We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We loved the free gourmet continental breakfast each morning. Free wine and cheese at 5-7 was great too. Our room was very comfortable, and they have a pillow concierge so you get just the right pillow. Front desk staff was excellent and very friendly. Location was the best for the market and other downtown attractions!
Off season rates were very reasonable. Be sure and ask what discounts they offer. When I asked they were able to offer us an additional 10% off. Parking costs $17 per night so you might want to skip the car on this trip if you can.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
We are delighted that you enjoyed our food and beverage offerings, we truly enjoy being able to offer these amenities to our guests. We hope that you were able to find the right pillow, we understand that comfort for each guest is a little different, therefore the pillow concierge can ensure each guest receives the proper support and comfort while staying with us. Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit Charleston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,622
    155
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
332
983
28
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is one of my top hotels that I've stayed. Everyone one working and visiting the hotel have could not have been more helpful and so friendly. I was impressed with their "More than just a continental breakfast". I loved the Wine and Cheese and also their lady fingers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear dollcakes,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Stayed here at the end of December. We chose the hotel based on its reviews. We really enjoyed our stay. Got the “Just the 2 of us” package.
+ Great rooms with great toiletries, personalized greeting card in the room, with all of our gift cards and coupons, with chocolate and a bottle of champagne
+ More champagne at the check-in counter
+ We loved the turn down service which provided us with local chocolates every night
+ Great TV channel selection
+ Balcony with great views
+ Right in the heart of the action
+ Got the room we had asked for: executive with balcony and king bed, very spacious room, with computer and printer
+ Allowed us to keep our car and luggage in the hotel until 3 PM so that we could do some sightseeing
+ Friendly staff

-/+ Why doesn't any hotel offer slippers anymore? We had bathrobes, but no slippers
-/+ Decent breakfast, no real selection (at least the in-room service)
-/+ Turn down service: let's just say that we don't really like to pack our suitcases constantly when we go out, so we leave some stuff out, thus when the maid came by to get the beds ready for sleep, leave us our treats, and the next day weather forecast... well... I felt kind of awkward knowing my things were unpacked and that she walked in on them like that

A few issues that somewhat bothered us:
- Even though we were able to keep out car and luggage in the hotel until 3PM, they refused to let us leave the car in valet longer, even tough it was clear that the hotel was not busy to its max
- Hard to figure thermostat: either too cold or too hot

Wine& cheese reception: cannot comment, as we did not attend.
I am rating Value and Sleep quality 4/5 because it was very a expensive package and I was expecting a better breakfast and more bang for the buck, plus my bf and I had to share a comforter, which we do not usually do, so we had to deal with the constant fight over it.
Overall, we wouldn't hesitate returning, as we loved the city, and the hotel was great in the end.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts of your hotel experience. We truly do appreciate the effort you took in reviewing all aspects of your stay and we are delighted that enjoyed so many of our amenities and offerings. Our apologies for the items that you found disappointing, we do wish that you had expressed some of these concerns while you were with us so that we may have addressed them before your departure. Assistance with the thermostat and an additional comforter would have been easily taken care of. As for your other thoughts, they have been noted and we will be happy to see what changes we can make to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We spent 4 nights here the week between Christmas and New Years. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The snacks were great. DVD library a plus. Very quiet. Great location. Room was large and when I made the reservation the staff helping me did everything to give me the lowest rate. The room was large. I have no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
It was a pleasure to have you celebrate the holiday season with us. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts of the hotel and your experience. We greatly appreciate it. We do hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 via mobile

The room was large, very clean and quiet. The staff was great. The front desk staff got me reservations to Husk, SNOB and Magnolias, all hard to get into on short notice. GreAt location too.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for choosing the French Quarter Inn for your stay in Charleston. W e are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and had wonderful meals in local restaurants. It was our pleasure to make your arrangements. We would love to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

From check-in with champagne & lady fingers through wine & cheese reception through suite with fireplace & balcony through gracious welcoming staff both upstairs & downstairs through extraordinary breakfast items: altogether superb. Oh, did I mention location, location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I doubt if there's a bad room in the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. Reviews such as yours let us know that we are succeeding in what we strive to do. Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our first stay at The French Quarter Inn was so enjoyable. From the 3 pm champagne and ladyfingers to the 5:30 pm wine tasting with cheese (all complimentary),the stay was exceptional. The staff was friendly and helpful and the hotel is next to Market Street and easy walking distance to well known restaurants and shopping. The rooms have a pillow "menu" as well giving a choice of seven pillow types which are complimentary as well. Will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
An anniversary is such a special occasion and we are delighted that you chose to celebrate with us. Thank you for letting us be a part of the occasion, as well as thank you for the lovely compliments you have made about your stay. We hope we don’t have to wait for another anniversary to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.