We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Accomodations with only a few caveats” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Break-Away Dates
Ranked #1 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Macon, GA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellence in Accomodations with only a few caveats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the FQI the week of March 16-20. We had the Romance package as it was our anniversary. Overall the hotel is VERY centrally located and the ONLY time we took our car out was when we went to Mt Pleasant. I will break down the review. Understand that we stayed in Charleston during the week from Sunday-Thursday. When we left on Thursday, we could tell it was getting increasingly busier so I can't say what it's like at the FQI on the weekend. Also the first night of the stay the AC was malfunctioning and caused quite a stir but was not a problem the rest of the stay.

Check In--
Very easy and efficient. Had the champagne but were out of lady fingers. No biggy. Valet was included in the rate (as it should) and our bags were very efficiently brought to our room.

Room--
We had a Junior Suite that overlooked Market Street. Very spacious room with 2 Queen Beds. A jacuzzi tub and a very spacious bathroom were included. The room was obviously updated with HDTV and a safe and frig. Heard a little noise, as we were by the service elevators but nothing to complain about. What I will say though is that they need to have at least 1 King size bed in one of these suites. I am a big guy and it was hard for me and my wife to sleep on one bed. We did but it was interesting. The beds are not the greatest(compared to a Heavenly Bed) but were ok. The pillow menu was pretty cool but the pillows I requested were not given. (Requested King but given standard) The patio was pretty cool to sit out on but BEWARE you can't see what is going on at street level(for people watching) Also beware of your surroundings on the patio as they are not private if there are people staying beside you and above you(our patio jutted out much farther than the balconies above us on the 4th floor.

Services--
Very nice to have a continental breakfast brought to your room and the ability to have it on the patio or in the room. Very basic breakfast (pastries, bagels, fruit, juice and coffee) as we went out one day for some hot eats. The breakfast was brought right on time at the beginning of the time slot requested. For example 9-930 it was brought right at 9am. Remember that when you pick your times....
Wine and cheese was a nice touch. The cookies at night were nice as well. Turn down was a mini praline from the chocolate shop at the bottom of the hotel.
If we needed anything, the staff was quick to respond.

From the bellmen to the housekeeping staff, everything was as expected for a hotel of this caliber. Again, location was IDEAL but it does come at a cost. We avg about $360 a night. The Romance package does include a GC to Tristan's which is inside but not affiliated with the FQI. It also comes with a bottle of Champagne and some LIndt truffles. You also get a GC to a private carriage tour. Minus those things, it still avgs over $300 a night so come prepared. (and that is considered 'low season')

Quickie on restaurants while we were there (out of 5 stars)
Hank's--* * *
Noisy Oyster--* **
Barbara Jean's (Mt Pleasant)--* * * *
Sette (MP)--* * * 1/2*
Magnolia's--* * * *
Joseph's (for breakfast)--* * * 1/2*
High Cotton--* * * * *
Tristan's--* * * * *

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn to celebrate your anniversary. We love being the choice for celebration. Our deepest apologies for the malfunction of the air conditioning system, this is not usually an issue for us. To ensure similar occurrences do not happen, we are conducting a preventative maintenance on all air conditioning systems. This should assist in avoiding this issue in the future.
Our Junior Suites with Terraces are our most popular room choice. The oversized room, spacious bathroom with Jacuzzi, fireplace, and large terrace allow for a very comfortable stay that does not depict a typical hotel room. All of our Junior Suites are fitted with two queen size beds as the room would appear too large for the furnishings with only one king size bed. Our King Business Suites with Balconies offer a king size bed, sitting area, computer with printer, copier, and fax machine, and a smaller Juliette balcony which is great for people watching and tends to be a little more private. For your next visit, I would recommend trying a King Business Suite with Balcony or even one of our King Full Suites with Balcony. We apologize that you were not satisfied with our mattress; most often we receive rave reviews about how comfortable our mattresses are. We will look into the mattress in your room to ensure it is to our standard.
We are pleased you enjoyed our services and our amenities throughout the hotel. We take pleasure in offering the little extras, like breakfast to your room and ensuring delivery is as requested and ensuring each request is responded to quickly by the staff.
The Just the Two of Us is a great package for a romantic getaway to Charleston and was a great choice for your anniversary. As March is the beginning of our high season, the prices are a little higher, especially for the suites. We apologize for any disappointments you experienced at the French Quarter Inn. Our goal is to provide excellent service, accommodations, and amenities to each guest. We do hope for your next trip to Charleston, you choose us again. Thank you for your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,755
    168
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
364
1,070
32
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

