We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #19 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good to Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is good - clean, good location, but the staff is great. They were very helpful and accommodating.The complimentary breakfast was good but again the staff was very nice. We would certainly stay here again. We were in town to see the college and our welcome made a terrific first impression.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    323
    275
    69
    27
    6
See reviews for
191
266
29
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a nice Hilton chain hotel where the best feature is location. If you go to Charleston looking for fine dining and entertainment at night, you just cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is next one short block away from the hottest stretch of King Street. At least four of five of Charleston's very best restaurants are within two blocks of the hotel. A performing arts theatre is right next door, and the main hub for the tourist buses is across the street. I understand that from that location you can take the tourist buses all over historic Charleston, get off whereever and whenever and as many times as you please, and ultimately arrive back at the main hub, making your car unnecessary. By the way, your best bet for parking if you are a guest at the Hampton is the parking garage right outside the main entrance to the hotel. It will run you $14 for a night.

Room Tip: Make dinner reservations for any weekend you plan on coming to Charleston well in advance. All the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed at this location only one night with a school group. The hotel was very clean, the staff very friendly and the location was wonderful (close to all the shops and major attractions). However, the majority of our party were unable to sleep due to the noise and crazy party that some drunk college students were holding on the floor above us. I don't fault the hotel staff for the disturbance, but these rude guest should have been asked to leave considering the fact that several other people (outside of our party) also complained several other times throughout the night. I understand that it all boils down to business, but this was a poor move in the staff's part in solving the problem!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the very top floor to avoid noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I took a group to Charleston for one night in December and we had a fantastic stay at this Hampton Inn. Beds were very comfortable, hotel was clean, staff was friendly and helpful and the location was perfect. Breakfast was really nice. We will go back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We can't wait to have you back! Thanks for taking the time to let us and the world know of your experiences. We love what we do and are so very pleased you do too.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for four days for a short winter vacation break. This hotel is lovely and comfortable, it used to be an old barrel factory! It's on the edge of the historic district, an easy walk to nightlife and restaurants. They have a very nice complimentary breakfast each morning too! A wedding party that was there over the weekend was extremely loud in the hallways, so the staff moved us to another room right away with no issues, and tried very hard to ensure that we were pleased and taken care of to our satisfaction. We appreciated the effort they took to make us happy. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms farther from the utility rooms and lobby are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so very much for the nice review. We are so sorry for the trouble you had, but are so grateful you didn't hold it against us. The Team here would go to the end of the earth and back again (not just the "extra mile) to make sure you're happy. We so look forward to having you back as a guest of ours.

Til next time....

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better situated hotel in the Charleston area. This hotel is directly across the street from the Visitor's Center, a first stop for all tourists to Charleston. Trolleys are available to allow access to all parts of the city. Many restaurants, shops and sights are within walking distance.

While located on the fringes of the historic district, the price and value more than make up for the location. A covered parking garage is attached to the property, but owned by the city. A theatre is located opposite the side drive of the hotel.

The rooms are typical of most Hampton Inns, clean but basic with any forgotten necessities available. Our only problem with our room was that it was a non-smoking room but smelled of cigarette smoke. We were unable to open the window and asked that a maintanence person be dispatched to assist. The window was finally opened and the room aired out. We were on an upper floor and the April breeze was refreshing. By mid-day however, we were forced to close the window due to the humidity.

The morning breakfast was more than adequate and a definite boost to the value of the room. We were able to meet our companions each morning in the breakfast room to plan our day over a varied selection of breakfast items.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We came to Charleston for a wedding and our hosts selected this hotel for the guests. It is across the street from the visitor's center and there is a free trolley stop in front that takes you to anyplace you might want to go in Charleston. We got great service when we checked in and there is free coffee, cocoa and tea in the lobby at all times. The place is very clean, our room and bath were very clean, the beds were comfortable. There was a sign in the room that the duvets and shams are freshly washed for each guest. There are a lot of restaurants and shops a short walk or trolley ride away. I understand this was originally an old warehouse that was completely redone into a hotel.
Breakfast was decent with fresh fruit, yogurt, sausage, waffles you make yourself and scrambled eggs. The fruit salad, however, contained some canned fruit, which I cannot eat due to the sugar level. There was a variety of beverages.
There were no surcharges, which is a rare thing these days with hotels charging for wifi and other amenities. The business center offered free computers and a printer for your boarding passes. There is an exercise room, but we were too busy walking around town to use that. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement345, General Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hurry back! We cant wait to see you again. Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We can't stress how much we appreciate your kind words.

Kevin Eichman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Hampton Inn Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn
Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.