We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European charm with southern hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Break-Away Dates
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“European charm with southern hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

The French Quarter Inn was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had - and that includes extensive travel both domestic and international. From the initial telephone conversation at booking to our leavetaking, the experience was excellent. The front desk is knowledgeable, friendly, and offered services above and beyond. Housekeeping - excellent., all the extra perks like the wine and cheese and cookies and milk, not to mention the pralines on our pillow every night- excellent. Highly recommended - would not even consider staying anywhere else in Charleston.

  • Liked — Charm and amenities
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2008
We are overjoyed you had such a wonderful experience with us for your vacation. Thank you for the lovely compliments of our staff and amenities. We strive to be the best and are extremely pleased we were able to make your stay at the French Quarter Inn your best experience. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,741
    164
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
357
1,061
30
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2008

I just spend 2 nights at the French Quarter Inn and the experience could not have been better!

What a lovely location with many unexpected perks. Champagne
on arrival, a nice wine and cheese reception in the afternoon, cookies and milk in the lobby in the evening and a wonderful breakfast selection as well.

The room was very comfy, clean and a pleasure to come back to after a long day of touring. The hotel staff was excellent, right down to the great valet parkers.

I would recommend this hotel to all and would not hesitate to go back on my next trip to Charleston.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. We are pleased your experience with us couldn’t have been better and that you were able to enjoy our unexpected perks. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

My wife and I decided to go away on a romantic and relaxing vacation to Charleston, SC for a few days (August 7 - 10, 2008). We stayed in Charleston two years ago at the Reinassance Hotel (see my review). This time I wanted to stay at the best-of-the-best and found this hotel based upon everyone's recommendations here on tripadvisor.com. I booked the "Just the 2 of Us" package and a 1 bedroom suite for the week. I was not impressed at all with the staff, the hotel scene, the elegance, etc. My wife and I had our hopes that this hotel would live up to the expectations that everyone on tripadvisor said it would, but I just didn't see it. Yes, the hotel is in a great location and is very quiet at night. Our room was located on the 2nd floor (room 201), which quiet frankly needs to be renovated. The drywall was cracked and the wallpaper was dirty (in the bedroom over the armoire and over the fireplace). The bathroom floor was out-of-date and the sink in the bathroom was nothing fancy - no marble or fancy tile of any sort. The tub needed to be re-caulked as pieces of caulk were peeling off. The one bedroom suite is not work the extra money. The only difference from the one bedroom suite and a oversize king room is that their is a tiny sitting area - not work the extra $100 + tax a night. Check-in went smoothly and everything that I was suppose to get I got without asking, except that the young lady did not hand me the champagne to my wife and I - I had to ask here for it. She did not voluntarily offer me a glass of champagne. The champagne they serve to you is what the White House has been serving from years, which only some of the staff knew the story. Also upon arrival their were not valet to be seen. These guys are young college kids working at this hotel. Recommendations for restaurants was kind of hard to get from the staff. When I asked for the most finest dining around, they were cautioned to suggest anything expensive (eventhough I am paying $400 + a night). When they did suggest Charleston Grill and Circa 1886 and I told them that I want reservations at these two places, they commented on the fact on how I could afford such places and questioned what I did for a living! Overall, Charleston has changed in the last two years since my wife and I been their. It actually has gone down-hill and service is not great and grand as it use to be. Their are a lot more college kids and a bigger partying scene now. The question is will I be back at this hotel, and the answer is probably not. Their are other hotels and bed-and-breakfasts in Charleston that reasonable and offer much more elegance and professionalism than what I experienced at the FQI.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Pool, Unprofessional Staff, Dirty Room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2008
We are glad that our previous guest’s reviews assisted you in choosing the French Quarter Inn for your romantic vacation, but we are disappointed we were not able to live up to your expectations and would like to express our apologies for your unsatisfactory stay. We are shocked you found the room inadequate, the staff unimpressive, and the elegance lacking. We take great pride in offering exceptional service, comfortable accommodations, and a home away from home atmosphere; unfortunately it appears our efforts were not up to par in your case and for that we are deeply remorseful. Our apologies for the absent valet upon your arrival, not offering you a welcoming glass of champagne, and the difficulties you felt with receiving restaurant recommendations.
The hotel has just surpassed six years of operation and therefore we are currently completing renovations to include all new furniture, flat screen TV’s, in-room safes, mini refrigerators, granite counter tops in the bathrooms to coordinate with the original black and white tile, curved shower rods, towel racks, curtains, and wall coverings. We hope to enhance the French Urban décor and keep with the traditional elegance the French Quarter Inn is known for. We wish our apologies were enough to compensate for your inconvenience and hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

