We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Break-Away Dates
Ranked #2 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by the car valet which helped us with our luggage as we checked in at the front desk. We were offered champagne and/or refreshments (lemonade, ice water, tea, cookies, etc.) The room we stayed in had double beds, nightstands, table with 2 chairs, entertainment center that included mini fridge, etc. The decor was very nice and everything was clean. The bathroom was roomy and very clean. Adjustable lighted makeup magnifying mirror, very nice soaps and small shampoo/cond. The only problem we had during our stay was that around 2 a.m. some loud people outside the rooms in the hallway. Otherwise the room was quiet with minimal noises heard from other rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed our complimentary amenities and that you found your room to be pleasing! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope your travels back to beautiful Greensboro were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    164
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
356
1,056
30
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pensacola, florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A right sized, comfortable hotel. We stayed in a well furnished room, comfortable beds, good ventilation, nice spacious bathroom. Good light buffet breakfast,also liked the coffee and cookies at night in the second floor lounge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary amenities! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well back in sunny Florida!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and the service was excellent. Initially they put us in a room that was extremely tiny. My husband and I are big people and I felt like we couldn't turn around in the room. There wasn't any place to put our luggage - it was small. We ask the bellman to help us and he came back with they keys to a larger room on a higher floor. The new room was just lovely - just a "LITTLE" larger but better than the first. The bathroom had a magnifying mirror and two hairdryers with plenty of fluffy towels. The bed was very comfortable. They served a wonderful breakfast and afternoon tea with cheese and crackers and fruit. There was a nice courtyard to eat outside. It is centrally located and you can easily walk to so many of the sights.

Room Tip: Please ask about the room size because the rooms on the 1st fl. are very small. If you don't mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are so glad that we were able to have you stay in a room to your liking and that you had such a great stay! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Front desk employees seem befuddled; valets lack finesse. Asked front desk for assistance with restaurant reservations but they were never able to secure a spot at any of the top restaurants. I called restaurants directly and had no problem obtaining reservations. Valet left pricey luggage unattended. When I asked valet for pedi-cab, I was handed a card so I could call for one! At $500+/night, one expects better service. Spacious guest room - nice sitting area with fireplace; large balcony off bedroom overlooking market. It would have been nice to have an umbrella or some type of awning to sit under. Beds were very comfortable, but sheets should be pressed. Carpeting leading into bathroom was torn/shredded-should be repaired. Overall nice boutique hotel with European feel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your candid review. While we are saddened that you did not experience our typical high level of service, we will use your comments as training tool to continually improve ourselves. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your review about our charming inn. We hope your travels back to beautiful San Diego were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here based on my trust in TripAdvisor and it was even better than expected. The service here at the FQI is spot on as well as the location right in the market area close to everything you want to do in Charleston. We were lucky to get in on late notice and had a junior suite and were royally treated. There is a very nice wine and cheese reception, a nice breakfast was bought to our room each morning when we wanted, very good coffee and tea all day any time. Staff always ready to assist with anything. I left feeling like this staff would have done anything we wanted. They were remarkable in all ways. There are so many great places to stay in this town but we are likely to be back here very soon. Very nicely done.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are thrilled you felt like royalty while staying with us and that you enjoyed your time with our staff and our complimentary amenities! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well back in lovely Kentucky!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

In forty years of traveling many places, and staying in many outstanding hotels, who would have thought we would find such a lovely hotel so close to home? We live three hours away from Charleston, and have stayed in practically every hotel in that city. Never have we been treated so much like a treasured friend as we were treated by the lovely staff at the French Quarter. From the arrival and check in (with Michelle handing us glasses of champagne), to the spacious, beautiful, comfortable room, every experience through our two day stay was quite amazing. Due to our schedule, we missed the complimentary afternoon wine and cheese, and the evening (complimentary) port and cookies. When we came in late, Michelle had a tray of cookies and port ready for us!!! The next day, when I mentioned that I was sorry to miss the wine and cheese, Glori (I do hope I have this sweet girl's name right), prepared a lovely tray for us to enjoy on the balcony, overlooking the city skyline at dusk. The breakfast was quite nice, with homemade quiche, cheeses and meats, an array of breads, and fruit...very classy and delicious, and enjoyed on a private flower filled deck. We had to leave early the last day, before breakfast was available. The hotel arranged not only a box of food (enough for maybe three breakfast meals), but we received a call at 5:50 a.m asking us if the food was to our liking....when have I EVER received such a call? If you are in Charleston, please make a point of staying at this lovely hotel. I can't say enough good things about it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
It is always wonderful to hear how our team goes above and beyond to make sure our guests are having the best stay possible! Michelle and Glori are true assets to our team. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope your travels back to beautiful Greenville were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our last 2 vacations were first class trips to China and Europe and we believe the French Quarter Inn is truly a world-class place! You can't beat the location, walking distance to the carriage rides, excellent eateries, (FIG, Magnolias, Dixie Bakery) the market, and sites. However, what sets the French Quarter Inn apart is the genuine spirit of Southern hospitality that exudes from the staff. From Michelle, who checked us in, and volunteered to give us restaurant reservations and print our boarding pass, to Will, who always called us by name when we picked up our car, to Phillip, who cheerfully restocked the delicious treats that were served at breakfast, in the afternoon, and at night, to Faith, who made sure we had a special photo to take home to California, this was a place that made us feel like we were VIPs. Happy guests = happy trips!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We are elated that you had such a terrific stay and that you were able to enjoy our Southern Hospitality. We are so lucky to have Michelle, Will, Philip and Faith as part of our team. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well back in sunny California!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.