We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect time to visit Charleston” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bainbridge, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Perfect time to visit Charleston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great location! Super friendly staff! Fabulous concierge! My mom and sisters and I just had a girls' weekend at this hotel...May 16-20...and it was perfect. We love to walk and explore and this was a perfect location to do that. The weather could not have been better and the people were just great. Kevin, the concierge, spent tons of time with us giving us info about the best bathrooms when it is hard to find a public one (great when traveling with a sis that's pregnant), an awesome walking tour with Anne Herron, tips on streets to see to just marvel at the houses and gardens, routes to avoid, ones to take, things to see and not see...just a great service provided by the hotel. Our only "gripe" would be that our room was never cleaned. Granted there were 4 women in one room and we had our personal items everywhere, but we had to always call for towels and toilet paper. (And we found a man's sock under our bed...not ours so not sure how frequently or well the vacuum is used.) But we certainly would not let this cloud our judgement...we would go back in a second! AND even using Marriott Reward points we were upgraded to a room with a balcony which was great to just relax and people watch after a long day out exploring. Front desk associates and bartenders all beyond friendly and ready to help with whatever we needed. This place is perfect for everyone!

Room Tip: Meeting St. side with a balcony...or Calhoun St. side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    332
    86
    24
    9
See reviews for
293
488
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

First the good. The staff in the bistro was excellent. They were always friendly and more than willing to provide tips on what to see and things to do. Other than that, this Courtyard is not up to their usual standards. The front desk was less than friendly during check in. Housekeeping was below standard. On one occasion, they left no fresh towels or wash cloths. They did, however, take the used ones. At best, there were only two wash cloths available for the two of us. On another occasion, dirty dishes were left in the room from food we had brought up from the bistro the night before. Parking is both expensive and limited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District from May 13th - May 17th for a vacation with my girlfriend. Overall, hotel was very nice. Was checked in very quickly and desk staff was very nice. Concierge was good, but was unable to help too much with hotels as we tend to like small "dive" kind of places. They seemed to only recommend nicer restaurants. However, Kevin has excellent maps and reviews on virtually everything in Charleston (beaches, photography spots, etc.) At least pick up these maps. The room was clean and well decorated. The air conditioner was very loud but was fixed promptly. There was a small spot on the duvet and the shower head sprayed water like a sprinkler. The entire bathroom floor was wet after a shower. The hotel is convenient, but it is a little bit of a walk to the shopping, attractions, etc. It's not really a bad walk but it was a little longer than I expected. Overall, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Kevin McQuade The Concierge made our stay at the Marriott completely worth it! He saved us hours of debating what to do each day, and gave endless suggestions of places that made our trip nothing short of magical! He shows an undying passion for this beautiful city in ways others can not put into words. I can not wait to return!

Room Tip: King size room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great Courtyard in a great location within walking distance to all the sites. The lobby was very modern, they had rocking chairs on the patio and the rooms were standard Courtyard fare. The only complaint were the pillows were horrible. I would recommend this as a great choice in beautiful Charleston!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, KS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I extensively researched the hotels in Historic Charleston for a May 2013 trip with my husband & another couple. There were several hotels in our budget that would have been a good location. However after reading the wonderful reviews of the concierge at the Courtyard Marriott, I actually picked this hotel for us to stay in due to those reviews. We arrived on Friday night & met with Kevin first thing Saturday morning. Within 1 hour of meeting with the 4 of us he had our 3 full days planned from morning to midnight, including something for each of us to enjoy...an historic tour with Michael Trouche, the spooky cemetery self-tour, a Mother's Day dinner at Middleton Plantation, an ocean view lunch on Kiawah Island, a personal tour of the city at night...plus all the meals in between. The plans & reservations were made complete with detailed instructions & direction, all in that one hour. Many of the things suggested to us were "insider" tips from Kevin. We could not possibly have enjoyed this city with such great ease & with such completeness without his help. My recommendation would be to call ahead to visit with Kevin so you can dig right in to all there is to offer & so that you don't arrive on one of his days off. I absolutely recommend this hotel BECAUSE Kevin is there! Kevin, as far as these Kansan's are concerned, you have achieved your goal of being the best concierge in the world!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an inside room. We were on the street side (Calhoun Street) and rooms were a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Kevin McQuade, the concierge at this hotel, made our vacation to Charleston and the surrounding areas, an unforgettable experience. This man has incredible passion for his city. He offered us a wealth of off-the- beaten- track experiences. Many of his recommendations cannot be found in guidebooks. Thanks to Kevin's enthusiasm and knowlege, we enjoyed Charleston from unique perspectives. Can't recommend Kevin highly enough. Stay at this very nice Marriott and enjoy what this concierge has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.