We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific concierge staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 54 hotels in Charleston
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrific concierge staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My daughter and I spent three nights in Charleston at this hotel recently, and due to the excellent recommendations of Kevin, we had reservations at the best local restaurants, maps to the most beautiful streets and Kevin's map of Magnolia Plantation, with spot on suggestions for what to see first at the plantation. Our quiet rooms were nice and adjoining, and fairly clean, but I stepped on several backings for pierced earrings, which led me to believe that the stained and worn carpets had not been well vacuumed. Also received some bug bites in the room at night. Staff generally very pleasant, and breakfast was okay, served very quickly. The hotel is well situated for walking down King Street, or to fabulous restaurants that Kevin recommends (he has their menus readily available for perusal). Elizabeth, the other concierge, was also very kind and helpful, arranging timely transportation for us to restaurants and the airport. For a quick first visit, it is really worthwhile to stay at this hotel, just to have Kevin and Elizabeth's excellent and friendly advice on where to eat and what to see. They are the gems of this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is high up for views, and if you want a quiet room, do not get one on the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROHAN C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear swimmer067,

Thank you for staying with us in Charleston. We appreciate your feedback very much. I am very apologetic for the lack of cleanliness of carpet in your room.

We continue to increase our levels of inspection in housekeeping and we apologize if we didn’t get the carpet spotless in your room. We have seen much improved guest satisfaction scores in cleanliness specifically in the past year. Also, bugs can be quite common due to the humidity in Charleston but we are ever vigilant in their extermination.

It was great to see that Kevin and Elizabeth gave you exactly what you were looking for. That personal touch is always the goal and we give all our staff that recognition.

Sincerely,

Rohan Chopra
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    574
    265
    65
    18
    8
See reviews for
255
396
15
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on points. Charleston is an expensive town but it is a must to stay in the historic district and be in walking distance of everywhere.
We recommend renting bikes to really see ALL of Charleston. There are two bike rental shops close to the hotel. The on site lower level parking ($16 a day) is nice, especially since it rained when we were leaving. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly which really is not that uncommon in Charleston.
They only negative we had was that the elevators are on one side of the building and our room was at the farthest point on the other side. Of course, maybe that's why We had such a quiet stay.
The room was spotless. Bed was very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel. The room decor is tired and dated. Our mattresses were saggy, room was dusty and carpet dirty. Very difficult to enjoy a stay when you get a room like this. The location is great but more than the lobby needs updated !!!
We asked for room away from elevator and were given a room directly across from the elevator!!! My husband is a platinum
elite Marriott customer and it doesn't mean a thing They did change our room upon our insistence.
30,000 points to stay here is way too much.

Room Tip: Book at a newer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROHAN C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Chrisnc76,

Thank you for being a loyal Platinum Marriott guest and for spending time with us here in Charleston.

We continue to increase our levels of inspection in housekeeping and we apologize if we didn’t get the room spotless. I also apologize for the lack of tidiness with your carpet and we are in the process of purchasing new vacuum's to ensure that all of them are in top working order.

Thank you for pointing out our areas of opportunity and we will be sure to pick up the pace in responding to your requests and concerns.

Please know that we appreciate your loyalty to Marriott evident by your Platinum status and we are hopeful that you will continue to look for Marriott brands in your future travels.

Warm Regards,

Rohan Chopra
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

First time to Charleston and what a wonderful place to visit. The location of the hotel made the entire trip more enjoyable because everything we wanted to do was within walking distance. The entire staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful with our many questions. Elizabeth has the personality, patience and expertise making for a very effective concierge. Our room was spacious and the bed could not have been more comfortable. Can't wait to go back and will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROHAN C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Vickie2013,

Thank you for for your excellent review of our hotel here in Charleston.

It appeared that you had a great first trip and were able to maximize your experience with Elizabeth's expertise and assistance. Walking is always the best way to get around our great city.

Thank you for staying with us and for promising your return to stay with us - we look forward to it!

Sincerely,

Rohan Chopra
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is good hotel in a good location. It is the concierge, Kevin McQuade, that makes this hotel exceptional. Kevin does a masterful job of tailoring his recommendations to the needs and interests of his guests. I've stayed here twice, once with my family including an 8 year old and an elderly parent and the once with a group of friends. Each time he pick the perfect restaurants and activities for us. Among our favorites: cooking class at Cooks! and renting beach cruisers to bike the city. His restaurant picks are awesome and his tour recommendations (Ed Macy and a lighthouse tour) give you a real taste of Charleston. Best to call ahead so he can help plan your visit before you arrive. This man gets genuine joy from making your trip special. You just don't find that kind of service that often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROHAN C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear VrmtTraveler,

Thank you for such a fantastic review of our hotel and Kevin on TripAdvisor. We see that you visited us from Vermont for the third time and we are amazed at how many visitors that we get from your great state.

It was great to see that Kevin once again gave you exactly what you were looking for. I have to agree with you that if you will give Kevin the opportunity he will do a masterful job of tailoring his recommendations to the needs and interests of his guests.

Charleston is definitely just as you describe it and we are thankful that you were able to see every side to this great city. A walking tour with Ed Macy or riding your beach cruisers is a great way to see it from an expert's eye.

We hope to see you again soon in the Holy City.

Sincerely,

Rohan Chopra
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I have never seen a concierge ever so engrossed in his work. He has made up so many of his own maps (even one for public restrooms) to make sure you can really get the most of your visit. He asks questions to make sure he knows what you want and expect from you visit. Our room was plenty big, clean and comfortable. We are not light packers and had plenty of room in our king size room for even our two golf bags.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location here was amazing. We were able to walk everywhere and any where! Being right on the square was very fun on Saturday due to the Farmer's Market that takes place. Great room, very quiet. Free Internet, parking was a small fee. Only complaint we had was the 2 small elevators (always a wait, so you couldn't be in a rush), and the cleaning staff was VERY slow and the young lady on our hall was rude several times when we inquired about getting some clean towels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROHAN C, Front Office Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear southerngal525,

Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us here in Charleston. It appears that your stay with us was good and bad and I wanted to apologize for the issues you encountered that did not meet your expectations. We will not tolerate the type of attitude that you experienced and we are trying hard to reinforce the southern hospitality tradition of warm and attentive service while anticipating your needs.

We particularly like the fact that you found our location to be perfect for what you wanted to do while you were in Charleston. Great tip about the farmers market on Saturday mornings, it is awesome to have that right across the street from the hotel.

Please come back and stay with us the next time you are in Charleston.

Sincerely,

Rohan Chopra
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District

Address: 125 Calhoun St, Charleston, SC 29401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Family Hotel in Charleston
#25 Business Hotel in Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District hotel in downtown Charleston is just steps from King Street boutique shopping, SPAWAR, Boeing and the Charleston Joint Base. It also boasts the largest Marriott Meeting space in the Historic District and offers flexible event space perfect for anything from board meetings to black-tie affairs. Our downtown Charleston hotel's exciting location makes anytime the perfect time to visit this charming Southern jewel. Conveniently located near I-26 and I-526, this Charleston hotel's historic downtown location offers breathtaking cityscapes and attractions that sparkle all year long. From sun-dappled water views of the Battery and beaches to the historic homes and gardens, visitors fall in love with all this Southern city has to offer. Tempt your palate with low-country cuisine, marvel at the city's unique culture, arts and recreation. Charleston is a distinctive destination and our Charleston downtown hotel boasts a fantastic location for business and leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Historic District Hotel Charleston
Holiday Inn Charleston
Charleston Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Charleston Historic District, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.