We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served Its Purpose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   678 Citadel Haven Drive, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Served Its Purpose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Been staying at all kinds of Hiltons. This was average plus. Loved the front desk personnel. But the hotel seemed damp and musky. Will check for other Hiltons in the area. If none then would come back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    123
    45
    25
    15
See reviews for
143
156
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is the Best Hampton that I have had the pleasure to stay with. Excellent from beginning to end - the front desk was great with the reservation, and amazingly helpful on where to visit.
AND the best suite in decades!! Breakfast was the usual very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, IA, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very impressed with the quality of the property inside and out. Much more upscale that I expected. Felt like a resort, not like a moderately priced hotel. Even though it is a new property, they went out of their way to add details to make it feel a bit like old Charleston.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel last summer, and was very disappointed in it. (Previous review: http://preview.tinyurl.com/o6n2tth ) I had decided to try a different hotel the next time I was in town. Well, the hotel I wanted to try was booked, so I figured I would give this one a final try.

I had no issues this time around. The front desk was always manned with attentive staff. The room I was given was spotlessly clean and bright. And a big kudos for the charging station on the nightstand. It has a few power outlets and USB chargers—very convenient.

The interior décor of this hotel is very pleasing with a “southern plantation” theme. And the complimentary breakfast was quite nice as well.

I was happy to have no issues whatsoever this stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

we arrived at hotel sat 10 may went to check inn the girl at the front desk gve us one king bed we asked for 2 beds we went down stairs and asked her and her attitude was we ordererd one king but she give us aroom with 2 beds on a different floor when we got to the new room she forgot to activate the keys so down stairs again to activate the keys go to use the phone phone does not work back down stairs again a/c stayed onn till monday 24/7 untill they changed the unit phone got fixed on monday also every night after playing tourest we had to go down stairs to reactivate our keys they never worked 2 days in a row jerome stock

Room Tip: go elseware
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca Falls, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We needed a room at the last minute due to a break down in the pouring rain. The hotel is nice. However, the location is very hard to access due to traffic patterns and you really can't walk to much. Also the fitness center can only be accessed by going outside and walking on the edge of the pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The hotel service was excellent. The Snooze and Cruise service was extremely helpful since we were going on a cruise. Being able to park at the hotel and get a shuttle to and from the port was great. No hassles! We would do it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Address: 678 Citadel Haven Drive, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Charleston
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#25 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.