We were tired and it was pouring rain when we arrived in Charleston. It was so nice to pull into this attractive hotel entrance and have a friendly valet take care of our car and all of our luggage. We instantly felt relaxed. We checked in with an extremely friendly person who gave great advise about touring the city. He gave us each a glass of "welcome" champage - wow, what a nice touch. They have candies and various iced teas available all day and a continental breakfast in the morning and a wine and cheese hour in the afternoon. The hotel is so elegant and the lobby is a beautiful place to enjoy the wine hour. We loved our room. High (10'?) ceilings and ceiling fan plus antique furniture made it a nice place to relax. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return. The location is perfect- right in the heart of the historic district.

  • Liked — the elegant furnishings and the friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2008
We understand the frustrations of driving in Charleston, especially in the rain, we are glad you arrived safely and were pleasantly greeted, able to relax instantly, and enjoy our welcoming champagne. Our goal is to be able to instantly create the vacation experience from the moment of arrival, the friendly valets, knowledgeable front desk agents, and champagne all play their parts to make this goal successful. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to indulge you with our amenities and hotel. We can’t wait to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Ga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

The French Quarter Inn was a great hotel. The service was very good. The rooms and bathrooms were also quite nice. The location is well located, right at the market and within walking distance to most of downtown Charleston. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2008
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the French Quarter Inn. We are pleased you found our rooms and bathrooms accommodating and were able to enjoy the benefits of a great location. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed in Charleston on the last leg of a 3 city trip. After driving 8 hours we checked in to this lovely inn and were immediately handed a glass of champagne. We chose this place after much recommendation from this site and others. We couldn't have been better spoiled. Frank at the desk offered wonderful suggestions, the staff knew us and were constantly impressing us. They out -Ritzed the Ritz Carltons by miles. If we had one complaint it was that the room had no closets but it was a minor detail. After our stay they emailed us to thank us; a very nice touch. We will definately go back.

  • Liked — Location and Service
  • Disliked — Lack of storage space and the breakfast could have been more varied
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2008
It is a great honor to have “out-Ritzed the Ritz Carltons,” thank you for such a gracious compliment. We are pleased you felt spoiled, enjoyed Frank’s suggestions, and that we were able to impress you. Our rooms lacking closets is a complaint we have received before, therefore this winter we will be replacing our current armoires with larger armoires that will include three sections, a full length hanging space, a TV cabinet with drawers, and a shorter hanging space with a safe and a mini refrigerator. We hope to welcome you back after this change is made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

I made last minute reservations for one night, two rooms. We had originally booked in Summerville, because FQI had a 3 night minimum for our date. However, I checked online about 3 days prior to our departure and they had 2 queen standard rooms available for one night. I had a feeling that might drop the minimum stay closer to our arrival.

Valet was easy although the drop-off can be a little tight if other SUVs in the lane (no problem though). Check-in was great - very friendly. We declined the champagne and lady fingers as we were tired from the long drive from TN. The wine and cheese was very nice. We liked having the wine poured for us rather than the serve yourself variety. The lobby is very accomodating for sitting and conversing, which we did quite a bit of! Lots of coffee, cookies and milk that evening to enjoy :)

The rooms were very nice. Simple, but clean with comfortable beds. Nice Gilchrist & Soames toiletries and plenty of towels. Room was quiet - never heard a peep even with a few children on our floor. Front desk was very accomodating with a late check-out on a busy Saturday morning. However, due to the rain we checked out on time and headed to our rented beach house.

We loved the FQI and the location. We will definitely stay here on our way to the beach in the future and for any other visits to Charleston!

  • Liked — Location, service, all the goodies!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2008
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent stay. We are pleased you found the hotel enjoyable, the staff friendly, and were able to partake in our wine and cheese. We look forward to welcoming you again before your next trip to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick and Hotels.com so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.