We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Charleston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Concierge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Kevin McQuade The Concierge made our stay at the Marriott completely worth it! He saved us hours of debating what to do each day, and gave endless suggestions of places that made our trip nothing short of magical! He shows an undying passion for this beautiful city in ways others can not put into words. I can not wait to return!

Room Tip: King size room was spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    332
    86
    24
    9
See reviews for
293
488
20
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great Courtyard in a great location within walking distance to all the sites. The lobby was very modern, they had rocking chairs on the patio and the rooms were standard Courtyard fare. The only complaint were the pillows were horrible. I would recommend this as a great choice in beautiful Charleston!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, KS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I extensively researched the hotels in Historic Charleston for a May 2013 trip with my husband & another couple. There were several hotels in our budget that would have been a good location. However after reading the wonderful reviews of the concierge at the Courtyard Marriott, I actually picked this hotel for us to stay in due to those reviews. We arrived on Friday night & met with Kevin first thing Saturday morning. Within 1 hour of meeting with the 4 of us he had our 3 full days planned from morning to midnight, including something for each of us to enjoy...an historic tour with Michael Trouche, the spooky cemetery self-tour, a Mother's Day dinner at Middleton Plantation, an ocean view lunch on Kiawah Island, a personal tour of the city at night...plus all the meals in between. The plans & reservations were made complete with detailed instructions & direction, all in that one hour. Many of the things suggested to us were "insider" tips from Kevin. We could not possibly have enjoyed this city with such great ease & with such completeness without his help. My recommendation would be to call ahead to visit with Kevin so you can dig right in to all there is to offer & so that you don't arrive on one of his days off. I absolutely recommend this hotel BECAUSE Kevin is there! Kevin, as far as these Kansan's are concerned, you have achieved your goal of being the best concierge in the world!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an inside room. We were on the street side (Calhoun Street) and rooms were a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Kevin McQuade, the concierge at this hotel, made our vacation to Charleston and the surrounding areas, an unforgettable experience. This man has incredible passion for his city. He offered us a wealth of off-the- beaten- track experiences. Many of his recommendations cannot be found in guidebooks. Thanks to Kevin's enthusiasm and knowlege, we enjoyed Charleston from unique perspectives. Can't recommend Kevin highly enough. Stay at this very nice Marriott and enjoy what this concierge has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel was fine and ideally situated, but the concierge Kevin made it special. Starting with a personal invitation to utilize the concerge services posted in the room to our direct communications with Kevin, it put an usually positive spin on our stay. Aside from the personal services (reservations, etc.), Kevin had prepared written (also personalized) reviews, directions, and comments which were very helpful of restaurants and places to visit. I especially got a kick of the written review and ranking of the public restrooms, prepared by Kevin, while doing a walking tour of the historic district.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

When planning our trip to Savannah and Charleston, an acquaintance who had done those cities about a year ago said we had to stay at the Marriott just because of the concierge--Kevin McQuade. So we made the reservation and about a week or so before the trip called to speak with Kevin. He called back right away and suggested that we have a conference call with him and the other couple we were traveling with so that he could throw out some recommendations. We did so and his enthusiasm was obvious even through the phone. He had even made recommendations for our detour through Beaufort (Jon Sharp's Walking History Tour) and for Charleston lined up walks (Michael Trouche) attractions (Gresh Meggett's eco-tour) and dining recommendations. When we arrived at the Marriott (a great hotel at a perfect location) we met Kevin and were blown away by his exuberance. After dinner at the Cru Cafe (one of Kevin's recommendations) he came back to the hotel on his own time to lead us on a night walk through some of the old historic streets, alleys, and nooks and crannies, stopping every so often when Kevin found a photo spot to take pictures of us. The next night we had a wonderful meal at Middleton Plantation where we were able to walk the gardens prior to dining (one of Kevin's recommendations). Every single one of his recommendations in terms of walks, photo spots, dining, and just meandering were spot-on.

The Marriott, itself, is a fine place to stay with excellent rooms, pleasant happy staff, a Starbuck's in the lobby (with free coffee at breakfast), and a convenient location. But the most important reason to stay here is for the invaluable help and enthusiasm of Kevin--really one of a kind!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first trip to Charleston and we choose this hotel based off of using our points and the terrific reviews with their concierge staff. The location turned out to be fantastic! It was right in the middle of getting around this beautiful city. The room was clean and quiet, beds were comfy, and bathroom had lots of counter space.

As noted by everyone that comments here, the Concierge is what it's all about. Kevin was off last weekend so we had the pleasure of talking with Elizabeth Fraser. She is such a gem and wonderful asset to the hotel. She handled the many guests waiting for her services with such grace and kindness! She provided us with a wealth of info and went above and beyond to make our stay here so memorable! Thank you so much Elizabeth and best wishes to you always!

James Wagner

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Charleston
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.