We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and less expensive in Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   678 Citadel Haven Drive, Charleston, SC 29414   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA members get 10% off
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Charleston
Annandale, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant and less expensive in Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We planned out trip to Charleston, SC, pretty late and most of the hotels in down town were either sold out or beyond our means. The city center is really the peninsula of Charleston. It is a beautiful place indeed and well worth a visit. By beyond our means I mean over $150 a night. We chose the Hampton Inn because we had some positive past experience. This particular hotel is about 6 miles from downtown. You may know that because of its location access to 'downtown' and the historic area is over various bridges -which in my opinion lends to the attraction of the whole are. Our hotel was very clean, tidy and neat and with nice decor -the hot breakfast which was included in the price was top class, the breakfast area being an attractively furnished high ceiling affair, the staff was helpful and courteous.
We drove into down town and got parking at the Visitors' Center for $10 a day. We strolled the city from there.
Next time we will plan in time and hopefully make a reservation with Hampton Inn's other area hotel, smack in the middle of historic downtown.

Room Tip: our king room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    98
    41
    23
    15
See reviews for
115
130
21
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newberry, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My family stayed 3 days in late October 2011 for my daughter to be seen at MUSC.
It was very nice because it was super clean and all employees had a warm smile and a friendly
greeting at each passsing. We had to return to Charleston SC on November 6, so Hampton West Ashley was my choice. This stay was for 6 days and was just as wonderful, really better than our first stay. It was so convenient to MUSC and Folly Beach. This is truly a taste of why you go to Charleston. The friendly employees let you know that you are in the South with warmth and caring. I just made my reservations to be there 2 days starting in nine days. It is truly a nice Hampton Inn. The location makes you close to so many of the great places in Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We had a pleasant stay because of Gernette. We walked in and Gernette was there with her smile . You have a question about anything, directions she has them. We enjoyed the managers reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Breakfast spread was excellent. Krispy Kreme doughnuts wrer a treat.

Room Tip: Rooms on back side are quieter and are more shaded.The c
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Although the area aound the hotel is undergoing construction, the lobby oozes southern charm. Basic managers appetizer reception with beer and wine was nice after a day of driving.Breakfast was nice but no cut fresh fruit.


The room was typical slightly dated Hampton, but I did notice a slight unpleasant (pet?)odor on entering. Maid sprayed air fresh and I carry a mini Lysol.

Overall, a good place to stay in a decent location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were shown three rooms with a bad odor. We were informed that the rooms had been freshly painted. The rooms appeared to be airtight/the windows don't open and we suspect mold as the culprit. We left and had a difficult time finding another room on a very busy weekend.

Room Tip: Check room before bringing luggage in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here 5 nights. The location is excellent for exploring all Charleston has to offer. It is about 5 min. to downtown. Breakfast was good with hot choices everyday, which we like. The rooms are large and comfortable. Our room was very clean. The rooms are a bit dated, but we don't spend much time in our room. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a suite with kitchenette...having a fridge is nice. There is a guest computer on the second floor for those of us who don't bring laptops. They have a nice pool area. During the week, they have guest receptions in the evening with drinks and snacks. It is a great value for the Charleston area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley

Address: 678 Citadel Haven Drive, Charleston, SC 29414
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#29 Business Hotel in Charleston
#36 Family Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Charleston/West Ashley is near downtown historic Charleston, off of Highway 17, close to Citadel Mall, golf courses, and West Ashley historic plantations. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston / West Ashley
Hampton Inn West Ashley
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston / West Ashley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.