We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #18 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very satisfied.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel. Perfect location if you are visiting the College of Charleston. Easy walking distance to many great restaurants and attractions. Rooms were spacious and clean. Extra pillows and blankets were no problem. Large lobby provided plenty of space for complimentary breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    344
    90
    32
    7
See reviews for
254
370
37
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walt Disney World, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our stay at Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District was short and comfortable.
Our room was clean big enough for 2 with two double beds.
The hotel is walking distance from the city life .
We enjoyed their swimming pool and the complimentary breakfast.
Parking is a bit expensive but necessary.
The staff is helpfull and they helped us with a little problem we had while we were there.
Wi-Fi worked fine in our room,I think we will stay there again in future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was such a nice Hampton Inn. Very clean rooms. We had a small issue in the bathroom with our toilet but there work crew was on it within ten minutes and the problem was resolved quickly. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions to places. The continental breakfast had many choices. More than most hotels. It was very tasty and more healthy choices to choose from. It was near all the downtown attractions. Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our stay was for 3 nights, 10th, 11th, 12th Oct. Nice hotel, clean, quiet room, comfortable beds, friendly staff, at a competitive price. Right opposite the Visitor centre, where most of the tours leave from, as well as the free "trolleys".Good breakfast . Good restaurants within walking distance and downtown is walkable (about 30 minutes) and interesting on the way. It's another Hampton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here on our recent trip to Charleston and it was just what we needed. It's downtown and right by the Visitor's Center and walking distance to a lot of the restaurants and attractions/sites. We've stayed a lot of Hampton Inns and have always liked them (especially the beds!), so we decided to stay here. It's fairly priced for a downtown hotel. If you like Hampton Inn and are looking for a convenient location to stay in downtown Charleston, this will do the trick!

Room Tip: Our room was on the opposite side from the Visitor's Center and had a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I just stayed here with a large "picky" group. For the price, I cannot recommend this hotel enough. The beds are super comfy and the room decor fits right in with historic Charleston. The location is walking distance to everything historic. The Visitor's Center is right across the street. There are SEVERAL restaurants within a 1 block walk. Breakfast is a step above the normal continental with the addition of sausage and scrambled eggs. There is always a fresh pot of coffee PLUS hot chocolate and hot tea available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. It has all the usual Hilton property perks, like free breakfast, morning newspaper etc. Great location, and easy walking distance to many excellent restaurants and attractions in the historic section of Charleston. $14/day to park. The staff was friendly whenever I had to interact with them. The fitness center was nice as well.

Upon entering my room, there was hair on the floor of the bathroom that wasn't mine. Bad news. Also, there was a sticky note on my bed letting me know that my sheets were clean. Oh snap! Clean sheets! In fact, I was contantly reminded by the giant ads in the elevators and in my room that my sheets and duvet were clean for my arrival. It just seemed like kind of an odd ad campaign to me. I consider clean sheets to be a standard offering, instead of a feature.

I couldn't seem to control the thermostat in my room; there was nothing on the display and the buttons didn't do anything. It was pretty cold in there.

My only other complaint is about the wi-fi. I think it was slower than the 3G on my phone, and kept timing out.

Aside from the bad wi-fi and thermostat issues, I don't really have much bad to say about the place, but it was just overall kind of "meh" compared to the other Hilton property next door, which I have also stayed at. I would give this place 3.5 stars if I could.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District

Address: 345 Meeting St, Charleston, SC 29403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hampton Inn Charleston-Historic District, you’ll experience antebellum architecture and fabulous shops of the King Street historic district right outside our hotel. Our Charleston hotel is in downtown Charleston adjacent to the Charleston Museum, the nation's oldest museum. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. Explore nearby 18th century plantations, churches, and the Charleston city market, walking distance from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Historic District
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.