We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience and Breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #18 of 54 hotels in Charleston
phoenix, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenience and Breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The location is prime...walking distance to everything. The breakfast is amazing. The staff is friendly. Although the rooms could use a little updating, it's not a big deal. The lobby area is bright and clean. Beds and Pillows very comfy. Lot's of nice towels provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    371
    297
    79
    30
    7
See reviews for
218
304
31
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel, and I have to say I was surprised at how nice it was. I will say this, it is expensive for a Hampton Inn, but reasonable for the quality of this hotel and its location. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. I arrived at the hotel at 11:00 am, and asked if I could check in. The lady at the front desk said that there were no rooms available yet, but she would call me as soon as one was. She took down my number, but I did not really count a a phone call. I parked the car in the garage next door and decided I would just wait in the lobby. Well, as I was walking down the stars of the garage, my cell phone rang. It was the nice lady from the front desk letting me know my room was ready. WOW!
Overall the hotel is VERY clean, and the rooms are fairly modern. I know some people on here think it is crazy to pay what this hotel often charges, but please keep in mind this is a prime location, and you pay for that. It is no different than a Hampton Inn in Savannah, or New York City. However, if you don't want to pay historic district prices, there are tons of other options away from this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is perfect for exploring the historic charleston area. You are located right at the heart on king street and its a short walk to all the historic sights. There is an outdoor pool and you can enjoy your breakfast in the garden. Parking is in the adjacent garage for $14 per day. Staff was very fiendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed for almost a week in June. It was far from cheap, but we needed to be in the historic district, so we realized that anything there would be at least in that price range. We were very happy that at least we got our money's worth. The staff was terrificly helpful and friendly. The room was lovely - roomy and beautifully clean.
I have back problems so I'm always worried about the mattresses and pillows, as my experience is that there is not necessarily a correlation between the quality of the beds and the number of stars that a hotel has. I was therefore very relieved that the mattress and the pillows were perhaps even more comfortable than mine at home!
Since we eat only strictly kosher, we couldn't judge the food, but coffee and tea were available throughout the day, as was fresh fruit most of the time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in the Hampton Inn Historic District for a long weekend in March. Unfortunately, it was a weekend partially interrupted by heavy rain. I would never have guessed how bad the city could flood had I not seen it. I feel for them when the next hurricane passes through. The hotel has paid parking next door and the rooms and amenities are standard Hampton Inn quality-very consistent, which is why I like the chain. Location is fine, you can walk or take the trolley to main points of interest. We also visited the Hunley, some plantations and the Folly Island area, so a car is necessary for those. This was my first tourist visit to Charleston and was as expected based on guidebooks and friends' recommendations. One thing to mention, if you think you'll like Charleston, look into Savannah as an alternate destination-there are a lot of similarities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soperton, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Weekend trip to Charleston. Hampton was nice and clean rooms. Complimentary breakfast was a plus. We walked down to the Market area but it was a little further walk than we anticipated. would definitely stay here again. staff was friendly and the taxi service that was recommended was also vey pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very Nice great location, a little walk to the waterfront but that is ok as long as you don't mind a little walk, not very far. Actually the distance from the downtown made for a quieter stay. Right across the street from the trolley stop so that is helpful, get a trolley schedule though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#16 Family Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.