We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn in the heart of historic Charleston” 5 of 5 stars
Review of French Quarter Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added French Quarter Inn to your Saves list
French Quarter Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Savings
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn in the heart of historic Charleston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the French Quarter Inn for only one night but we wish we would have stayed for more! Centrally located in historic Charleston, we were within walking distance of all the great restaurants and attractions in the historic area. The breakfast was amazing!!! Our room was very comfortable, clean and nicely decorated. Very large bathroom. We were given our choice of pillows- from very soft to firm.

Room Tip: Booked through SniqueAway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIGM, General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear allie178,

On behalf of the entire French Quarter Inn team, we greatly appreciate your kind words about our charming inn, and we also thank you for helping us to spread the word about our renowned services to other travelers.

Please contact me directly if I can ever be of any assistance to you and your family!

We hope to see y'all again!

With highest regards,

Brent Gresham,
General Manager
French Quarter Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,619
    155
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
332
980
28
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 via mobile

We had a great time. The FQI was clean, and located in the middle of everything! Its best asset in addition to the beautiful archeticture and location was its phenomenal staff. They were not just friendly but they were also accommodating and extremely sweet. This was a perfect example of southern hospitaliy!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
The French Quarter Inn team is an exceptional composite of genuine people who truly love what we do. Your gracious compliments have brought a very large smile to our faces. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our hard efforts. We look forward to welcoming ya’ll back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gaines, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

The hotel's four star rating is merited. The accommodations are comparable to Ritz-Carlton, but the place takes on the laid back atmosphere of the Charleston historic district. Most of the city's attractions, shopping, and fine dining are within walking distance. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the many amenities and extras were first-class.

The hotel is best suited to folks looking to enjoy the good life of old Charleston, or travellers with business in the downtown area. Those looking for an overnight stopover would be better suited with a hotel closer to the major highways.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for your generous compliments. Your description of our accommodations and atmosphere is spot on. We desire to offer excellent service and great Southern Hospitality in an incredibly historical and relaxing city. We do get a lot of overnight stopovers, who just enjoy the city for the evening or locals looking for a stay-cation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The Frence Quarter Inn is wonderful. Great location in the historical district where most things are within walking distance. The service was outstanding and the perks of a delicious continental breakfast, complimentary coffee, tea's, lemonade, as well as the wine & cheese hour and milk and cookies in the evening are all a big plus. The only problem is that the FQI advertised free parking on Trip Advisor's site and I printed out the slip and even called several days in advance of my check-in to ascertain if the coupon would be honored. The lady I spoke to on the phone was the same person when I checked in and she said that I couldn't use it since I booked with expedia. I'm sorry, but why do that after approving it over the phone. Other than that small problem, my stay was great....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Your gracious compliments and lovely description of our amenities and service is greatly appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Our apologies about the TripAdvisor coupon not being able to be honored, the coupon does clearly state that it is valid for reservations booked directly with the hotel only, therefore for sites such as expedia we are not able to extend the complimentary parking. We are glad that this misunderstanding did not affect your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH HAVEN,CT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We love to stay at historical Inns /bed & breakfasts and with 5 star reviews I picked this inn. It is a very nice place, centrally located to most places that you can walk to but it does have more of a hotel feel so We were a little disappointed. The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast was again,disappointing as the selection is okay but don't expect a small dining area where everyone sits in the same room & is served breakfast. They will bring the same food to your room if you'd rather eat there. The room was very nice and nicely furnished but the mattress was not good at all.
I would recommend it if you are looking for a clean small
hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Our sincerest apologies that the Inn was not the bed and breakfast atmosphere that you had hoped for. With 50 rooms we are a boutique hotel that offers a continental breakfast, both buffet style in the lobby with a generous amount of lobby seating and/or patio seating to enjoy with other hotel guests or the room service option for a more intimate meal. Our final phase of our 3 year renovation is scheduled for the beginning of 2012, which includes the replacement of art work and brand new mattresses. For you next trip to Charleston, we hope you choose to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

