We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   678 Citadel Haven Drive, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #29 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Tampa Bay, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“I was disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel once in the past. My previous experience was positive, so decided to book the same hotel again.

This time—not so good. Upon entering the lobby, I discovered no one was behind the front desk. Another guest was already waiting. Yet another showed up, and we all waited for someone to appear. I finally called the hotel from my cell phone. The phone behind the desk started ringing, and then a staff member appeared.

Upon checking in, despite being a Hilton Honors member, I wasn’t given WiFi info or other amenities. Not a good start!

I then entered the room—ick. It was humid and dank. It smelled musty, and the carpet, bedding, and furniture all felt waterlogged. I cranked the AC down to the "arctic" setting to try to dry the room out. It was marginally better by morning, but still not pleasant.

On the positive side, the complimentary breakfast they serve is quite excellent. From the waffle makers to the hot entrees, everything was very good. The lobby and layout of the hotel is very pleasant and "homey" feeling.

There is a new hotel right next door (Comfort Suites); I think I will give that one a try the next time I am staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    102
    41
    23
    15
See reviews for
122
134
21
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is very clean and have professional people present. The food is fresh and great as well! I can not forget about the beds which are so clean and comfortable. They even have a happy hour monday thru thursday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm coast, fl
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This Hampton Inn was a meeting place for my daughter and myself to get my grandsons for a 2 week vacation with Grandma & Poppy. The first room I got had a musty smell to it so I asked for another room because my grandson has allergies and he would suffer from the mold smell, the girls at the front desk were very understanding and helpful and gave us another room and made sure it was acceptable for our overnight stay. The beds are clean and comfortable and we had a refrigerator in the room which was wonderful. The girls at the front desk suggested the restaurant next door which was ten steps away and very good and entertaining for the boys, they loved it. We toured the battleship and downtown Charleston and marketplace area and would certainly stay at this Hampton again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Lovely space and surroundings. Suite was large and spacious, 2 rooms with kitchen area. Would recommend this hotel to anyone new to the Charleston area. The area is close to some of the plantations and has easy access to downtown. Bed was comfortable and everything was clean and bright.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is very clean and have professional people present. The food is fresh and great as well! I can not forget about the beds which are so clean and comfortable. Also,our room looked and smelled awesome. In addition, the staff gave cookies out for snack on a nightly basis. Believe it or not the cookies are very tasty and addictive!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel, according to Management, is 13 years old but it certainly feels and looks less than that. I stayed there prior to a medical appointment, so we went with convenience and the Hampton beds, which I like a lot. We had a reservation at another Hampton the day after but chose to stay here an additional night.

Plus points.
Managers reception each Monday through Thursday with free snacks, beer and wine.
Comfortable beds and pillows
Quiet
Very well maintained and exceptionally clean
Courteous and knowledgeable Front Desk staff. They helped with local restaurant reservations, directions etc., and provided 1 hour extended checkout
Public computer (only one but that was fine) with printer attached
Free wifi.

Minus points
Really none that were the hotels fault. A rather drunk guest picked the wrong room looking for his friend at 11.45 at night.

Room Tip: Second floor has stairs coming to lobby so you can avoid elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel is an excellent value for the money. The lobby with the wood and fireplace was extremely cozy! We booked a Jacuzzi suite. Bedroom was tucked in the back of the Suite which basically eliminated any outside noise. I requested a Feather free room, and when we got to the room it was in fact feather free.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Address: 678 Citadel Haven Drive, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#27 Business Hotel in Charleston
#34 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.