We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #19 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in the Hampton Inn Historic District for a long weekend in March. Unfortunately, it was a weekend partially interrupted by heavy rain. I would never have guessed how bad the city could flood had I not seen it. I feel for them when the next hurricane passes through. The hotel has paid parking next door and the rooms and amenities are standard Hampton Inn quality-very consistent, which is why I like the chain. Location is fine, you can walk or take the trolley to main points of interest. We also visited the Hunley, some plantations and the Folly Island area, so a car is necessary for those. This was my first tourist visit to Charleston and was as expected based on guidebooks and friends' recommendations. One thing to mention, if you think you'll like Charleston, look into Savannah as an alternate destination-there are a lot of similarities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    373
    300
    79
    30
    7
See reviews for
222
304
31
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Soperton, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Weekend trip to Charleston. Hampton was nice and clean rooms. Complimentary breakfast was a plus. We walked down to the Market area but it was a little further walk than we anticipated. would definitely stay here again. staff was friendly and the taxi service that was recommended was also vey pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very Nice great location, a little walk to the waterfront but that is ok as long as you don't mind a little walk, not very far. Actually the distance from the downtown made for a quieter stay. Right across the street from the trolley stop so that is helpful, get a trolley schedule though.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff is incredibly helpful. Location is also good. We walked to the market, as well as the Battery, and good shopping and restaurants are nearby. I was there for a girls' weekend, but easily envision staying there with my husband and children the next time I go to Charleston.

Room Tip: Some of the first floor rooms open to the courtyard where the pool is located. This was a very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My family and I just came back from a weekend trip to Charleston and couldn't have been happier with the Hampton Inn. Everyone there was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms we had were clean and comfortable. We were even lucky enough to have rooms on the first floor that opened out to the courtyard. The Hampton Inn provided a compliemntary breakfast every morning that catered to just about every taste out there. I will definitely go back again and make the Hampton Inn my home base for my future trips to Charleston. The only drawback was the rude man who was watering the flowers at the hotel who called me an idiot for not turning into the hotel as fast as he wanted. When his behavior or lack of good behavior was pointed out to the management they immediately rectified the situation. The Hampton Inn is a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are delighted that you had a fantastic time with us despite the comments made by the person watering the plants. I want to make sure that you know, that this person is not a Team Member of ours and his actions were dealt with as you noted, but also a call was made to his employer. We look forward to having you as a guest again soon. Thanks for your business and kind words.

Kevin Eichman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent one night at the Hampton Inn - Historic District and was not terribly impressed. The first room had a distinct odor, either mold or some chemical cleaning agent. Both my wife and I began to feel the effects after a few minutes in the room. After first being informed there were no other rooms available, the Manager on duty came up with a room, which was satisfactory. We appreciated the effort to relocate us. The hotel seemed a little tired, in need of an upgrade. The staff were quite helpful. It was also expensive at $200 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I am a Hilton's Diamond member so I'm in hotels weekly for business. I would say that the location is great however that was the only great thing. I do not eat breakfast so I can not comment on that, however I was very disappointed that there was no refrigerator in the room. I keep water and drinks typically and I really missed it! I also experienced the jack hammer which I know you have no control over that. I also read about the shuttle across the street which no one mentioned at check in, in fact the barely told me where the elevators were, they were busy talking to a friend on the other side of the desk. Not ever very helpful or friendly except the door man, he was always pleasant and smiling!! I wear socks in hotel rooms and by the end of my stay they were nasty!! Concerns about the cleanliness of the place!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.