The Inn is very convenient to historic charleston. The staff was very helpful in giving directions and knowing schedules of special events. Our room was ample and big enough to acomodate a roll away. Beds were very comfortable and the pillow menu is a wonderful idea. The Inn has comfort and convenience in mind for its guests with all of the special touches -wine and cheese, hot cookies and milk, and a coffee and tea service available on each floor. We would definitely go back again.
The only criticism was that our room was still in the process of being cleaned at 3:00 in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Thank you for your lovely comments about the French Quarter Inn staff, our accommodations, and our great pillow menu. We are pleased you enjoyed all of our amenities and found them convenient. Our apologies for the room not being ready at 3 pm, very rarely is a room not ready upon arrival. We look forward to welcoming you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I've been waiting to get home and write my review every bit as much as I anticipated my stay at the French Quarter Inn. The check-in was smooth and receptionists nice although not terribly warm/welcoming. The champagne was offered, as other reviewers have said, but as an afterthought. I always ask for a room in a quiet location (away from elevator, pool, etc) and was given a room directly off the lobby so was not too thrilled right from the start but with my husband and 5-yr-old and all of our stuff, it was too much of a hassle to move. We had a 1-bedroom king suite and the living room was barely large enough to accommodate the sofa bed when folded out. The rooms are not spacious and look as if they have seen better days. My husband's comment when we folded out the sofa bed that night for our son was, "I'm glad I don't have to sleep on that." It had a very pronounced sag and anyone over about 40 lbs. would've had a long night!

But what really got me was the bathroom. The website talks about jacuzzi tubs and I called the hotel specifically to ask if the bathroom opens off of the bedroom and if it had separate shower and tub. I was assured "yes" on both counts. Both are false. The tub was old, small, mildewed (lots of it) and had the shower in it. Fine if that's what you're expecting, but for what we were paying . . . But the mildew was really the issue. I live in the south too and know that it's tough to keep it at bay, but I do it and they should too. It was gross and kept our shower times to a minimum.

Ok - the rest of it. We called 3 times to get sheets for the sofa bed, meaning our son was up waaaaay past bedtime. (I started calling at 4:15). When they finally came, they showed up with 1 blanket . . . no sheets, no pillow, as I'd asked for. Room service took over an hour. When I called to check on it (after an hour, which seemed reasonable), they told me that the items took a while to grill. An hour?? Then, when we finally got sheets and food delivered so that we could get the 5-yr-old in bed, we turned the light off in the living room and saw that there was a flame in the (gas) fireplace, even with it (fireplace) turned off. We called the desk to see if anyone could come and help with it . No. Of course, it didn't bother anyone that a 5-yr-old was sleeping in a room with an open flame. So, my husband ended up dismantling all the fake logs, figuring out how to turn the pilot light off and going to the desk to get a match from the hugely indifferent personnel there in order to test it.

The threadbare towels. The chipped, discordantly mismatched furniture. The dark living room (one 60-watt lamp??). The TV that you can only see from half of the bedroom. The dry croissants and muffins for breakfast. The M&Ms in the lobby were nice, but for that price, we'll pack our own. If you want a better value while still getting better services, go to a Hampton Inn. If you want a better experience, go somewhere else that really knows how to provide it. We will be back in Charleston in a month, but never, never at the French Quarter Inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
We are disappointed in ourselves as we were not able to meet your expectations for our services and accommodations. We would like to express our deepest apologies for your stay not being satisfactory. The moment your review was received we began looking into your reservation, seeing which staff members you interacted with, and we have inspected the room you occupied. Your reservation confirmed a One Bedroom King Suite, of which we have two in the hotel both 40 feet from the elevator. On the day of your arrival the only one available was located on the lobby level; therefore there was not an option to place you on a higher level, for which we apologize. With the limitation of only two suites in the hotel like this, room location requests are often difficult. But as our elevator does not share a wall with any room, elevator noise complaints are never received.
The living room areas of our One Bedroom King Suites are quiet smaller than many of our other spacious rooms. The area is just large enough to accommodate the pullout sofa, which many guests have found quiet comfortable. We regret the description of the room at the time of reservation did not properly paint the picture, causing your disappointment upon entering the room. We feel this miscommunication in the room description may have affected your expectations of a Jacuzzi tub and bathroom entry off of the bedroom. Each of our suites has the bathroom entrance in the hallway, so that it is easily accessible to those in the living room and in the bedroom. And Jacuzzi tubs are only in the Double Queen Junior Suites and One Bedroom Queen Suites. We again apologize for this misunderstanding.
All fireplaces in the hotel have a pilot light on at all times. This enables the wall switches to operate quickly when the fireplace is desired. Very rarely are we requested to switch off the pilot for a child’s safety. Of course as we desire each guest to be comfortable during there stay each member of the front desk has now been instructed on how to turn off the pilot. This will never be an issue again.
As we are in the process of upgrading our furniture, bathroom fixtures, and room amenities without compromising room availability, we have been exchanging pieces to enhance our French Urban Décor and offer all the modern amenities like 40” flat screen TVs, blu-ray/DVD players, in-room safes, mini-refrigerators, and new lighting. This change has caused some furniture pieces to be mismatched, but in due time all will come together to truly invoke French Urban Décor.
The executive housekeeper and I were in the room you occupied both two days before and the day after your departed. We did see two small mold spots stuck in the caulking of the tub. We have ordered an immediate removal of the caulking to insure the mold is removed. As for the sofa bed sheets, typically each of our sofa beds are pre-made with sheets and blanket, so that pillows are only required at turndown. As our turndown begins at 6 pm on the 3rd floor, normally ending around 9 pm on the 1st floor, we understand your bed was turndown too late for your son. At which time we discovered the sofa bed was not pre-made, requiring turndown service to take longer than anticipated and all items being requested not delivered. We have spoken with each member of housekeeping to ensure that all sofa beds are pre-made and when sofa bed turndown is requested, that pillows are delivered. The managers of Tristan Restaurant have been made aware of your disappointment in the timeliness of their services also.
We understand that a great deal of your stay at the French Quarter Inn was a disappointment to you and your family. For this we deeply apologize. Our team works diligently to ensure that each of our guests is able to have the dream stay and vacation in Charleston. When guests such as you have disappointing stays, we feel as if we have failed in our job requirements. We know our apologies are not enough, but we truly are sorry for your disappointing stay. We do hope you will give us another chance your next time in Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
de
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

