We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #16 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Spartanburg, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I travel to Charleston on business several times per month, and I've found this hotel the best value in the historic area. I can easily walk or ride the shuttle any place I need to go, so I just park my car and forget it. The hotel staff have always been quite friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
I want to thank you for your continued business and am so delighted that the team earns it each and every time. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    372
    98
    37
    8
See reviews for
279
416
38
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Hampton Inn July 24-27. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful; the bell captain helped us in many ways (including securing a taxi) and the breakfast was very good. The room was spotless and very quiet. I have usually been happy with Hampton Inn; I would tag this property as one of their best. Also, the location is close to many attractions and excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: If street noise (traffic) bothers you, ask for a side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
"Excellent" is what were are going for and we are so glad you saw it! Thanks for your wonderful review and for your business. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

we picked this hotel for a family trip as my wife daughter and mother in law had been here several years back and were very pleased with stay and access to Charleston Visitor center. I was very pleased with the professional, exemplary service provided by the staff from front desk to breakfast staff to other staff. We stayed on first floor..close to front desk,breakfast,business center,fitness center and exit to the visitor center and trolley stop. We wii return to this hotel every time we have an opportunity visit Chaleston area agin.

Room Tip: First floor has its advantages but with it comes the traffic noise throughout the day and some at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us to be your home away from home in Charleston. We couldn't be happier that you enjoyed everything while you were here and for taking the time to let everyone else know of your experiences.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This Hampton Inn was very clean, comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. It almost made me not want to go out. The bed was as comfortable as my bed at home. The location was great but sadly not within walking distance of a lot of attractions. We still needed to drive to most places. It was right off of King Street which was nice, though. I highly recommend this hotel. The front desk staff was very helpful in helping find where we wanted to go.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
What a nice review. Thanks so much for taking the time to let others know of your experiences. We are so delighted that you enjoyed everything whle you were a guest of ours. We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here during a pre-cruise tour of historic Charleston. It's a good location directly across from the Charleston Visitor Center and a trolley stop. Our family party booked two Queen's Court rooms. We had French doors that led directly out to the large beautiful grassy center courtyard plaza and pool. The front desk service personnel were very prompt, knowledgeable and friendly - there were always one or two people on hand to answer any questions. Good free breakfast. We cruisers always like to find a park and cruise hotel for pre or post cruise stays, but parking is at a premium in old Charleston. Since our first priority was to stay close to the historic district, rather than selecting a suburban more distant lodging, we just paid to park. We felt it was well worth it. We could walk anywhere. A great restaurant, Coast, is right next door.

Room Tip: If you like easy access to fresh air, or want want access to outdoor smoking areas, or you like a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Went to Chas. for a little detour for my daughters fresh. orientation at USC. I am a Hilton Honors member, and requested a 2 QB room. Upon arrival on 16 June, we were informed we were upraded to the Ashley room. Quite awesome. 1st floor, close to front desk/breakfast buff. Hampton ppl. know what I mean. But, room is huge, I mean huge.... 2 QB, Sitting area. Wet bar, sitting chairs. Decour dated, but very clean. Maid service fine. Great hotel location, mentioned on other reviews. Parking was 12 bucks a night. Embassy Suites backs right up to the back of the property. An excellent property to stay.. Really a good location.

Room Tip: If you can get the Ashley Room, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had two rooms next to each other. Rooms were clean and comfortable, and stocked with all typical supplies. Breakfast buffet is hot and fresh and good to fuel up quickly for a day of site seeing. After one day in the room, we returned late in the evening to find the air condition was leaking on the floor - carpet was quite wet. Their staff fixed it the next day while we were out but despite leaving a fan on carpet room smelled dank. Staff was very apologetic and relocated us to up graded room at no charge. Since we had specifically requested side by side rooms, they relocated the other room as well. A sign of a good business is how they handle problems and we were very satisfied with their service. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.