We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

My husband & I stayed at the Hampton Inn for 3 nights. Could not ask for a more friendly or helpful staff. The full breakfast was great, so many items to choose from. The rooms were clean, the bed was very comfortable, and no noise. Smoking rooms available. We could walk to King St and the market. Restaurants within walking distance also. If you want a very good place to stay, it is Hampton Inn on Meeting St.
Sleepy Eye MN

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    344
    90
    32
    7
See reviews for
254
371
37
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We went to Charleston to visit the College of Charleston with our daughter. I wanted a hotel that wasn't too expensive but within walking distance and we were very pleased with the Hampton Inn.
I would say the best part of our stay was the free breakfast- followed very closely by the wonderful staff. Everyone we ran across said hello and they answered our questions promplty and efficiently.
The only issue was had was our tub was not draining correctly and it was repaired within 2 hours after reporting it.
We walked everywhere- even to the waterfront- I would suggest bringing some comfy shoes if you are planning to do this!
There is a computer room that is equipped with a printer for printing boarding passes at no extra charge.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay and will most certainly return.

  • Liked — Breakfast! Great muffins.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We were very happy with our one week stay at the Hampton Inn. Close to downtown and the visitor center across the street. The buffet breakfast was great. We are hoping to return and stay here in April.

  • Liked — Location, buffet breakfast and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at the Hampton Inn in December. The hotel is well maintained and very convenient to see the sights in the historic district. A full buffet breakfast is included in the price and it consisted of both hot and cold foods: French toast, poached eggs, cereals, doughnuts and pastries, bagels & cream cheese, juices, and coffee. A good way to start the day!

The Visitor Center is right across the street and so is the Charleston Museum and the Joseph Manigault House. Since the historic district is very walkable, we walked everywhere, right down to the tip of the peninsula and back. The restaurants and City Market were a short walk away. We took a tour to Middleton Plantation - all we had to do was cross the street to the Visitor Center and pick up the van from there. Very convenient.

We didn't use any of the amenities but saw that the hotel had a pool, fitness center, and internet access.

  • Liked — Convenience and the fact that breakfast is included in the price
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Rooms were clean, but a bit small, since this is a historic building. Decent breakfast, nice pool area. had some Airconditioning issues in the building and in our room. location was mixed. You are right next to the visitors center/trolly station that will take you just about anywhere in historic downtown, but the hotel location is pretty far from the actually historic area. Next time, we might try to stay closer to historic downtown, but if rates here are good, we would stay here again...

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — the A/C problems, distance to downtown
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

This was a very good stay. Good breakfast, service, and rooms. The new cloud nine bedding was a plus. The location is ok, if you don't mind walking. The exterior could do some updating. Overall, I liked this hotel.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, nc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

booked this room through the Hilton web site. I am generally pleased with Hilton family hotels and this was no exception. Hotel is in a great location in the Historic District in the middle of the "Museum Mile". Also just a block to King St. where many great restaurants and shopping are available. It is also right next to a nice park.

The room seemed a bit smaller than I am used to, but that may be because it had two huge, and comfortable beds in it. Bathrooms were modern and clean with nice soaps/shampoo. Decent water pressure in the shower. Clean room with a desk and basic TV. The beds and pillows were above average. My 9-year old had to try the pool. It was a bit cold, but he didn't care. It was shallow and good for kids. Nice courtyard.

The best part of this hotel was the breakfast, complete with eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy (a must in the south) plus all the usual cold continental stuff. Most coffee in hotels is terrible, but theirs was actually not bad.

Parking is not free $12 a night when I was there. This was the only bad part.
Overall, a recommended hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast
  • Disliked — $12 for parking ?? COME ON!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#19 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.