We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Savings + Added Perks
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Warm & Cosy! Walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Knowledgeable staff, beautiful rooms, great breakfast, cheese & wine reception beautifully presented each night. Smiley housekeepers....etc...

Room Tip: Third floor is the best. Ask a room with a view or balcony.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle plastic and paper. There is a little bin in bathroom.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Loulou0613,

I hope all is well down in sunny Florida! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,648
    157
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
337
999
28
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our first visit to Charleston and the French Quarter Inn was just wonderful. The General Manager, Brent Gresham personally went over and beyond to help make my husband's birthday special. Ms. Gresham personally helped me with some celebration ideas. The Inn and the accommodations were just lovely. The housekeeping staff was extremely attentive. Trayvon and Will, were so kind, friendly, professional and helpful when we needed assistance with our luggage, car and directions. We will definitely stay at the French Quarter Inn the next time we visit Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Spanky2015,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, and I thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Treyvon and Will both say hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I can not say enough wonderful things about this hotel! The staff are incredibly thoughtful, friendly and eager to help with any requests. Our room was luxurious and roomy, yet with a cozy feel. It had access to a beautiful private terrace with excellent views of market street. Hotel location is central to everything in the heart of Charleston. We were celebrating our 23rd anniversary and can not wait to find an excuse to come back again before our next anniversary. If you are looking for southern charm and excellence in a hotel stay this is the place!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Dana P,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A fantastic Inn located right in the heart of everything! Very helpful staff. Greeted with champagne after leaving our car with valet. No struggle with luggage, which was delivered into our room within a half hour. Lovely clean room with gas fireplace conveniently located on the same floor as wine and cheese reception and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Cecil W,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful Punta Gorda!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
262 helpful votes 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Comfortable place to stay. Valet parking was efficient, and pricing on par with similar properties. The location is very good, and easy walk to all major sites in Charleston, right next to the market. We were kindly upgraded as it was my birthday, and had a quiet comfortable room on the top floor. We chose to have breakfast brought to our room each morning (why wouldn't you?!) and it was fresh, generous and lovely ingredients - don't miss the bruleed graprefuit! The cool drinks available in the lobby all day were welcome, and the evening wine and cheese was a good selection of food. We elected to have more of the champagne from reception rather than the wines on offer, and they happily accommodated this. Ask and you will receive here! All in all a quality place to stay. We did find the decor to be a little more corporate hotel style rather than "traditional" or cosy style hotel, but this is a minor point and matches the photographs on the website now that we look at it after staying. A very good option in Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear tal27,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful London! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Absolutely fabulous location! Right next to Charleston Market and a short walk to the Battery, Rainbow Row etc. The staff were very helpful, the rooms clean and quiet apart from around 5.30 am on our side when the garbage van reversed into the street! The breakfast was fine. Lots of nice touches - the coffee brought to each floor at 6.00 am, drinks and snacks each evening in the lobby and the valet parking was very good. Concierge arranged lots for us and were very informative and helpful. As for Charleston - what's not to like! Well, maybe a bit hot and humid in July for us Brits(!) but lots to see - Magnolia Plantation was superb, Patriots Point and Fort Sumter trips - not to mention historic district itself.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room facing the street where the garbage vans come at about 5.30 every morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear mag6699,

I hope y'all are well "across the pond!" I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tool, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We recently stayed a weekend at this beautiful hotel and felt like we were the most special guests! The facility is in a great location, close enough to walk to restaurants and shopping. The construction next door was never loud or bothersome. The room was spacious and well furnished. Not only did they greet us with champagne, offer us warm cookies in the evening, and tended to our every need before we needed it, but they greeted us by name from the first moment we arrived to our parting. Very gracious and friendly, but never pretentious or sappy. Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Lisa C,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. I hope y'all are doing well back home in the GREAT and beautiful state of Texas!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.