I am really looking forward to it. I love the city of Charleston
and I love FQI.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a 3-night stay at the French Quarter Inn, and our first visit to Charleston. We had Room 313, which was a junior suite with a gas fireplace, balcony overlooking the market, and a beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower. From the moment we checked into the inn, we felt pampered. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Some of our favorite amenities were the continental breakfast delivered to our room each morning (with a 5 minute advance phone call), the champagne at 3:00 check-in (we actually took advantage of the 3:00 champage each afternoon!), the incredibly comfortable beds/pillows, and the warm cookies at 9:00 sharp each evening (get there promptly, as they are very popular). The hotel is in a perfect location, accessible to tons of great restaurants and shops. We didn't rent a car....just shuttled from and back to the airport and walked everywhere for sightseeing and shopping! Can't think of anything negative about the inn. We chose this hotel based on internet research and reviews by past guests, and trust me, it was AWESOME! We are extremely picky about amenities and comfort when we choose a hotel, but we truly did not find anything lacking, and were pleasantly surprised by the many extras the French Quarter Inn has to offer. You will not be disappointed by this hotel. We hope to return to Charleston in the future, and will definitely choose the French Quarter Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2005

my wife and i stayed 3 nights at the french quarter inn at the end of april and the first of may. it was tremendous, perfect central location with a lot of wonderful amenities included especially the continental breakfast. we had a jr suite with a balcony that overlooked the outdoor patio courtyard which served complimentary late afternoon wine, cheese, and champagne. if you choose this place for your stay in charleston you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2005

Wonderful Place!! My family of five was upgraded to a luxury suite that was larger than our first apartment, unprompted. The ever-present staff could not have been more courteous, taking time to learn our names and make sure every amenity was provided - I must apologize for my 11 year-old son's abuse of the pillow concierge program, however! The room had a fabulous view of the market and my wife made sure that we never missed "wine and cheese hour", which was complimentary. My 7 year-old son made sure we did not miss "cookie hour" after dinner. My teenage daughter had basically her own suite with a pull-out couch and the bathroom was enormous and very luxurious. The maid staff was authentically French - very nice touch! They brought continental breakfast in bed - complimentary.

If you choose to leave the hotel - although I would have been perfectly happy to remain in the beautiful lobby/library area and read - you are in the middle of everything - docks, best restaurants, battery, market, carriage rides - everything!

Only negative - a little noisy when the bars let out on the weekend - we had some bikers firing up their hogs at 2 am - take a white noise machine.

Overall - best place I've ever stayed and will come back!!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2005

My husband and I were in Charleston for the first time to attend a wedding in April, 2005 and stayed at the FQI. We travel extensively in the US, Caribbean and Europe. I can honestly say that the FQI is superb. The staff is extremely professional, friendly and helpful with making reservations for dinner or suggesting sites to visit. The location could is ideal. The rooms are a very spacious and the bathroom is fantastic. The special touches of wine and cheese in the afternoon, ice cold milk and fresh baked cookies at bedtime, ice cold tea and lemonade available all day and a great pillow menu (usual for Europe) sets this hotel apart from the others. We usually travel to New Orleans for a quick getaway a couple of time during the year. However, after our visit to Charleston, I think New Orleans will have competition.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.