We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   160 Fairchild St, Charleston, SC 29492   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Charleston
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very very clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2006

I found this location to be very clean and definitely on the upper tier of Hampton Inns. Like many previous reviews have said, this place is not near downtown and a car is a necessity to get around when staying here, but it's a very nice place to stay and probably cheaper than staying in downtown Charleston. The cloud 9 bed is as comfortable as advertised. The pool area is very nice and it's not that deep only about 4 and a half feet. They also have a couple of computers that have internet access that are free to use. Their continental breakfast, is pretty standard but it's okay for the price. I would highly recommend staying here as cleanliness is my top prioriety and I couldn't find one thing dirty about this place.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    66
    20
    13
    4
See reviews for
61
60
9
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2006

For a trip to Hilton Head Island, we made a late decision to stop over in Charleston -- on a Saturday night. Since all the best-rated downtown hotels were booked, we took a night at the Hampton Inn, a chain that we have always found to be of good quality. The Daniel Island HI may be the best I have seen.

First, a word about Daniel Island. Once owned by New York's Guggenheim family -- which used it for cattle-ranching! -- it was sold in the late 1990s with directions to develop the island according to a master plan created by the Guggenheim Foundation. We didn't get to check out the area because our focus was on Charleston, but it seemed like an attractive mixed-use, low-density development of offices, retail, restaurants, (expensive) single-family homes, golf courses and a pro tennis facility.

We booked our room through HI's website and got exactly what we ordered, arriving about 6 p.m. after checking out Charleston sights. I was a little worried noise would be a problem because there were dozens of twenty-somethings at the hotel for a party/concert at the tennis center. But we were never bothered. And the party was over before we got back to the hotel from dinner.

We had one slight issue during our stay. The AC was not working well in our room. We called for service but it did not show before we left for dinner. However, it was fixed by the time we got back and we slept in comfort, so no harm.

The hotel has good amenities -- pool, fitness room, free breakfast -- and it is about a 15 minute drive over the bridge to downtown. While staying downtown would have been more convenient, the drive over the bridge offers nice views and it is not excessively long and at $120 a night or so, it was a steal.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StangFan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel the first weekend in May. If you want a reasonably priced hotel that is new, clean, nice and friendly this is the one. We've stayed at many HI's and this had to be one of the best due to the front desk staff and great attentiveness of the staff running the cont. breakfast. They seem to understand the difference between a great vacation and a failure depends highly on the hotel experience...We'll definitely stay here on our next trip to Charleston. Some people may want to know the Charleston downtown is approx. 20 minutes drive and the hotel is in an area that becomes very qiuet after 5:00pm. The only places open at night are Queen Anne's Revenge and Cold Stone Creamery(which was great !!!). For us it was a great place to sleep after a full day exploring a beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

I had to spend the night in charleston due to a last minute change in my travel plans. I stayed at the Hampton Inn Daniel Island , the staff at the desk was extremely friendly and helpful in getting me a room. Definately looking forward to staying there on my next visit to charleston.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2006

This hotel is outstanding in every way. Cleaning people are everywhere. No smoking rooms, comfortable beds located in a beautiful local just minutes from Mt. Pleasant and downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

From check in to check out, our stay at this Hampton Inn, was a very pleasant stay. The staff was outstanding, very helpful, providing directions, especially getting off and on Daniel Island, it made traveling to Charleston so much easier. The room was comfortable, and the use of the set up down in the lobby is a nice touch.

Stayed February 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island

Address: 160 Fairchild St, Charleston, SC 29492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
#32 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island Hotel Charleston
Charleston Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Charleston - Daniel Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.