We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond 5 Star Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Save Saved
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #1 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Beyond 5 Star Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Wow! From the moment we pulled in to our check out this place was incredible! They really go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable. From the afternoon wine/cheese reception to the late night cookies, to the fun movie food selection if you'd like to stay in your room. The bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was huge, we really appreciated the hair dryer in the room as we got stuck in a huge rain storm and needed to dry our clothes :) They even offer complimentary umbrellas. Great location, great service. This was my first visit to Charleston and we will be back and we will stay at the French Quarter Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Lisa18,

Let me first start by saying--Wow! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I also want to thank you for sharing such wonderful pictures, and I hope all is well over in Atlanta!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,413
    145
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
281
854
23
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is our third time staying at the FrenchQuarter Inn, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Charleston. Centrally located, most of the best restaurants in what must be the Best Restaurant City in America are within easy walking distance (including FIG, Blossom, McCrady's, HUSK, Magnolias, Peninsula Grill, etc.). From the chek-in greeting with champaigne to the delightful continental breakfast, from the quiet and elegant rooms to the outstanding customer service, this is a hotel that truly lives up to its setting. Speaking of customer service, special kudos were earned by Mike and Darryl at the front desk for making extra efforts to ensure that we had an outstanding visit To Charleston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear William M,

Let me first begin by saying that we all thank you for the camaraderie to our Inn! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Also, Mike and Daryl both say hello!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

On our first trip to Charleston we stayed here and wish it could have been for more than just one night! Location is perfect - walk to everything. Staff is extremely professional and delightful. A wonderful place to stay that makes you feel like royalty right from the beginning. At checkin we were offered a chilled glass of champagne, wine & cheese later in the afternoon, cookies, milk and Port before bedtime.....and their idea of continental breakfast is amazing. They even offer champagne at breakfast for mimosas. It is truly an upscale hotel. We were there with our two teenage daughters in a Jr. Suite, which was an extremely large hotel room and the bathroom was almost as big as most ordinary hotel rooms! Will definitely come back here....

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the straw market. The front desk clerks are extremely h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear MimiGnc,

I hope you travels back to beautiful Cary were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our third visit in the past two years to our favorite hotel, and we are just so impressed by the attention to detail as well as the continuous improvements. My husband and I travel often and always try to stay at Four Seasons, St. Regis or small independent hotels that know sincerity. Customer service is one of the biggest highlights at The French Quarter as staff ALWAYS smiles and knows you by name (how do they all know our name)! We LOVE this place!!! Not only other hotels can learn from this place, but any business needs to come and take notes. See you all in Fall!

Room Tip: 220 has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Elizabeth W,

I hope all is well in beautiful Saluda (one of my favorite mountain towns)! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Yes ma'am, we take pride in knowing all of our guests' names...it is what we do!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I would definitely recommend staying here. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our anniversary. We both loved the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean. The hotel is in a great location. We were able to walk everywhere. I really enjoyed that breakfast could be eaten downstairs or be delivered to your room. Also, the champagne on arrival, the wine and cheese in the evening and the cookies and milk were nice added bonuses. I hope to visit Charleston again and stay at the French Quarter Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear cdhattn,

I thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such a special occasion! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My Family And I Stayed Here For Several Days. The Location Was Great And The Staff Was Very Polite And friendly to say the least. The service manager on his own time went and bought gluten and dairy free products for my wife which was an added bonus. Charleston is an excellent place with great American history . I would recommend this place to get the complete Southern charm experience .

Room Tip: will usually upgrade you at no cost if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear tina p,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a wonderful two night stay at the French Quarter Inn. My boyfriend booked the executive king suite with terrace and we loved our room (310)! It had a great view from the terrace. And you could hear the church bells from the room. From beginning to end, I felt like I was being spoiled by all the included extras like the welcome champagne, 5pm wine and cheese hour, late night milk and cookies, and port! And then when you wake up, you get a complimentary gourmet breakfast. One morning we had breakfast on the lobby patio and the other morning we had it delivered to the room. If you go downstairs, there is more variety than ordering it to your room. Plus they have champagne downstairs so you can make mimosas. I love the little touches like that curly orange rind on the champagne flute they give you. Or the mason jars they provide for the all day peach tea and lemonade service. They even place the coffee and tea service on each floor in the morning so you don't have to walk more than a few steps for your morning beverage. Let's not forget the sweet treats they leave in your room during turndown.

They also have bikes available for use but we didn't have a chance to take advantage. We did borrow a big umbrella since it was raining almost the whole time which came in handy. They also have beach towels available to borrow - you just have to sign a waiver. I personally found the bed a bit too soft but I do like my mattresses very firm. The location of the inn is great. Perfect for a stroll to King Street for some shopping and the open air market is steps from the inn. We rented a car for the trip and the valet service was generally quick. We loved our stay at the French Quarter Inn. It's no wonder why this inn was on Conde Nast's list of top ten hotels in the US. Now I'm home and missing wine and cheese hour. It's definitely a splurge to stay here but you feel pampered the entire time. The service is simply excellent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear penguin80,

I hope your travels back to beautiful Virginia were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Also, thank you for such an informative review as well as sharing such wonderful pictures!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.