We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thoroughbred Club

Thoroughbred Club
205 Meeting Street, Charleston Place Hotel, Charleston, SC
888-635-2350
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 778 Restaurants in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Thoroughbred Club serves cocktails, tapas/appetizers and desserts.Live entertainment is available every day. A perfect atmosphere for a bridal shower or an afternoon get together, the tea service at the Thoroughbred Club was voted "Best Tea in the South" by Southern Living Magazine.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great Manhattans! Good service. The lighting is very low and the motif is "Hunting Lodge"-ish. Free crunchies and peanut mix for each table.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    33
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service; value could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a diet soda and a fruit plate and I think that was over $20. So seemed a little pricey to me, but the bartender was really nice - friendly without being overbearing and the environment was lovely.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

While staying at the charleston place I stopped here while waiting for my wife to get ready. The staff is always so nice and the place is warm and what a bar is suppose to feel like. Try it out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A nice place to relax and have a cocktail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very comfortable seating and great atmosphere. A great place to just relax and enjoy the people that you are with or meet some new ones after strolling the streets of Charleston.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we ended up here the night before our wedding. got some great dinner reccomendations from our server Amber and told her we'd come back the following night after we were married. just as we sat down on the comfy Thoroughbred Club's comfy couches the next night, Amber appeared with two glasses of champagne saying "i was hoping you two would come back in tonight". so thoughtful that she remembered us but it was great to be in such a welcoming enviornment! we will definitely be back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thoroughbred Club also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Thoroughbred Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thoroughbred Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.