What a surprising find! We read the reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to book the French Quarter Inn for the third leg of our Charleston Trip. Centrally located right near the Market, East Bay Street (Restaurant Row) and only a short walk to Meeting Street, step out the door and you are immersed in shops and restaurants! Loved the convenience of the fresh hot coffee and tea, constantly maintained on each floor. Although the real southern hospitality began in the mornings with a complimentary continental breakfast (select either in room from the placard you hang on your door the evening before or also available in the lobby area if you forget). Later in the afternoons it is continued with the wine selection, complimented with tasty cheese and crackers, just a delightful respit after a long, hot day of sight seeing and antiquing. After a quick refreshing shower (if you forgot ANYTHING it is available from the front desk) back out to the restaurants, returning later in the evening,(doorman at the ready) we were pleasantly surprised to find delicious cookies and milk! Oh wait, forgot to mention the evening turn down service complete with scrumptious chocolates and a fresh bag of ice. Delightful stay, from the artistic wrought iron detailing, warm southern charm and ambiance, continued with the pillow menu, such an indulgence for that home away from home experience, to the upscale Continental breakfast and various amenities, this hotel and helpful, professional staff never disappointed. Valet parking is $17 a day (for all day, in & out as often as needed) but we rarely drove considering the location. We would definitely stay here again! We found the French Quarter Inn to be a great value for the price, location and abundant amenities.

Room Tip: Smokers balconies and Courtyards are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Your graciously glowing compliments and incredibly detailed review is greatly appreciated. Your time and effort to describe all aspects of your joyous stay, we can’t thank you enough for. We are overjoyed that you took part and enjoyed every service and amenity that we offer. Thank you again. We hope to welcome you again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We'd visited the French Quarter Inn on our first trip to Charleston in Sept 2010 (as we were on our way to a wedding in Jacksonville, FL.) We loved Charleston and the FQI so much that we decided to return this year as part of a family vacation.

My husband, my 11 yr old stepson, our 12 yr old niece, my husband's parents and I all had a great time in Charleston over the first week in July.

The French Quarter Inn was just as wonderful as we remembered it and the nice folks at the front desk were very kind and helpful to our entire family.

We enjoyed the breakfasts, the cool tea and lemonade after trotting around the midday heat of Charleston, the delicious wine and cheese and the cookies and milk (our collective favorite!)

The entire staff is friendly and greets you with a smile. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable and the location can't be beat!

Highly recommend the French Quarter Inn - a fabulous place to stay in a lovely and charming city!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly or book via the hotel's web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FQIAGM, Assistant General Manager at French Quarter Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
We are delighted that your previous stay with us brought you back for a family vacation. We truly enjoy the guests that have become our family and continue to come and visit us, we wouldn’t be where we are today without families such as yours. Thank you for your wonderful compliments. We hope to celebrate many more family vacations with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to French Quarter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Quarter Inn

Address: 166 Church St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charleston
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#1 Family Hotel in Charleston
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#3 Green Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — French Quarter Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Four Diamond Inn's newly redesigned rooms are inspired by the old world elegance of a Parisian chateau set against the architectural backdrop of Charleston's classic French Quarter. Red medallion-patterned draperies and damask chenille upholstery in hues of black, white and gold create a rich distinction between the fabrics and furniture, of the highest quality.Among many other amenities, guests of the hotel enjoy complimentary items such as: champagne and lady fingers at check-in, an evening wine and cheese reception, freshly baked cookies and milk, evening turn down service and gourmet continental breakfast in the lobby or served to your room. The over-sized guest rooms, some with working fireplaces, private balconies, and whirlpool tubs, provide imagery of an era gone by, but still grants contemporary amenities a sophisticated traveler has come to expect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your French Quarter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
French Quarter Hotel Charleston
French Quarter Charleston
French Quarter Inn Charleston Sc

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage French Quarter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.