wonderful hotel - would strongly recommend to all visiting historic Charleston area. Walking distance to downtown, shopping, Market area. Even able to walk to Ft. Sumpter ferry - less than 1 mile walk.

Cookies, milk & coffee every evening @ 8:30 a very nice touch. Afternoon wine also a nice offering.

Very clean & comfortable. Valet parking (car retrieval) was quick - minimal wait, but you'll only need car for plantation tours as its centrally loacted

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. We are pleased you found our location convenient, our amenities a nice touch, and valet parking quick. We take great pride ensuring each room is diligently clean and our furnishings are comfortable. We hope to see you for your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

fabulous inn - almost like a boutique hotel. Rooms are huge with fantastic bathrooms. Extra touches in the pralines on your bed each night after turndown and the champagne on arrival - could get used to that!!!
Location great - right on the market and walkable to most of charleston and literally minutes away from from some great restaurants.

Complimentary wine each evening creates great opportunity to catch up with other residents - very sociable!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 21, 2009
We do consider ourselves a boutique hotel, especially since we have 50 rooms. It’s the right size to ensure each guest receives personal service and plenty of options in room types. We are pleased you enjoyed the pralines, they are our favorite treat. Thank you for taking your time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We greatly appreciate your efforts and kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

Yes, you can choose from 7 pillows (down, foam, buckwheat, hypo-allergenic...). All sorts of food in the lobby and free continental breakfast - in your room. I can't say enough. We've been lucky enough to stay in a lot of fine hotels and if you take out location considerations (beachfront in Hawaii or cliffside in Costa Rica) I enjoyed this as much as anywhere.

Don't book without calling the front desk. They gave me a better deal than I found on-line. Room 311 rocks!

BTW - Our room had a blu-ray player (!) but we didn't know so we didn't bring disks nor did the front desk have any. This was disappointing since there weren't movie channels or video on demand.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2009
The French Quarter Inn desires to create an exceptional experience for each of our guests. In order to do that, we want to provide the best and most unique amenities we can. This includes the wonderful pillow menu that ensures each guest has the best night of sleep possible and a choice of more than the standard down pillow or hypoallergenic. We are so glad that you indulged yourself with one of our special pillows.
The blue-ray/DVD players, mini refrigerators, safes, and 40” flat screen TVs are all new to the hotel and we are in the process of installing them in each room. Therefore we have not been able to officially list them on our website, our apologies for that. We are gathering a collection of blue-ray and DVD discs that will be available in the lobby for your next visit.
Thank you for your wonderful review, we will see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2009

Wow! I was looking for a hotel for myself,husband and 2 "hard to please" teenage daughters that was in the middle of everything and I couldn't have chosen a better place. Once we parked our car (or had it parked which is what you have to do) we never used it again. Our girls went one way and we went the other and there was plenty to do---eat,shop,museums,sightsee.Our particular room was right overlooking the marketplace and the view and "people watching" was excellent. That night, we walked to Memminger Auditorium to see a play and we COULD have walked to the boat that takes you to Ft Sumpter but we did that on the way out of town. Once,we walked a little far and got bicycle cabs to ride us back (they are everywhere) for 4.50 a person---a bargain and fun.
If you are looking for a first class hotel in the heart of everything, please stay here---I havn't even mentioned the free snacks,wine&cheese and excellent service. My husband and I are going back to see some things we missed and wouldn't eveb consider anyplace else!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2009
We are very lucky to be in the heart of Charleston’s historic district. Our guests are able to easily walk to historical sites, great restaurants, shopping, and other area attractions. Of course walking all over Charleston can be exhausting and using the pedi-cabs is a smart and enjoyable way to get around. We are pleased you found our location ideal, enjoyed your ability to “people watch” from your room, and found our services excellent. Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and TravelClick so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.