We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality at its finest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Save Saved
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #1 of 54 hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely, gracious hotel, in a great location. We enjoyed the welcoming staff, always ready to help with directions or suggestions. We had a lovely, large room with a balcony and a fireplace. Huge bathroom with plenty of light, separate bath and shower. The rooms were very clean. The welcome champagne , cookies and milk in the evening, and lovely Continental breakfast added to the experience. Can't go wrong here

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed a taste of Southern Hospitality with us as well as our extra special touches during your stay. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well in lovely Canada!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,399
    141
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
275
844
23
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham,NH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The management of this hotel has thought of everything and the staff delivers with intelligence, grace and a smile. I have stayed in a lot of lovely hotels, but after experiencing the French Quarter Inn, everything will be compared to it. The hotel's design and architecture are beautiful. Loved the healthy and full-of-choices breakfast, afternoon wine and cheese, and cookies and port in the evening. Little touches like the M&M's and jelly beans were appreciated. The room was lovely, with high-end sheets, towels and bath products. Special thanks to Michelle, Gloria and Phillip for making my stay very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are glad that we are now the bar to which you measure all other hotels! We are so glad you enjoyed speaking with Michelle, Glori and Phillip; they are true gems on our team. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope your travels back to beautiful New Hampshire were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to Charleston to celebrate our Mother's 80th birthday before the heat of summer. We choose to stay at the French Quarter hotel based on my sister's previous two stays there. I must say it was well worth every penny! The service at this hotel is fantastic, the staff is very attentive ,accommodating, and very friendly. This happens from the time you are greeted until you depart to head to your next destination.
The one drawback that seems to be common in several Charleston hotels, is no pool or gym. However, Charleston is such a flat city, you can go for a run or walk along the battery or go to the gym within a 10 min walk for $15 a day if you're really pressed to go to a gym.
The daily Continental breakfast, wine reception, and milk and warm cookies in the evening are stellar. I highly recommend the Oatmeal & Raisin or White Chocolate chip Macadamia nut cookies. The room and the bathroom were large and was shared with four people. We had no problems with space. The location to Market is a sneeze away, it is literally right around the corner. Not to mention you're within walking distance to great places to eat along East Bay St. and the rest of the French Quarter.
The French Quarter definitely deserves the #1 ranking for the best hotel in Charleston for a reason, so go ahead and book your stay there, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Market, It closes around 5-6 p.m. so it won't keep you up late at night, but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We are elated that we were able to be part of such a joyous occasion! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well back in lovely Maryland!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited for 2 nights when making my first visit to Charleston. Stayed in a beautiful room (with a Juliet balcony) overlooking Meeting Street. I loved the location- everything we wanted to see and do was within walking distance. The service was top notch from the reception desk, to the person who delivered our breakfast tray, to housekeeping & the valets. Everyone we met was friendly and professional. Some amenities, include: champagne upon check-in, wine & cheese reception in the late afternoon, and cookies & milk in the evening. There is also a lovely breakfast that can be enjoyed on the terrace, in the common areas, or in your room. I felt so special during my stay. What a treat! The place is pricey, but I think worth it if you want a great locale and a memorable place to stay. Now, the cons for me were: the daily fee for parking your car and the fact that the sheets on one of the beds in our suite were well worn. For the parking/valet fee: I think it is ridiculous to charge a fee when you are a paying guest at a place. I would rather you up the room charges, and include one car per room, and not have the guests feel like they are being charged for something that should be included. For the sheets: everything was clean, but the sheets had seen lots of wear. When I'm paying $ to stay somewhere, I expect quality. I wouldn't have used these sheets for guests in my home.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are delighted that you chose to stay with us at the French Quarter Inn for your first trip to Charleston! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We appreciate your constructive notes about how to continually improve ourselves for your next stay. We hope your travels back to beautiful Maple Grove were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My sister and I recently visited the charming city of Charleston, SC. We selected the French Quarter Inn based on great reviews and it was recently rated in the top 20 hotels in the USA. Well there is a reason for that...it was fabulous! From the moment we made the reservation directly to the Hotel with Faith at the Front Desk to sadly checking out of the Hotel with Jenny at the Front Desk everything was perfect. The various food and beverage presentations throughout the day were always plentiful and tasty. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. We were in a Queen Suite with Terrace. We could have hosted 20 people on the terrace. The fireplace was lovely. A wonderful surprise was the full coffee/tea service set up on our floor each morning so we could have that while getting ready to go to the breakfast. They will deliver the breakfast for no additional charge to your room as well but we did not try that, but I'm sure it was also wonderful. So much to see and you can walk to just about anything you need. We are already planning our next trip to The French Quarter Inn and highly recommend it to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are ecstatic that you and your sister had a great trip to Charleston and that the French Quarter Inn was part of it! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Thank you for your kind words about Fait and Jenny, they are great members of our team. We hope your travels back to beautiful Fort Worth were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We usually don't treat ourselves to the very best hotels but since we were staying just 2 nights it was the perfect chance to experience the best and it was the best. The hotel is smaller in size-
we had a basic spacious room with a beautiful bathroom. It's the "little things" that make this hotel special. The super thick bath towels, buttery soft bath mats, 7 types of pillows to choose from, a wine and cheese reception every night along with a cookie and port wine reception later on. The included breakfast was wonderful whether you go downstairs to the lobby or order room service (delivered with fresh flowers) . Complimentary rental bikes right there made spur of the moment biking easy and so much fun. The only thing this hotel lacked was a fitness center which I would have used. I highly recommend this hotel located in the heart of the historic district.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed all of our extra special touches from the pillow menu to our complimentary bikes! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope all is well back in beautiful Pennsylvania!
Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for a getaway weekend and were not disappointed. Fabulous location wonderful room and very hospitable staff. Opulent but with a charm that made you feel at home. From this location everything is a close walk. The market, the Warf and restaurants on East Bay.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are thrilled that we were able to make you feel at home at the French Quarter Inn while on your weekend getaway! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope your travels back to beautiful Calgary were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.