We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Break-Away Dates
Ranked #1 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
N. Syracuse
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The French Quarter Inn was the last stop for us on what was a three state, three week road trip. It was also the very best of all the hotels we stayed in. Not that the other hotels were bad this one was just a step above. We were there for three nights - April 7, 8 and 9. The hotel is lovely - it is quaint and superbly maintained. It is in a great location making it easy to see most of Historic Charleston by walking. Our room was lovely. It was located on the second floor and was a suite. It had a bedroom, bathroom and sitting room with a working fireplace. Our balcony overlooked Church Street and had wonderful full sun in the afternoon. The room was immaculate and I could not have asked for a better bed. The staff at the hotel was could not have been nicer. Check-in was smooth and quick. The staff goes out of their to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. They will help with any reservations you need for any activities or dining reservations. If it is a first trip to Charleston, like it was ours, the staff could not have helped us more in planning what to do. They have a small breakfast buffet in the morning - which includes a selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, Danish, juices and several other items. There is a happy hour (wine and a variety of cheese, meats and other appetizers) in the late afternoon and cookies and milk at bedtime - all of which is included. All the food offered it fresh and well prepared. There is always coffee and tea available. In the afternoon they have urns containing tea, lemonade and flavored water available for the guests as well. We were more than surprised when upon returning from dinner the first evening we had a basket in our room. The basket had a number of local products for us to try and several tickets for things to do within the area. What a nice thing to do. This hotel is wonderful - it is a jewel. I can't wait to stay there again. We did have a little trouble finding the hotel as the main entrance is actually on a side street and not Church - but I guess the town told them their address had to be 166 Church - so you might want to check for a more accurate address location for your GPS when driving in. Also - I believe you also have to pay for parking but I had booked a package where parking was included so I did not have to worry about it for the first two nights only the last night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Susan V,

Wow - thank you! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words and highly detailed review about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,741
    164
    30
    9
    4
See reviews for
357
1,061
30
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This semi-boutique hotel offers many lovely touches, from free bikes for rent to afternoon happy hour with delicious lemonade and a mix of wines. The lobby vibe is relaxed and the backyard garden with small fountain is sweet. Front desk and valet personnel are kind and in-the-know and will help with everything from locating a great gospel choir to suggesting restaurants. A bottle of fine sparkling champagne awaited me on my birthday evening in the room. But the mushy beds were a big disappointment because we'd asked several times before booking about bed quality and were told the made-to-order bed packages for all rooms were new and high-end. They're not. The rooms, though spacious, have an odd feel owing to small windows, spartan wall decor and old (not antique) unmemorable furniture. For $440 a night, we expected more. One can do better in Charleston at this price point.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear EmilyMartha,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I am sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction regarding your accommodations. In May, we updated all of our box springs to offer more bedding support, and this winter we plan to update many of the furnishings. I hope you are able to visit with us again in the future to see the many enhancements.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My wife and I spent the night here at the French Quarter for our 3 year anniversary, and it was well worth the stay. You get champaign when you check-in, they have unlimited wine, crackers, and cheese in the evening, and then cookies and milk later in the night. The rooms and bed are fantastic! Top notch in everything they have in the hotel and very well kept up. It is in the heart of Charleston so you can walk anywhere downtown and if you are going on a cruise it is within a few blocks of the port. The staff were all super nice and helpful too. The hotel also has a really nice breakfast spread that comes with the room price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear wlkrs2010,

I hope y'all are doing well across the pond! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The location, obviously, is fantastic. Breakfast is a nice touch (although it's not that different than what you get at multiple other Charleston hotels), rooms are good-sized and well-furnished. There's only one elevator and it can be slow on crowded days. Did I mention that the location is fantastic?

I feel certain we must've caught them on a bad two days during our stay, because virtually all the reviews below note the pleasantness of the staff. That was not our experience, starting with the bellman and working up to the front desk. In front, the friendliest person we encountered was probably the nice lady who brought our breakfast each day. Other than her, something just felt a little...off. Again, I feel sure it was just a bad day, because certainly there is ample evidence in the other reviews that suggests the staff is a property highlight.

We travel to Charleston fairly regularly and on the way home, we discussed whether this would be our regular go-to place to stay. I think it's pretty telling that we both felt it "probably" was, but neither of us would rule out trying other places, either. In other words, it's very nice, but we didn't find it so overwhelmingly great that we would absolutely return at the exclusion of every other hotel in Charleston.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear JodyDavis,

I hope all is well back in beautiful Cary! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I apologize that we had some service failures during your visit with us, and I assure you that these critical matters you mentioned have been resolved, and I thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was just perfect for walking to all of downtown Charleston. The extra touches with the wine and cheese as well as late night cookies and milk and port were just charming. The bedding was comfortable and such quiet rooms for such a convenient location. Cannot say enough good things.

Room Tip: The rooms were so quiet despite being located conveniently downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Tjani,

I hope all is well down in sunny Florida! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We can say that the hotel met our expectations. The room is clean, spacious and very well kept, as is the entire hotel.
The staff is very friendly and helpful and make you feel appreciated.
Self serve breakfast, included in the price, is special as it is served in the lobby, not in a restaurant.
The only drawback is that the height of the table is not always very comfortable.
Around 5:30pm snacks and wine is being served and you can help yourself to coffee or tea during the day.
Our shower lacked a gripbar and the showerhead could have been better.
The location of the hotel is perfect as you are at walking distance to the locations where most visitors go.
All in all we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear argonfroes,

I hope all is well down in the beautiful island of Curacao! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

great choice for us. Wanted somewhere luxurious, close to historic center of Chrleston. Stayed for 2 nights. room huge, quiet, clean and really comfortable. Balcony overlooked the market, but could hear no noise. Breakfast delivered to room was a lovely luxury, but a big spread also available downstairs. DVDs for the room are a nice touch. Everyone was so welcoming from the bellstaff up. Was worried that with all the good reviews would not live up to expectations but it did.
2 small points. Our neighbors on the balcony below we're fond of smoking and sat outside doing so most of the day ! The smoke was wafting in to our room if you opened the balcony door . Also, for the uninitiated, it may be helpful to have step by step instructions for the in room theater system. It is a little complicated!

Room Tip: Higher floor, balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear RoadnottakenVA,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I hope all is well up in beautiful Virginia!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.