We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hershey Pa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Check-in was easy and we were served a glass of champagne and some lady locks. Since it was our anniversary ,we were given an upgrade to a Jr Suite. The room was spacious and nicely decorated with a small balcony overlooking the City Market. There was a large flat screen tv and small fridge. The bathroom was adequate. ( The hotel is in the process of updating the bathrooms). Many sites and attractions were nearby. We enjoyed the generous continental breakfast each morning,which included quiche, sweet rolls, hard boiled eggs, croissants, cereal and many other items. The same items were offered each day. You could eat inside or on the spacious outdoor patio.
The common areas of the hotel were very nice. The wine and cheese offered around dinner time was a nice touch as were the cookies and milk each evening.
The reception staff were friendly and very helpful in providing information and answering questions.Thank you Mike, Michelle and Marvin. Everyone associated with the hotel was very accommodating and cordial. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear cdeast,

I hope all is well back in beautiful and "sweet" Hershey! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Also, Mike, Michelle, and Marvin says "hello!"

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    153
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
321
920
27
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having found this randomly when searching for a holiday destination for myself and my Gf at the time... We loved it from the first day. The Rooms are amazing, the service is second to none, and although it is a very "posh" looking hotel we could come and go in jeans and T-shirts without feeling out of place. everyone is extremely friendly and more than happy to help if there is ever a problem. We in fact enjoyed it so much we returned there for our mini-moon after getting married in 2012. We were treated like royalty, having told them we were there for this occasion we returned to the room that evening to find a bottle of champagne/2 flutes a small bouquet of flowers and a letter with the kind regards and compliments of the management without expecting a thing. I doubt we will stay anywhere else when we visit Charleston.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Willz S,

It was our pleasure to have y'all stay with us again, and I thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such a special occasion. On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

One of the most amazing Hotels in the World! No Kidding... Easy, fun, great location . The staff was wonderful. O.K....Free welcoming glass of Champagne..Free Wine and Cheese Hour...Free fresh baked cookies and milk in the evening. Free unbelievable continental breakfast , yes with Mimosas(even Chocolat croissants).Showers with incredible water pressure! Beautiful rooms...Chocolat with turndown service..Free bicycles. Choice of pillows. and always their famous free M&Ms and Jelly Beans all day....This review may seem to focus on the food, but stay here..., and focus on the FUN. If you stay anyplace else in Charlston, you will be making a big mistake...We will return,again & again... Thank you French Quarter Inn !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Dave166,

I hope all is well back in New York! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Also, those M&Ms and Jelly Bellies are certainly a big hit!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenton, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was our second time staying at the French Quarter Inn and we wouldn't stay anywhere else. This was our first trip with our 2 month old so we were nervous about how he would be. He was perfect and the staff fell in love with him from day one.

When we arrived at the Inn our room wasn't ready because they had a large group who had the entire hotel the night before. We checked in with Marvin who apologized for our room not being ready. We were fine waiting, so we decided to go walk around and have lunch. We returned to the hotel to find that our room still wasn't ready. Since we were traveling with a little one, Marvin did some rearranging and was able to upgrade us so we could get into a room. He was wonderful to work with and truly made our trip memorable.

If you are looking for a NICE hotel with wonderful customer service, look no further than the French Quarter Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Amanda M,

I thank you for the camaraderie to our Inn; we enjoyed having y'all stay with us again! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. We hope y'all had a pleasant trip back to sunny Florida, and Marvin says "hello!"

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Having stayed on the Club Level at many Ritz-Carlton's around the country I can only say for the price, this tops them all. Notice "for the price"....but believe me, their linens, pillows, mattresses and size of room are on par. In fact, their rooms are larger than standard rooms at the Ritz. Pristine clean.
So beautiful is the Lobby that you may never leave to go outside. So charming are the staff that you will feel they were trained by the Ritz.
I keep comparing the two because I feel they are comprable. Loved the continental breakfast, the tea time cheese, fruit, crackers and wine and the nighttime cookies and milk topped the day. 24 hr hot chocolate, coffee, teas and snacks.
Walk out the door and you're in the heart of the Historic District.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear lburnett2,

I hope all is well and warm in beautiful Tampa! Your high praises about our Inn were most uplifting and appreciative by the entire team here, and I am delighted to read your review as being compared to Club Level at Ritz-Carlton is an absolute honor!

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

If you go to Charleston and don't stay at this hotel--you've cheated yourself out of a wonderful experience. From the moment we arrived, it was a very positive experience. The staff, every single one, treated us like royalty. The hotel itself is absolutely gorgeous and well maintained. I'm a bit of a clean freak and this hotel gets very high marks for cleanliness. It's within walking distance of many great restaurants and if you don't feel like walking, they have bicycles you can borrow! This is one of the finest , friendliest hotels anyone could want.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear skysis,

I am delighted to read your great praises about our Inn, and I hope your travels back to beautiful Charlotte were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, perfectly located in the historic district. Beautiful spacious rooms, reserve a balcony suite. I traveled here with 3 girlfriends and we were very pleased with the size of the the room. The staff is very attentive and helpful. I drink soy milk and the staff bought it especially for me when I requested some. You will be so happy if you chose this hotel as your base for visiting Charleston!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear zippycatArkansas,

I hope all is well back in beautiful Arkansas! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I am delighted to read that all the ladies enjoyed their stay!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.