We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location in historical downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #18 of 59 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Central location in historical downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is right across from the visitor center and the transportation center. The free trolley stop and Charleston Museum are also across the street from the hotel. Next to the hotel are the Charleston Music Hall and 39 Rue de Jean French restaurant. The hotel doesn’t have parking. There is a city parking garage next to the hotel, $14/day for hotel guest with in and out privilege. You can park on the street with meters or in the garage. The hotel entrance is confusing when we arrived late at night. The hotel address is on the Meeting Street, but the entrance is setback on John Street, next to the city garage.

The hotel is one of the largest Hampton Inns we’ve been to. It has a nice courtyard and swimming pool. The building was an old factory, a historical site. The reception hall is also the breakfast room and it gets very crowded in the morning. The regular king room was very small. It was like a European hotel room. The walls were thin. We could hear people walking in the hall, bathroom flushing above us and people walking above us. The hotel is nicely updated yet it keeps the traditional/historical feel.

Breakfast was typical Hampton Inn style. It’s not a bad thing. You get consistent quality with Hampton Inn across the country. The staffs were friendly. We enjoyed our stay, just wish the room was bigger.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    602
    430
    117
    38
    11
See reviews for
321
501
40
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Conway, SC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We usually stay next door at the Embassy Suites because of the Managers reception and breakfast, but I have no complaints about Hampton Inn. We were pleasantly surprised at how good the breakfast was. If you went hungry it was your own fault. They had so much to include hot and cold items. It has been a few years since I stayed here, but will be definitely be back. Great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Parking is $14 a night. What do you expect for being in a city!!. Help is very people friendly. Nice size clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Everything about our stay at this Hampton Inn was perfect. The room was comfortable, service at the front desk exceptional (they even loaned us real wine glasses for a bottle we brought from home) and the friendly bellhop who welcomed us with a big smile genuinely seemed glad we were staying there. The restaurant next door, Coast, is terrific and the location in general makes it easy to get around the historic district. As frequent travelers to Charleston, we will definitely return to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

After reading some reviews of this hotel, I was a little worried about the location, so was very happy to find that the location was, in fact, perfect for us. My friend and I came to Charleston after a long weekend in Kiawah at a tennis tournament. Keep in mind, that although we enjoyed being close to everything, being right in the middle of the nightlife was not what we wanted. That being said, Hampton is is about a 10 minute walk from the Outdoor Market. The walk is easy and there are more than enough stores to keep the walk from being boring. If you are unable to walk, there is a free trolley right outside the hotel.
The hotel is also right around the corner from several restaurants, so finding a place to eat is not an issue. Its next to a nice, outdoor area that the locals hang out at with their dogs. I actually liked it better, because it was more of a locals area than a tourist area.
As for the hotel itself. I have nothing to complain about. The room was clean, the beds comfortable and I was surprised at the breakfast that was included. I expected some pastries and drinks, but there also had eggs, fruit, sausage, and more. I needed a wine bottle opener, which they had at the front desk.
All in all, I will return to this hotel and would certainly recommend it to others. Parking is $14/day, but I can't imagine anywhere else is much cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights. On the edge of Charleston's historic district, near visitor center, Museum, historic houses, King St shopping, great restaurants, Univ Charleston. VERY convenient location on free trolley line.
Lovely courtyard with pool (ask for a room overlooking courtyard). Clean, comfortable room. Plentiful breakfast. Free wifi in room. Excellent advice from staff re restaurants. All for about half the cost of many other city hotels and B&Bs.
No hotel parking but public garage adjoins hotel with guest discount.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was a good value. It was right across the street from the visitor's center. There is also a free Trolley next to the visitor's center. The room was clean and quiet. Although a bit of a walk to go down to the Market, East Bay St., and the Battery, there were plenty of nice restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel is also close to the Charleston Museum and a number of historical homes. The lobby staff was extremely efficient and the crew handling the 'free breakfast' did a great job. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We chose The Hampton because we are honors members and the price was right for a hotel close to the downtown historic district. As others have said it is somewhat of a walk to the Market, Broad ST, East Bay, and other downtown areas where several of the restaurants and tours meet. There is a free trolley stop right outside the door so that is very convenient. We mostly chose to walk though getting some great exercise. Furthest we probably walked was about a mile. Rooms here are spacious and the beds and pillows are very comfortable. I like the fact that the comforters (duvets) on each bed have been washed before you arrive. They put a little note on your bed telling you that. It made me feel much better about getting under it. We had a wonderful room on the first floor that opened up to the courtyard. The bathroom amenities were great and they refilled everyday. We did have a really short shower curtain the first day but we noticed on the second day that they had changed it. Worked much better keeping the water in the tub. Loved the towels! Although they were not super plush, they were soft yet dried you off really well. This hotel also serves a free breakfast which is an added benefit. We had some great eggs, omelets (that was our favorite), and oatmeal . Their robust coffee was wonderful if you like coffee with some punch. The women working the breakfast in the morning were fantastic!! Very friendly and helpful. They even gave my husband a tray one morning to carry his stuff back to the room. Of course they informed him that everyone has a tray in their room but we don't always think about using it. (The one under the ice bucket-duh!!) Just a tip for those trying to carry food back to their rooms for their kids, wives, or husbands. Check out and check in at this hotel were fast and efficient. Casey checked us in and gave us good suggestions on where to eat that evening close by. There are several good restaurants close by- 39Rue de Jean, Coast Bar and Grill, and Hall's Chophouse are three that we ate at. All very good. We really had no major problems with this hotel. The heating/cooling system is pretty set so if you try to change it you really get no results. That is their major complaint they say about the hotel. You just have to realize it is an older building and live with it. Eventhough it was cold on a few nights our room got a little too warm and since we couldn't change the temperature we just opened our door for a few minutes to the courtyard. That worked perfect. We would definitely stay here again for the price, the free breakfast, and not needing to rent a car because everything was within walking or trolley distance.

Room Tip: First floor opening to courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charleston hotels
King Charles Inn
#16 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,020 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Charleston
#18 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#23 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.