We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place For Our Mini-Moon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Break-Away Dates
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Place For Our Mini-Moon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I visited Charleston for our mini-moon right after we got married and spent 3 nights at the French Quarter Inn. We loved everything about it! They truly know the meaning of southern hospitality. As soon as we arrived, Jenny, behind the front desk, greeted us with champagne and upgraded our room. She was wonderful throughout our entire stay and made us feel so welcome. Our favorite part of each day was the complementary cocktail hour, which includes a delicious selection of meats, cheeses, olives, breads and of course, wine! The continental breakfast was also great - with a large variety of choices. The hotel is in a great location, we walked everywhere. We also really enjoyed using the bikes that the hotel offers to guests and bicycling around the city. We will definitely stay at the French Quarter Inn during our next trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear jamaes22,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful Massachusetts! I thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion, and I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Also, Jenny says hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,743
    165
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
358
1,063
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Upon checking into the French Quarter Inn, we were offered champagne while the receptionist complete the paperwork...and so this is the beginning of what southern hospitality really means in Charleston! There was 24/7 hot coffee, tea, and water in the lobby--even on the second floor. Breakfast included a great variety of fruits, quiche, breads, yogurt, salumi and sweets. We ate in the courtyard under shady umbrellas but the lobby was well appointed with comfortable and period furnishings. But what sets this inn apart from others is not only its exemplary service but also the immaculately appointed large rooms. Although our room was overlooking the marketplace, we did not hear the noise. The air conditioner was almost noiseless. I looked forward to "coming home" after a day of tours!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny,. Although the parking fee was $22 a day, it was well worth it bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear ToishanNui,

I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful San Fransisco! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

While we were thrilled the first night of our stay, we were disappointed after that. Turn down service was so nice the first night - didn't exist the second night. Concierge couldn't recommend what to see and do in the city. Asked for pillows and they were thrown on the bed. No new ice, no new glasses - for close to $500 a night I expect much better. Will check out other properties next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear beachlover11702,

I hope you are doing well back home in New York! I am delighted to read that y'all enjoy most of your stay with us, but as you can imagine, I am disappointed you experienced some service failures during your visit with us. I sincerely apologize we did not deliver a perfect experience. I do wish that my team had the opportunity to recover from these mishaps as I know we could have rebuilt your trust in our services. As a frequent traveler myself, I understand that failures do occur in establishments relying predominantly on human labor, and I always strive to give the establishment the opportunity first to resolve the maters in which I experienced. What sets us apart from our competitors is that when a failure does occur, which it will no matter the establishment in any sector of business, we respond passionately and authentically so that you have trust in us that we do truly care about our guests and their loved ones. As you may know from our awards and guest accolades, we pride ourselves on exceptional service, so for my team not to have the opportunity to recover from this before you publicly voice your experience and disservice our earned reputation, it is that in which I am deeply disappointed about. Nevertheless, I thank you for informing us of our failures, and we do take these matters seriously, and I promise you we will investigate these matters so that a guest of our Inn may never experience less than perfection. If you feel the need to discuss this matter over the phone, please feel free to call me at 843.724.4340. I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can prove to you our commitment to excellence.

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

French Quarter Inn has an excellent location adjacent to Market Street and close to many restaurants, shopping and activities. Upon arrival, Mark (bellhop?) immediately created us and inquired our names and from that point onward, we were greeted personally with his contagious smile. Extremely prompt check in with a run down of services. Continental breakfast is amazing with fresh fruit, several juices, pastries, etc...The staff was always very friendly and eager to assist in any way possible. The room was lovely and cozy; truly the most comfortable beds we have slept on that were in competition with our beds at home! The bathroom was enormous with great shower. Can you believe they offer cookies and milk to their customers at night? Adorable! We will definitely be coming back again...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Hroudarooter,

I hope all is well back in our beautiful sister-state! Wow...I thank you for such high praises! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! Mark insists that I tell y'all he says hello too! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I cannot agree more with the other reviewers, This hotel is really excellent. Elegant, extreme care in every details, great location.
Rooms are on the small side, but everything is there and above all they very clean and quiet. The bed is really comfortable and we had a good sleep. Big bathroom, with great shower.
Very good breakfast in the patio. The wine-and-cheese reception is in fact a truly rich Italian style aperitive, with a wide selection of nibbles. Memorable cookies and milk or Port and chocolate pralines before going to bed.
The only regret is that we stayed only for one night. But hopefully we will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear arancia,

I hope you are having a wonderful evening back home in beautiful Belgium! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities. Hopefully when y'all return, maybe y'all can stay a few more nights!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Tx
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed at the French Quarter over Memorial Day weekend. A first class place all the way and well deserving of its high ranking on TA. It is well located just a block off Market Street and two blocks from Meeting Street. Many excellent restaurants and King Street shopping are within walking distance. We had a deluxe king room which was spacious with a large bathroom, marble shower, and the most comfortable king bed ever. Extras included at this hotel were a daily afternoon wine and cheese service and breakfast every morning—serve yourself in the lobby or have it brought to your room. The staff was always helpful with suggestions and directions. Overall an excellent experience and a good choice for your Charleston stay. It is pricey, but if you take advantage of all the amenities, worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms were generally quiet--if you want absolute quiet ask for a room away from the street. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear TexTraveling,

I hope you are doing well back home in the GREAT state of Texas! I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went to Charleston for a wedding and was thrilled to stay at this lovely place. The staff was very friendly and the room was great. The location is perfect. We were in walking distance to everything. The amenities were incredible-champagne check in; wine and cheese in the evening; continental breakfast in the morning; homemade cookies and port at bedtime. Who can argue with all of that? Awesome place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Pamela M,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit with us, and I hope y'all are doing well back home in beautiful Pennsylvania! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn. We also thank you for helping us to spread the word to other travelers about our renowned service and amenities.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family. We look forward to serving you again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.