We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch...my new Charleston favorite!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch...my new Charleston favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

As a frequent visitor to historic Charleston, I've stayed at several hotels. After checking availability at some of my other favorite places, I thought I'd try the French Quarter Inn. It is conveniently located to the market & all the shopping. I requested an early check-in and found the hotel very accommodating to comply...and had champagne ready upon arrival! The front desk staff were so generous in their referrals and offer to make any needed reservations. Our room was great- spacious, very clean and newly renovated. The bathroom was large and had some of the most plush towels I've ever wrapped myself in. The wine & cheese reception was a wonderful extra and held us over until we had dinner later that evening. Upon returning back to the hotel after dinner, there was a port wine reception and cookies & milk waiting! Not to mention when we returned to our room it had been prepared with turndown service & chocolates! A wonderful continental breakfast (their description) was prepared the next morning that was far greater than any I've ever experienced...mimosas, coffee, tea, juice, amazing croissants, muffins, quiche, fresh fruit, greek yogurt, cereals, etc. My only negative was the soft bed, as I like something very firm, but this was not enough of an issue to deter my decision to stay here again. There is no doubt in my mind that this has become my new Charleston favorite!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Canes_Fan_1,

I hope all is well in beautiful North Carolina! We thank you for such high praises about our establishment! Also, we are receiving our new mattress box springs any day now which is guaranteed to firm our bedding to make our guests' sleep much more restful.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,584
    154
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
327
961
27
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was skeptical about the experience of this hotel adding up to the cost. The French Quarter Inn isn't the most outstanding/unique hotel from outward appearance, but don't be fooled. This was one of the top hotels I've stayed in and I highly recommend! Great service from beginning to end. The atmosphere was fantastic and the interior is decorated superbly. Details that made the experience the most memorable: wine and cheese & cookie and milk receptions nightly, very nice Continental breakfast each morning, turn down service nightly, very comfortable beds and too many other details to mention. The staff was extremely helpful and nice! We will surely stay in this hotel on our return trip to Charleston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Jbjenkins78,

I am delighted to read that you noticed all the small details we work so hard to perfect! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have worked in many hotels and traveled in the U.S., Europe, and the Mideast and the French Quarter Inn is by far the BEST hotel in my opinion. As soon as you drive up the bellmen greet you warmly, Glori and Michelle at the front desk were very accommodating and friendly. Scott the Guest Service Manager was a delight to talk with as he checked in with my mom and myself throughout our stay. Raya at the breakfast was gracious making sure that we had all that we needed. Unfortunately I did not get everyone's name but everyone I came in contact with was friendly always checked to see if there was anything we needed. The complimentary breakfast, champagne at check in, wine and cheese, cookies, & turndown service were the icing on the cake! Will be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 106 with 2 queen beds was large and comfortable. Facing the City Market the view was great. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Kristaeaw,

Wow! I am delighted to read your high praises about our Inn, and your comments are greatly valued by all of us, especially being that you are a well-traveled guest! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. I hope you travels back to Maryland were pleasant!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Sun, MD.
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for two days. Everything was excellent! This hotel is located in a great area, and the staff was wonderful! We were extremely impressed with how clean they keep everything in the hotel. We loved everything that this hotel has to offer!!!! I don't think you can go wrong with this hotel. I cannot wait to go back to Charleston since this was our first visit there, and I cannot wait to stay at the French Quarter Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear gmm1974,

I hope your travels back to Maryland were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Great rooms and great services. The staff and management were wonderful. The hotel is located down town Charleston, SC and is within walking distant to the historic market and shops. My wife and I will stay there again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Bill C,

I am delighted to read your amazing praises about our Inn, and I thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyable experience! We look forward to welcoming you and your bride back again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Location and hotel great, evening wine reception a lovely touch and the nightly cookies were a big hit with the kids. We even had a bottle of champagne to greet us in our room on arrival to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary! Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear JoanneNaperville,

I am glad y'all enjoyed your stay, and I cannot help but laugh when I read about the cookies...children always seem to love them! Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate such a special occasion! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I had planned an extended weekend in Charleston, which was extended even further due to Hurricane Sandy and our inability to get back to our house in CT. Upon checking in, we were greeted by Jenny, who could not have been any more accommodating, kind, and gracious. We had spent the prior two nights at Charleston Place and you could immediately tell the difference in service, with the staff of French Quarter Inn being much more welcoming. The amenities and location were not only on par with Charleston Place, but better.
That being said, the reason we would make French Quarter Inn our hotel of choice the next time we stay in Charleston would be because of the service. After receiving reports from our neighbors that we were still without power and water in CT, we extended our stay an additional two days at the time we were supposed to be checking out. Jenny was incredibly gracious and made sure we were able to stay in the same room we had been in the couple of nights prior. Also, at a time when it was evident we had to extend our stay, the rate that Jenny was able to provide us was incredibly generous. At a time when we could have been taken advantage of Jenny made certain we were taken care of instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Chris D,

I hope your travels back to Connecticut were pleasant! On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers. Jenny says hello too!

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#2 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.